11/27 Sooty PMPS 275 +5 262 he's eaten - new 11/28 Condo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo clicky!

Today's BGs: AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 PMPS 275 +5 262

Sooty's very good again this morning (and a gorgeous morning it is too, here in N. ATL)! NOT ravenous and wanting to go out and check that his backyard is still the way he left it..!

Main headline ths morning: "onward and upward"... increased the dose from 6.0 to 7.0 today.

Have a good Caturday, y'all!
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272

Well not so great, after being out for a survey of his kingdom, Sooty is back in now - and just puked up all his breakfast. I don't see any grass in it but I wouldn't be at all surprised if he hasn't eaten some... he has been known to quite often, in the past...

eta: My mistake - yes sure enough - YES there WAS grass in it. DRAT! I have no idea why he thinks he needs to eat grass....

He's re-eaten some of it now (ugh) and he seems perfectly fine now - but we'll get a test at +2 just in case...
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272

Good morning Perry. Goodness Sooty....no need to eat that grass silly boy.

Folks think I'm crazy when tell them that I look at my kitty's puke. Ya never know what you will find......last year one of my kitties tossed her cookies....dug through it and found a tapworm....geez....first though it was dental floss which scared me....then pulled the white thing apart and saw segments....both got the tapeworm pill. Sorry, kinda a gross story for Saturday morning....but we are all family, right?

Hope the dose increase works for Sooty.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290

Thanks Tena & Barbara - he does seem a bit subdued still and the last couple of BGs are up a bit, from usual. We just got some PureBites freezedried chicken treats this morning and we just offered him one after his +4 test - and nothing... not interested at all... this is a bit odd for a boy who normally eats like a horse.

Sure hope he's not coming down with anything... but will wait & see how he does in the next few hours...
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290

Sooty...no more yackin'!!! You were headed into some good numbers there buddy!!

Cats and grass...go figure!! Have a great day, Perry.
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290

Well Sooty went very droopy on us, since the last update so we took him right on round to see the vet. Just got back less than half an hour ago -

Vitals are OK and she didn't find anything obvious wrong, she doesn't think he has an infection or anything major. The grass he ate this morning could of course either be cause or effect, we can't tell... let's hope it was the cause...

He was a bit dehydrated (not surprising since he puked up all he had eaten and hasn't had anything since) so she administered SubQ fluids; and she gave a shot of Cerenia for the vomiting. We'll see if this picks him up in the next few hours (sure hope so)...
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 Still won't ea

Still no improvement yet - if anything he seems a bit worse - he seems completely drained - no energy at all and still won't even look at food. He's curled up at the top of the stairs right now. We may have to syringe feed him later if he still won't eat (but I don't really know how soon we should think of doing that...) He hasn't eaten since 8AM (and he sicked all that up).

BG is not an issue I tested him at 5PM and he was at 254. I sure hope he can shake this off, whatever it is...

We're keeping a close watch on him...

This couldn't possibly be an adverse reaction to Levemir could it? This AM was his 5th Cycle and he'd been just fine until this morning and the grass-eating episode...
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 Still won't ea

I wouldn't think it would be from the switch in insulins, but I guess anything is possible.
My cats eat grass like cows, and sometimes they use it to puke.

I sure hope you get to the bottom of this, or the symptoms mysteriously disappear on their own. Poor Sooty cat_pet_icon
He probably wants to be left alone, but tell him we are sending prayers and vines that he snaps out of it and feels better real soon.
He's been checked for ketones? That's all I know about. I don't anything about pancreatis and other things that can make him feel ill. He didn't eat anything bad for him (like flowers, or floss, or an aspirin, etc). He does need to eat. Good luck, and good vines heading to Sooty, and (((Hugs))) to you.
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 Still won't ea

Cerenia is great for vomiting but may not stop the feeling of nausea completely. If it doesn't impact your schedule/dosing etc. why not try to syringe him a small amount and see if he keeps it down. Often the best appetite stimulant is a little food itself to get the motors running :)
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 Still won't ea

Dyana said:
I wouldn't think it would be from the switch in insulins, but I guess anything is possible.
My cats eat grass like cows, and sometimes they use it to puke.

I sure hope you get to the bottom of this, or the symptoms mysteriously disappear on their own. Poor Sooty cat_pet_icon
He probably wants to be left alone, but tell him we are sending prayers and vines that he snaps out of it and feels better real soon.
He's been checked for ketones? That's all I know about. I don't anything about pancreatis and other things that can make him feel ill. He didn't eat anything bad for him (like flowers, or floss, or an aspirin, etc). He does need to eat. Good luck, and good vines heading to Sooty, and (((Hugs))) to you.

