11/27 Ovie PMPS:81 Do I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am really happy with how Ovie is responding to the insulin today. He's just surfing. No dramatic drops like he has in the past. I did notice this morning though when he used the litter box his poop was like liquidy and firm at the same time. This may be TMI but it was like a shot of liquid followed by firm poops. He seems active and happy. Eating like normal. I didn't catch him pee so I couldn't ketone check.
 
Great report on Ovie, well the imaginary lizards part, not the poop. You feed him anything different yesterday? His numbers look great today.
 
No lagoon visit. He is hanging out at 108 at +7.5.:cool:

He seems to like surfing in the blues and isn't sure about the lagoon yet.
 
The fact that he dropped into PMPS concerns me. Maybe retest in 15 minutes to see which way he is going. Are you able to get back on track if you stall?
 
The fact that he dropped into PMPS concerns me. Maybe retest in 15 minutes to see which way he is going. Are you able to get back on track if you stall?
I am feeding him now. I wasnt able to give him his +9 LC snack bc I had a family emergency. I'm wondering if that's why he dropped?

I can test again 15 minutes after he eats. Is that what you mean?
 
I am feeding him now. I wasnt able to give him his +9 LC snack bc I had a family emergency. I'm wondering if that's why he dropped?

I can test again 15 minutes after he eats. Is that what you mean?
Typically we stall without food to see he if he is going to rise on his own. I have to go test and feed Gizmo. Be back soon.
 
I was hoping someone with more experience would stop by and offer advice. Basically you have to do what you are comfortable with. It looks like you test often and would catch if his numbers dropped to low. I am not able to stay up and help you tonight though if that should happen. Since you are following TR that number is shootable, but typically someone is around to help you the first time you shoot green in case he should drop lower.
 
I was hoping someone with more experience would stop by and offer advice. Basically you have to do what you are comfortable with. It looks like you test often and would catch if his numbers dropped to low. I am not able to stay up and help you tonight though if that should happen. Since you are following TR that number is shootable, but typically someone is around to help you the first time you shoot green in case he should drop lower.

Hm. It is intimidating. Ill hold off a little longer you think? He's only at 90 after eating.
 
If you are able to work his shot time back (15 minutes per shot or 30 minutes once a day), you can stall as long as you want. If worse comes to worse, you can just skip tonight's shot also.
 
Just saw this, let's see if we can track down some experienced peeps. Are you flexible to get back on schedule if you shoot late? 15-30 min increments each shot?
 
As far as carbs go, LC is under 10%, MC is 10-15%, HC is over 15%, Sienne & Gabby cleared that up for me the other day in a post I can't find (it wasn't mine) but I did screenshot it to put in my notebook.
 
I can work in increments to get back to his normal scheduled time. Is that what you guys mean?
Yes, some wouldn't have the flexibility to do that and thus you wouldn't shoot later, you'd just skip because you want to stay as close as possible to 12 hours in between shots.

And don't beat yourself up about feeding him, I did the exact same thing first time I shot a green! Now you know not to feed when you stall the next time. ;)
 
Yes, some wouldn't have the flexibility to do that and thus you wouldn't shoot later, you'd just skip because you want to stay as close as possible to 12 hours in between shots.

And don't beat yourself up about feeding him, I did the exact same thing first time I shot a green! Now you know not to feed when you stall the next time. ;)

Do you guys have any idea why he's so low at a PMPS? I didn't get his last snack in today bc of a family emergency. Could that be why? He's been surfing the blues wonderfully. I was surprised to see a green. Lol
 
I'm not sure if the missed snack would have anything to do with it or not. I would think a snack at +9 would raise his numbers. It did for Gizmo. Some kitties have a second drop on lantus at the end of the cycle. But typically that drop isn't lower than the nadir.
 
Do you guys have any idea why he's so low at a PMPS? I didn't get his last snack in today bc of a family emergency. Could that be why? He's been surfing the blues wonderfully. I was surprised to see a green. Lol
I don't really know, but to give a couple guesses: Lantus has a double dip effect, but it's usually not as low as the nadir, my second guess would be that the depot filled on the new dose and he just decided at +12 to start working the increase, lucky you! ;)
 
Last edited:
You skipped the +9 snack? That could be part of it too. I starting taking up Asia's food after nadir to keep her from rising and help her surf
 
It doesn’t look like a second dip to me unless he dropped quite a bit at +6. Shooting a dropping number can be great for carryover and overlap but you don’t have the data to really shoot a number this low. And you fed him so his BG might be a tiny bit food influenced.

If you can stall for another hour and shoot late, if he’s on the rise, it’s an option but you would shoot the full dose since you stalled.

I wouldn’t recommend a BCS right now because the cycle will play out as it would if you shot the full dose.

I think your best options are to stall as described above or skip. However, if you shoot, I’m not able to stay up with you and I think it’s would be best to have someone help you through shooting unless he skyrockets.
 
