11/27 Star Cat +3.5~70, +4.5~+6~101

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/27 Star Cat AMPS 140, +2~144

Look at this girl go!!! 144 at the +2, what a lovely little surf she's having.

Can't even tell you how nice it feels to be not so worried about her! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat AMPS 140, +2~144, +7~89

She's doing great. 5P's and she is loving on me extra these days. Lantus agrees with her. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat AMPS 140, +2~144, +7~89

I'm glad to hear it! Mr Tinkles was the same way when we switched to Lantus, he felt so much better. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat AMPS 140, +2~144, +7~89, +9~82

Star cat went in to eat around the +8, and I followed her...she was somewhat ravenous... I offered her 2 teaspoons of gravy since she was acting like she needed a boost. I didn't bother testing right after the food since I knew it would be inflated.

I checked at the +9 and she's 82. I imagine she went into the 70's or slightly lower.

Going to have to think about tonight's dose.....hmmmmm...
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +7~89, +9~82, +11~94 dose advice

Hello,

Star is having a great day!

She's 94 at the +11.

I would appreciate dose advice. I'm thinking .50 or less. She's about 70 points lower than this time last night, and 40 points lower than at this morning's time.

Thanks in advance.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +7~89, +9~82, +11~94 dose advice

beautiful. :smile:

I would hold this dose until she earns a reduction. It's looking good on her. Don't forget, with Lantus, the lower the number you shoot, the flatter the curve. Don't worry that she is lower than yesterday, it just means that she will likely have a flatter cycle (and that is what we want).

You have plenty of test strips and low carb food? And can monitor tonight?
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +7~89, +9~82, +11~94 dose advice

Libby, Ok, flat curves sound good. I'm sorry to be a little nervous. I can see Pat posting "You are in control, you have your meter." :-D

Purchased new strips today and plenty of LC, MC, HC and gravy. Been making a little meal kit every night at shot time, prep for the night and next day. I like being prepared.

I'll just have to watch her closely early in the cycle because I have a hard time waking up for late night numbers.

Laurie, are you out there? Any thoughts?
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +7~89, +9~82, +11~94 dose advice

Rebecca, I would put the coffee pot on. I would NOT shoot 0.75u and plan on going to sleep at +2 or +3. Her nadir today was somewhere around +8, right? You may need to test up to that point...or beyond.

What Libby said is true, the lower the PS the flatter the curve generally is, BUT she could go low, so you need to monitor.

Please keep in mind that Libby has much more experience than I do.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +7~89, +9~82, +11~94 dose advice

I was going to ask what + hour you usually wake up. Star usually has more action late in the cycle than early (not that she can't move that around, cats will have action whenever they feel like it!).

I think the food change has made a big difference for Star, and so far this dose is looking perfect for her. You're at a point now where it can really benefit her for you to learn to shoot low. I know it's hard to stay awake - I've been struggling with that myself lately. The payoff can be huge, though. Look at Lucy's spreadsheet to see what I mean. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +7~89, +9~82, +11~94 dose advice

Thank you Laurie. To me you all have a great wealth of knowledge! I mentioned you because you have been with me a few late nights. I always feel good getting advice from Libby. I am grateful for each of you, truly, truly!!!

Ok, let me think it over. I have 15 minutes to figure it out.

I'm leaning towards the pot of coffee, this will be my last night when I'll have this opportunity for a while as I'm back to work on Monday.

Libby, I usually don't wake up. :oops:

I have three little kiddos and they are all usually in and out during the night so I'm sort of chronically sleep deprived (not that I would trade my babies for all the sleep in the world...!)

But I think if I take Star, the computer and my phone to the couch, I can do it.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +7~89, +9~82, +11~94 dose advice

See what the number is, too. That might help.

((((Rebecca)))) we've all been there. I don't have kids, but when Lucy was in her big run down the dosing scale, I was sooooo tired. I had to bring my travel alarm into the living room and set it for the time I wanted to do the next test, even if I thought I was awake. Going down the dosing ladder is MUCH more exhausting than going up.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +7~89, +9~82, +11~94PMPS 101 going for i

Her PMPS is a 101.