THANK you Dyana, he's neg for Ketones. He ate some grass for sure but you never know what else he might have nibbled, on I guess. We're giving him water from a dropper and he's sort of OK with that (growled a bit but swallowed it). He does really seem to want to be left alone, you are right about that!
Thanks for the support (and the hugs!! we can take any amount of those!)
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 Still won't ea

Then :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Good luck with the syringe feeding. I hope he keeps it down. Please keep us updated, tonight.
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 Still won't ea

Karrie and Maverick said:
I forgot he had pancreatitis. :oops:
No, you didn't forget - as fortunately, no - he doesn't have that. (Thank goodness!)
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 Still won't ea

sending eating vines to Sooty... Hopefully he'll snap out of it quickly.

My eating tip is to try chicken, especially KFC or rotisserie chicken. That will usually get Lucy's attention. I have also added warmed low sodium chicken broth to her food when she was sick. Others use baby food or tuna or parmesan cheese.
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 Still won't ea

Lots of Hugs and Healing vines for Sooty. Hope he snaps out of it......I wish they could just tell us what's going on. Hugs to you too Perry. And sending you calming vines to reduce your worry.

Keep us updated, will ya?
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 Still won't ea

Libby and Lucy said:
sending eating vines to Sooty... Hopefully he'll snap out of it quickly.

My eating tip is to try chicken, especially KFC or rotisserie chicken. That will usually get Lucy's attention. I have also added warmed low sodium chicken broth to her food when she was sick. Others use baby food or tuna or parmesan cheese.

Thanks Libby! yes let's hope so too...

We've got a rotisserie chicken for dinner tonight - oddly enough!! so if he wants some of that he's more than welcome - !! The chicken broth idea sounds interesting too. We did syringe feed him a little FF beef pate mixed w/ water a bit earlier and he made a bit of a mes but did eat some - and it's stayed down...

He seems to be takling a bit more interest in things too in the last half hour so fingers crossed...
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 Still won't ea

Tena and Curry said:
Lots of Hugs and Healing vines for Sooty. Hope he snaps out of it......I wish they could just tell us what's going on. Hugs to you too Perry. And sending you calming vines to reduce your worry.

Keep us updated, will ya?

VInes received - thanks!! They are working already... ! and yes - will keep you posted..
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 fed a little..

We did syringe feed him a bit of FF beef pate mixed w/ water - and he's kept it down OK.
Hoping he'll think about trying a bit of rotisserrie chicken (Cathy must be psychic, it's what she bought for dinner today..!!) - although he's not the worlds biggest chicken fan... so he's hanging in there and hoping he'll be OK and want some more food soon...
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 fed a little..

I am so glad he's feeling a little bit better.
I hope he loves the rotisserie chicken. Feed him little bits at a time.
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 fed a little..

Get some pepcid AC; it may help with any nausea he is having. I give 1/4 of the 10mg tabs BID.
Also, you can get some fortiflora; quite often I need to sprinkle it on Shadoe's food to coax her to eat.

The vet gave fluids; what about if you get a bag yourself and give Sooty some fluids, maybe even just 50ml a day to see if it helps him. I usually have a bag so that I can give Ollie or Shadoe some if they test less snappy at the scruff.

Was he tested for pancreatitis? If yes, what was the number? I ask because any time I have Ollie tested fully, it comes back usually positive, but low, like 3.8, just over the max.

For the grass, I always have a pot of cat grass fresh from the market. Quite often in the morning, Shadoe has a bit of a nibble, and on the rare occasion the Ollie did not feel great, he's even eaten some. Mostly he like to lie on top of it, but I think it helps their stomach calm down.

I hope Sooty starts eating soon and feels better.
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 fed a little..

Sending eating vine to Sooty. Hope he shows and interest in the chicken.
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 fed a little..

Thanks, he didn't want any chicken and still hasn't eaten anything for himself - but he has just gone to his water bowl and had a small drink. He was pretty much either zonked out or asleep before that (we kept going over to check he was still with us - I'm sure you know what we mean... he was lying pretty motionless with his tongue poking out a bit...)

Now though, since he had that little drink, he''s 'sphinxing' on the kitchen floor and yes, looking a bit more awake and alert. Oh belay that, he's back at the water bowl - this time having a really good drink!

I'm more worried about dehydration than him having no food so the fact that he's had a drink of water by himself has to be a good sign (I think).

We'll stay up with him anyhow and keep an eye on him as much as we can... let's hope he can manage to eat something soon...

Oh and if you were wondering, yes - I did still give him his PM shot. I know some might read this and think it crazy - and for a 'regular' FD cat I'd agree, it would be - but Sooty has Acromegaly and so 7 units of insulin is not going to do anything drastic to him just because he hasn't eaten today...