Okay. So should I check him again in an hour to see where he stands? then if he skyrockets give him the 1.25U? If he stays low skip? If I skip I should expect a bounce right?
 
Okay. So should I check him again in an hour to see where he stands? then if he skyrockets give him the 1.25U? If he stays low skip? If I skip I should expect a bounce right?
Yes I think that is best since you’ve not had to deal with low numbers yet and I’m just not available to stay up with you in case he goes lower.

If he heads up, you can shoot the 1.25u. You’ve shot 124 but he could come back down. Use your best judgement about whether you can stay up and test and manage the curve. If you can’t, I, personally, wouldn’t shoot below 150.

You can stall longer than two hours but we typically don’t stall more than two hours because it makes it harder to get back on track.

I feel you skip, as the depot empties, numbers will come up. He might or might not bounce. Sometimes they surprise us!
 
Yes I think that is best since you’ve not had to deal with low numbers yet and I’m just not available to stay up with you in case he goes lower.

If he heads up, you can shoot the 1.25u. You’ve shot 124 but he could come back down. Use your best judgement about whether you can stay up and test and manage the curve. If you can’t, I, personally, wouldn’t shoot below 150.

You can stall longer than two hours but we typically don’t stall more than two hours because it makes it harder to get back on track.

I feel you skip, as the depot empties, numbers will come up. He might or might not bounce. Sometimes they surprise us!
He is only at 111 +2. So I should mark the dose section as NS right?
 
He is only at 111 +2. So I should mark the dose section as NS right?
Yes, correct. I’m sorry there’s no one to stay up with you but they get back on track quickly when we have to skip.

I would do a before bed test and make sure he’s continuing up. Then you can get right back on schedule in the morning at your normal shot time or you can change the shot time if you wish.

Normally, we don’t feed at +9 (unless kitty is on a drop and about to go into remission) other than a very LC treat like freeze dried chicken, etc if kitty is hungry. Feeding a meal late in the cycle can shorten duration.

Hope you get some rest!
 
Yes, correct. I’m sorry there’s no one to stay up with you but they get back on track quickly when we have to skip.

I would do a before bed test and make sure he’s continuing up. Then you can get right back on schedule in the morning at your normal shot time or you can change the shot time if you wish.

Normally, we don’t feed at +9 (unless kitty is on a drop and about to go into remission) other than a very LC treat like freeze dried chicken, etc if kitty is hungry. Feeding a meal late in the cycle can shorten duration.

Hope you get some rest!
That sounds like a plan. :) Thank you for your help.

What do you think are the best time for LC snacks. He pretty much harasses me for food anytime he sees me move in the direction of the kitchen. I will normally give him a 1/4 of a 5.5 oz can. At AMPS and PMPS he doesn't typically eat the half can I give him but he'll beg for more at about +2 or +3
 
That sounds like a plan. :) Thank you for your help.

What do you think are the best time for LC snacks. He pretty much harasses me for food anytime he sees me move in the direction of the kitchen. I will normally give him a 1/4 of a 5.5 oz can. At AMPS and PMPS he doesn't typically eat the half can I give him but he'll beg for more at about +2 or +3
You’re welcome!

He’s probably begging for food at +2/+3 because he occasionally drops then and his insulin is onsetting. You can experiment with his food but you could try and feed him equal amounts, to start, at PS, +1, +2, and +3 to see if that helps with a smoother onset and keeps him from being so hungry. You can always adjust the feeding times and amounts.

Most diabetic kitties do better with consistent amounts and times of food.
 
You’re welcome!

He’s probably begging for food at +2/+3 because he occasionally drops then and his insulin is onsetting. You can experiment with his food but you could try and feed him equal amounts, to start, at PS, +1, +2, and +3 to see if that helps with a smoother onset and keeps him from being so hungry. You can always adjust the feeding times and amounts.

Most diabetic kitties do better with consistent amounts and times of food.
Thank you :bighug:
 
That sounds like a plan. :) Thank you for your help.

What do you think are the best time for LC snacks. He pretty much harasses me for food anytime he sees me move in the direction of the kitchen. I will normally give him a 1/4 of a 5.5 oz can. At AMPS and PMPS he doesn't typically eat the half can I give him but he'll beg for more at about +2 or +3
You’re welcome!

He’s probably begging for food at +2/+3 because he occasionally drops then and his insulin is onsetting. You can experiment with his food but you could try and feed him equal amounts, to start, at PS, +1, +2, and +3 to see if that helps with a smoother onset and keeps him from being so hungry. You can always adjust the feeding times and amounts.
Thank you :bighug:
You’re welcome! He doesn’t look too bad this morning!

Come on, Ovie...back on track with you!
 
He's looking good after such a short period of time since starting the treatment...I believe that single 10U shot proved him who's the boss..... :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top