11/27 Taco PMPS 156,+2 150,+4 167,+6 118,+8 85,+9 105,+10 128,+11 143,AMPS 160,+2 274,+5 363.

Come on Taco! You know how to work the juice. You're being a lazy boy today. Get back in the game! :smuggrin:

He's making a come back at snail pace, "MAYBE".

Notice how I write 'MAYBE" :arghh: That's called letting go of control, because I CANNOT CONTROL THIS CRAZY CAT. I am now in charge of "Letting go anonymous" .

All you need is a cat that does his own thing and must be on insulin , I imagine there's several million out there:rolleyes:.

His thing is not trampolines, he bungee cords and likes to stay up on that platform longer than necessary. He only comes back down, mostly at very inconvenient times,:banghead: to try and give his loved ones as less sleep as possible, so that he gets 24 hour attention.:cat:

Otherwise , we love him so much:kiss::bighug: and know that he will come around, because we've seen those nice numbers.:D
 
I'm confused if I should reduce or not,? He got that one 85@+8, and his night time numbers still don't look too good. SLGS experts please ?
 
If you're doing SLGS, then he earned the reduction down to 1.5 back on the 24th, even though that was the first cycle at 1.75

But I truly don't understand why you're doing SLGS....you test more than enough to be doing TR and on TR, you'd hold the current dose of 1.75 until he dropped below 50

I really think you should go to TR and see if it keeps him in better numbers.
 
If you're doing SLGS, then he earned the reduction down to 1.5 back on the 24th, even though that was the first cycle at 1.75

But I truly don't understand why you're doing SLGS....you test more than enough to be doing TR and on TR, you'd hold the current dose of 1.75 until he dropped below 50

I really think you should go to TR and see if it keeps him in better numbers.

Chris, I appreciate you weighing in on my question :) But, I just can't let him drop below 50 :( I just can't or let's say I won't. :(

He was on TR and I was a wreck. I don't have a vet that will back me up or even work with me with Taco being on Lev
.
His lower numbers since on SLGS dont even phase me. I really don't know what to say anymore.

I know that if I don't take the reduction on his 85, that, that will be the second reduction I don't take according to SLGS, but, I look at his SS and he isnt showing anything great during the night.That is why I'm so confused.

With SLGS, do i have to take a reduction everytime he goes below 90, even tho, his other numbers are NOT up to "par" ?
It doesnt make sense to me.

I wish I could understand it better .
 
With SLGS, do i have to take a reduction everytime he goes below 90, even tho, his other numbers are NOT up to "par" ?

That's one of the disadvantages of SLGS....you have to be willing to let them stay in higher numbers than you'd like. It's a bit of a trade-off....being willing to have them run higher for the sake of being nervous or scared that they might go too low and you can't handle it. I don't say that to try to make you feel bad or anything...that's just the truth of it.

Our dosing methods have been around for many, many years and there are safety measures built in. A non-diabetic cat's blood glucose can run down into the 30's and 40's (I have a civvie that runs between 35-45 all the time)….so even dropping to 50 leaves some room for safety....but since we are giving insulin, we intervene at that point to keep them safe.

I really think that if you did TR, you'd eventually learn to handle the lower numbers. Everybody thinks at first that they could never let their cat drop that low, but once you learn how your cat reacts to medium and high carb foods and that you are really in control, it makes it easier.

As for your vet not being willing to work with you, that's what we're here for!! My own cat hasn't been back to a vet for her diabetes since she was diagnosed. I "drank the FDMB Kool-Aid" early and chose to listen to the people here who had years of real life experience over the vets that had very little training on FD and even less day to day experience.
 
I wouldn’t worry about the AM vs, PM cycle differences. Neko once went three months with lows at night and bounces during the day. Wasn’t great for my sleep situation. :blackeye: Tried everything to try to change it. Not much did but time.

SLGS is a set of guidelines,which you can tweak a bit over time, as you learn your cat on Lev, and it is safe to do so. With the amount of testing you do, you could experiment with a bit lower reduction point. There are a couple of peeps here on SLGS that over time have lowered the point a bit. Both of them also get lots of tests in.
 
Back
Top