11/27 Rhubarb AMPS=146 NS +2=225 +9.5=279 PMPS 322 poss FS +1.5=281 +3=295

I should say too that I'm planning on SLGS, if Rhubarb allows that is lol. It's currently 20 min past shot time.
Think I may catch an hour nap now. Of course she has to go too low when I've got it set up that I can actually leave jobs a couple times today. Bah. Tomorrow may not work for that.
 
Since you won't be able to monitor all day, it may be safer to skip the shot. You don't have the data to know what she'll do if you shoot. You'll get another chance to shoot a number like this.
 
I've never been one to nap very well, so looks like I am up and about earlier than anticipated. Rhubarb is happy and purring, and I think she thought she was in 7th heaven with all the raw steak treats and the bit of higher carb food last night!

I love those numbers she had!
My tentative plan for tonight is to reduce to 0.25 U, and also to shoot earlier. Maybe 6 or 630? Then if she has another active night, I can get a little better sleep and also have her better set to surf. Then plenty of time in am for tests before work.
I can worry about desired schedule at a later date.
 
I use the Freestyle Lite which typically reads low. Does that mean I should use different numbers in relation to dose changes?
Was it the fast reaction, or the strength of reaction that was concerning with Rhubarb?
 
I use the Freestyle Lite which typically reads low. Does that mean I should use different numbers in relation to dose changes?
Was it the fast reaction, or the strength of reaction that was concerning with Rhubarb?
No you use the numbers on the SLGS protocol. The protocol is designed for human Meters so your meter is fine.
I think that is a good idea to drop to 0.25 units and hopefully you will be able to shoot both AMPS and PMPS.
Read the protocol or better still print it off. You will refer to it a lot.
A lot of cats don’t respond to the insulin for some time. Rhubarb responded quickly which does happen but not as often as cats who take longer. Don’t worry about it. Be happy she is doing well. This is why we always say to always test before every shot to make sure it is safe to shoot and to test during the cycle to see how low the insulin takes the cat. Every cat is different (ECID)..
Make sure you have high carb and medium carb food and Karo or honey in the house at all times.
Keep asking lots of questions. You are doing really well.
 
17.9 PS ... 0.25U but possibly fur shot
Hubby tried the shot (and feels really bad ifnit was a fur shot). Fur smelled like insulin but then there was also insulin that ran down side of syringe when I was pushing the air out.
 
Last edited:
Is there any way to know for sure if it's a fur shot?

No, but you never re-shoot because there's no way to know how much actually went into the cat. I've seen several times where someone was sure they gave a furshot and the cat ended up going so low that cycle that they earned a reduction!!

One thing you can do is gently feel the area for wetness.....also, Lantus has a distinct smell....kind of like a band-aid factory would smell like.
 
She definitely smells (and still does), but we couldn't find any wetness. DH said he thought he felt the needle break skin.
 
I explained that to DH after, and he said it made sense, and I reassured him that everyone gives fur shots at some point, and Rhubarb will be ok still.

I did want to be absolutely sure on the no reshoot after I said that.
 
She will still be ok, right? Is there anything I can do to help minimize the glucose increase if it starts skyrocketing?
 
My screen had not refreshed and I didn't see Chris had already answered you. Tell your DH not to be hard on himself. We all give fur shots. I once gave three in a row. Rhubarb will get back on track. There's not anything you can do if her numbers go up, but they will come back down.
 
Tell your DH not to be hard on himself. We all give fur shots. I once gave three in a row. Rhubarb will get back on track. There's not anything you can do if her numbers go up, but they will come back down.

Part of why DH did it for me is cause when I pulled cap off the first needle, I jabbed myself right on the side of the thumb (I threw it out and used a new one). Silly thing is, I knew that could happen- I did it once before with a 20g needle. Ugh.
May as well laugh at our mistakes- better than crying!
 
Is testing +1 a waste if it's a possible fur shot? I don't want to overtest if it isn't needed!

There's no such thing as a wasted test....they all give you some information, but it's probably not necessary.

Eventually, you do want to get an occasional +1 though because it can be helpful to learn what kind of "food bump" you can usually expect
 
I missed +1, so did 1.25, and her number is going down. Maybe she got some!
Edit- closer to 1.5 actually
 
+3 is 295.
Should I get a +4 before bed, or is it safe to assume she won't do anything funky tonight?
 
I think it's safe to go to bed

What a lot of us do is drink a big glass of water in the evening so we "have to" get up later in the night....and as long as we're up, we grab a test
 
I'd grabbed a +4 anyway and nothing remarkable.
I'm hoping to do her 0.25 U at 530-545 so I can get a +2 in before work. Have an early job booked.
Thanks for checking in, goodnight!
 
Back
Top