11/27 River (AMPS 232, +4 104, PMPS 67, BOS, +1 147)

Paigeworthy

Member Since 2018
Yesterday's thread!

It's so wintry and lovely outside…from here inside. LOL.
tenor.gif


For a LOT of reasons I've been neglecting my own self-care lately.

Today I had a session with my personal trainer and took myself to Starbucks for a latte while my husband cleaned the apartment for a while (he offered!). I'm so tired but feel good that I did a few things for myself.

River is doing well today and seems to be clearing yesterday's bounce within a couple of cycles. Could it be that she's…ADJUSTING to better numbers?!

Here's to staying away from the dark place today.
 
I'm glad to hear you are taking care of you now. :bighug::bighug: I'm a strong believer in exercise to help clear the mind. Though my body is currently cursing me for the strength and conditioning session yesterday. :p

It could be that River is starting to get used to lower numbers. Very nice +4 today. :cool: We'll ignore that AMPS from two days ago.:rolleyes:
 
@Kris & Teasel sounding the klaxon as I see you are online — River got a 67 for her PMPS. I want to shoot because I am all about the TR and I don't want to skip a dose if I can be around to monitor. DH is giving her a teaspoon of food right now, should I check again in a bit and go from there? This is the lowest she has ever been, and she's been a rockstar today — great appetite, no ketones, napped when she should've, super affectionate.

The only thing I can think that might have dropped her is I gave her her B12 shot about an hour ago (derrrrr).
 
Hope River had a good day, Paige
So exciting to see those blues -
Thank you Carol! She's in dark green right now and I *think* my instinct is to shoot after waiting 15–30 minutes or so (we just gave her a little food) but I'm waiting for my elder stateswomen's thoughts ;)
 
@Kris & Teasel sounding the klaxon as I see you are online — River got a 67 for her PMPS. I want to shoot because I am all about the TR and I don't want to skip a dose if I can be around to monitor. DH is giving her a teaspoon of food right now, should I check again in a bit and go from there? This is the lowest she has ever been, and she's been a rockstar today — great appetite, no ketones, napped when she should've, super affectionate.

The only thing I can think that might have dropped her is I gave her her B12 shot about an hour ago (derrrrr).
You could stall without feeding to see where she is in 20 minutes or so. If she's rising you'll be fine. If she's the same or dropping slowly you can give the full dose and be prepared to steer with food. In that instance I'd get a +1 and +2.
 
You could stall without feeding to see where she is in 20 minutes or so. If she's rising you'll be fine. If she's the same or dropping slowly you can give the full dose and be prepared to steer with food. In that instance I'd get a +1 and +2.
We gave her a literal teaspoon of food about 10 minutes ago and she was 65 (down from 67) should I run to the store and get HC food to steer her, or do I steer with LC? I am reading the TR/shooting low numbers page again.
 
IMHO, she is late in the cycle, so HC isn't necessary, she is basically flat. Though I think it may be a no shot tonight. Any issues with ketones before?

ETA: I see previous DKA ...sorry, I'm out of my comfort zone, no experience there, but it may be a busy night if you do shoot.
 
65 and 67 are essentially the same number. If she was near 50 you'd want higher carbs for steering. In a pinch you can add honey or some other syrup to LC food to steer. Your call wrt shooting. At some point most people earn the BOS* award for shooting on a dark green.

*BOS = Balls of Steel ;)
 
IMHO, she is late in the cycle, so HC isn't necessary, she is basically flat. Though I think it may be a no shot tonight. Any issues with ketones before?

ETA: I see previous DKA 2 years ago...sorry, I'm out of my comfort zone, no experience there, but it may be a busy night if you do shoot.
Thanks Christie! The DKA was actually just over a month ago — when she was diagnosed. She has not had ketones issues but once since then. I opted to shoot. Gave her the full dose and am prepared to…make my husband monitor her ;)
 
65 and 67 are essentially the same number. If she was near 50 you'd want higher carbs for steering. In a pinch you can add honey or some other syrup to LC food to steer. Your call wrt shooting. At some point most people earn the BOS* award for shooting on a dark green.

*BOS = Balls of Steel ;)
WELP I just earned my BOS award. Gave her the dose. Ride 'em cowboy.

(Let's face it; she's probably going to bounce in about 20 minutes anyway, so…)
 
Thanks Christie! The DKA was actually just over a month ago — when she was diagnosed. She has not had ketones issues but once since then. I opted to shoot. Gave her the full dose and am prepared to…make my husband monitor her ;)
Sorry, I just corrected, I didn't have my glasses on :)...I'll be checking in if you need help, or a little support ;)
 
Doing this from IPad, not sure if it works..

View attachment 39192

I agree with @Kris & Teasel, get a +1 and see where you go. I personally prefer using higher carb food to steer lower BG numbers, I have never used honey or karo, mostly because I managed to get a better sense of how the higher carbs were working and for how long, and didn't have the need, but ECID. Simple sugars like honey and Karo wear off faster, I believe. Just something to keep in mind...if and when you need them.

ETA: nope, it didn't work, someone please send Paige some decent balls of steel:rolleyes:
 
Back
Top