I'm going for it!

Wish me luck and I'll be back soon with a +1

Thank you for support! Virtual hugs are awesome!!!
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +11~94 PMPS 101 - I'm going for it!

:mrgreen: Good Luck.
You'll be fine.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +11~94 PMPS 101 - I'm going for it!

When I was getting Sue regulated, I loved the weekends because I had time on my side and I could monitor him so much better. It seems like Star Cat is reacting so well to Lantus!! Congrats! I bet Star Cat feels so much better too!!!
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +11~94 PMPS 101 - I'm going for it!

Nice shooting Rebecca!!!

Sending you Starbuck's wakefulness vines so you can stay awake.

Star Cat is sure fortunate to have such a great mom.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +11~94 PMPS 101, +1 125

Feeling very good about my decision with a +1 of 125

I would think most of that is due to her big appetite at dinner/shot time. She ate nearly 1/2 can of the LC with a tiny bit of Thanksgiving turkey (dark meat) chopped on top.

Best thing yet: 15 minute play session, complete with rolling from side to side on the floor, longest play time I've seen in years! AMAZING! :mrgreen:

She's worn out and sleeping now!
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +11~94 PMPS 101, +1 125, +2~79

good. How about feeding her 2 tsp of low carb food and testing in 1/2 hour, to see if that threw her onto her surfboard.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +11~94 PMPS 101, +1 125, +2~79

Ok Libby. She ate about 3/4 of the total serving (2 teaspoons) of the LC
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +1 125, +2~79, +2.5 95

She's a 95 now at the +2.5

2 P's: Pee and Purring again.

She was feeling yucky for the drop. I could tell.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +1 125, +2~79, +2.5 95

I'm going to try staying up one more hour and then setting the alarms for some of the later hours. What do you think?

My eyes are heavy, but I have three loads of laundry here that I'm going to try to fold. Figured might as well be productive. :smile:
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +1 125, +2~79, +2.5 95

an hour sounds good. By then you should have a good idea whether Star is going to surf for the night, or try to drop.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +1 125, +2~79, +2.5 95

Ok, that's the plan then. Will you still be here at that time? That will be Star's +3.5

I'm thinking (if she's looking like a good surf) setting the alarm for the +6 and +8. Or sooner? She's usually nadir (is that what you call it?) at the 8. I'm thinking the 6 would catch that if it was starting to drop.

Sort of foggy typing, forgive me if I ramble...
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +1 125, +2~79, +2.5 95, +3.5~70

Hi Rebecca...maybe you could give her a little more LC food, a tsp or two? That might help get her back on the surfboard.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +1 125, +2~79, +2.5 95, +3.5~70

you can feed another couple of tsp of LC to help her keep surfing. If you're falling asleep, you can top it with some gravy. A test in 30 minutes will let you know how the food is working for her, especially if you're getting tired.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +1 125, +2~79, +2.5 95, +3.5~70

I offered it to her, she seems full. Should I top it with a half a teaspoon of gravy? She likes her gravy. She's still purring and not as puny as before.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +1 125, +2~79, +2.5 95, +3.5~70

if she'll eat a little, that should help her surf. A little gravy can't hurt.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +1 125, +2~79, +2.5 95, +3.5~70

She's eagerly slurping up her gravy over LC. About 1 tsp of each. :smile:
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +1 125, +2~79, +2.5 95, +3.5~70, +4.5~76

it looks like Star is heading out for a nice surf. :smile:

I think she will probably keep surfing and you're fine to leave food out and go to sleep. Setting an alarm for +7 or +8 might be a good idea, especially for the sake of data gathering but also to make sure she's still hanging in the 70s.

You're doing great. I'll be asleep for your +6, but you know the drill. If she is low, give gravy and test in 20-30 minutes to be sure it worked. If she's still surfing around here, a little low carb can help hold her here.
 
Re: 11/27 Star Cat +1 125, +2~79, +2.5 95, +3.5~70, +4.5~76

I probably won't be up at that point either. See the link in my signature to the post about handling low numbers? It's there as a reference if you need it. Looking good so far...sleep well. Keep surfing, Star!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top