Thanks for all the messages and VInes and keep 'em coming by all means!!! THANKS for each and every one!
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 fed a little..

Oh gosh, I sure hope Sooty feels better soon. It is so hard when your kitty isn't feeling well and you wish they could tell you what is wrong. Just talk to me baby!

Fingers and paws crossed for a better tomorrow for Sooty.
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 fed a little..

getting here late...but sending healing vines and thoughts your way...
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 fed a little..

Thanks Carolyn & Celi - he still doesn't want to eat anything but otherwise no change, no worse at least...!

Just got a 1AM test (262) so he's doing OK with the shot...
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty PMPS 275 +5 262 still watching over him

come on, Sooty, eat!

if he's not eating by morning, you'll probably want to start syringe feeding. You don't want to let them go very long without eating anything.
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 fed a little..

Perry and Sooty said:
Now though, since he had that little drink, he''s 'sphinxing' on the kitchen floor and yes, looking a bit more awake and alert.
'sphinxing' in a good way or bad way? head up or down?
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty PMPS 275 +5 262 still watching over him

Libby and Lucy said:
come on, Sooty, eat!

if he's not eating by morning, you'll probably want to start syringe feeding. You don't want to let them go very long without eating anything.

Yes, will do. I offered him a lick of gravy off my finger (from some FF beef) and he licked it up, but wasn't interested in the food itself... he's just curled up on a sofa now...
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty AMPS 272 +2 306 +4 290 +9 254 fed a little..

WCF and Meowzi said:
Perry and Sooty said:
Now though, since he had that little drink, he''s 'sphinxing' on the kitchen floor and yes, looking a bit more awake and alert.
'sphinxing' in a good way or bad way? head up or down?
Head up... but that was then, now he just seems to be trying to sleep it off... (I hope...)
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty PMPS 275 +5 262 still watching over him

I would try a 1/4 of a Pepsid AC if Sooty still isn't feeling great. It is important that he eat (I know you know that.) and I've found when Gabby is nauseous, the Pepsid works wonders. I'd also suggest getting some baby food. It's much easier on the stomach than regular food and most cats love the stuff. If you decide to try the baby food, you want a variety like Gerber Stage 2 -- meat, broth, and cornstarch and nothing else.
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty PMPS 275 +5 262 still watching over him

Tena and Curry said:
How's Sooty doing this morning?

Well he's finally eaten something!!! We just gave him his morning pokes and shot - and then some FF beef with FortiFLora on and he ATE some (not a lot, maybe a couple of teaspoons.)

Then he headed to the LB and did a small p so I grabbed a Ketone stick. It came up POSITIVE - slight pink, I'd put the reading at about 10. Of course it's SUnday and the Vet isnlt open until 11AM but I called them anyway just in case. Is this serious?? or is it maybe not totally unexpected for a cat who really hasn't eaten anything significant at all, for nearly 24 hours?

Anyhow he is walking unaided this morning (at least to the LB and back) but looking very slow and a bit wobbly still.

We'll see if we can get him to eat a bit more - but we're just glad he's eaten, AT ALL (and unaided!), this morning - finally!!
 
Re: 11/27 Sooty PMPS 275 +5 262 still watching over him

You know, if he still has not eaten, have you tried his HC foods? I think it's preferable to get him eating even just gravies.

The pepcid really make a difference if you can get he 1/4 tab into him because his water drinking seemed to me like he's nauseous - you know how if YOU are sick and you try a little sip, just to see if it will stay down. You wait a bit and then if it settles, you go back for a bit more. Maybe that's what he is doing.

Can you give him fluids yourself? It may make a huge difference to him if he is getting small bits of fluids at home.
I have never had to syringe feed, so I can't help on that area, but you can try all the usual things like Parmesan cheese works for some, and fortiflora works great for my two. Watch out if he is sly like Shadoe... she licks the fortiflora off the top and leaves the food! I am on to her and I flatten out the food so she gets more food with her licks.

I hope he feels better more and more today.
 
I think it's serious and he definitely needs to go to the vet today. J.D. went through DKA. Not eating and ketones are very serious. My thoughts are with you and Sooty today. Keep eating Sooty
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
 
Gayle, we just tried him with some 9 lives shredded turkey with gravy. Good idea - he's eating it up, as we speak !!! He wouldn't touch anything yesterday so this IS GREAT - some progress.....???? I don't care if it's HC - esp. with that surprise 176 this AM...!!

We will try and get him to the vet as soon as possible, this morning, if they will play ball... not least, she'll surely want to give him SubQ fluids and see about the ketones. Will ask about SubQ fluids for home (if we can bring him home...)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top