? 11/27 Minky AMPS: 426; 289@+5.5; PMPS: 238; 166@+5; 142@+6.25

Sheila and Minky

Member Since 2024
Hi, Minky has been pretty stable and has seen lots of blues when given her insulin dosage recently. The last few days I can tell she has been off. I suspected pancreatitis as her appetite has not been good. I got some Cerenia and started that last night. I am trying hard to get her to eat, but it is a bit hard. I have never been able to catch it before it is a requirement to go to emergency. The vet previously would not give the pain med (starts with an o--I can't remember the name). I am not sure if a vet will be available tomorrow. I have Mirataz but it is 2 years old. Ketones were .3 yesterday. I will test again today, but while her unit of insulin controls her sugar, today she was at 289 at almost the 6 hour mark. I know things are getting worse because I know her. Any suggestions to prevent this from becoming an emergency?

Minky’s Spreadsheet
 
Last edited:
Hi, Minky has been pretty stable and has sen lots of blues when given her insulin dosage recently. The last few days I can tell she has been off. I suspected pancreatitis as her appetite has not been good. I got some Cerenia and started that last night. I am trying hard to get her to eat, but it is a bit hard. I have never been able to catch it before it is a requirement to go to emergency. The vet previously would not give the pain med (starts with an o--I can't remember the name). I am not sure if a vet will be available tomorrow. I have Mirataz but it is 2 years old. Ketones were .3 yesterday. I will test again today, but while her unit of insulin controls her sugar, today she was at 289 at almost the 6 hour mark. I know things are getting worse because I know her. Any suggestions to prevent this from becoming an emergency?

Minky’s Spreadsheet
Hi Sheila, I’m so sorry Minky isn’t feeling well.
I think you meant Ondansetron (Zofran). It’s a human medication you can get at any pharmacy with a prescription.
I’d try to get that to have It on hand as well as keep mirtaz (unopened) in the house at all times.
Minky may need fluids to help her too.
I’m glad you have Cerenia and gave that at least.
Can you syringe feed her if needed?
If it’s pancreatitis, she may need pain meds (buprenorphine) from the vet.
I hope you can get her to eat and feel better ❤️‍🩹🍃🍃🍃🍃
 
Why did the vet say not to give ondansetron? I find it better than Cerenia to fight nausea. But you can also give both, as they target different nausea receptors.

It can't hurt to try the Mirataz even if it's old. I'd also add more water to her food if you don't have subq fluids. Maybe some food variety? Here are some tips that might help: Suggestions on How to Stimulate Kitty's Appetite
 
Why did the vet say not to give ondansetron? I find it better than Cerenia to fight nausea. But you can also give both, as they target different nausea receptors.

It can't hurt to try the Mirataz even if it's old. I'd also add more water to her food if you don't have subq fluids. Maybe some food variety? Here are some tips that might help: Suggestions on How to Stimulate Kitty's Appetite
The last time she was in her attack, the vet wouldn’t give it. I don't understand why; I tried so hard to get them to give it to her because this group has said it was so helpful.

She is eating the Weruva food (9% carb which tends to spike her) so I have tried to stay away from it but is it better to give her that than try to get her to eat low carb and her not eat as much? It seems like when she is more tightly regulated her body throws her into to a pancreatitis attack. I don't get it.
 
Hi Sheila, I’m so sorry Minky isn’t feeling well.
I think you meant Ondansetron (Zofran). It’s a human medication you can get at any pharmacy with a prescription.
I’d try to get that to have It on hand as well as keep mirtaz (unopened) in the house at all times.
Minky may need fluids to help her too.
I’m glad you have Cerenia and gave that at least.
Can you syringe feed her if needed?
If it’s pancreatitis, she may need pain meds (buprenorphine) from the vet.
I hope you can get her to eat and feel better ❤️‍🩹🍃🍃🍃🍃
I will try calling the vet tomorrow. I got her to eat better a 9% carb food which is not great but I am at a loss. Her pre-shot tonight was 238 so I am so at a loss what her body is doing.
 
The bonus of the 9% food, besides hopefully getting more calories in her, is those higher numbers. It might be possible to increase her insulin dose, which would help fight off DKA. She's not spending much time below 150.
 
The bonus of the 9% food, besides hopefully getting more calories in her, is those higher numbers. It might be possible to increase her insulin dose, which would help fight off DKA. She's not spending much time below 150.
So it sounds like I should try giving the Weruva and increase insulin if needed? More insulin helps to fight off DKA? That is definitely what I don't want her going back into.
 
From our post on DKA:
The basic recipe for developing DKA = an insufficient supply of insulin + inappetance + infection OR other systemic stresses.
 
From our post on DKA:
The basic recipe for developing DKA = an insufficient supply of insulin + inappetance + infection OR other systemic stresses.
So even with her being in the 100's, she still has not had enough insulin? I am trying to understand. I know if she is running high and not controlled but it still can be an issue in the 100's too?
 
Back
Top