It's possible that this morning she was clearing the bounce from last night's greens. Bounce clearing cycles can have late nadirs - even as late as the end of the cycle - which is what you saw today. Tonight she might be headed up after her nadir which is typically around +4 but can be sooner or later for some cats.
I would go back to 0.75U tomorrow morning since she hasn't earned a reduction by dropping below 90.
Thank you Bhooma. I know Mimi technically didn't earn a reduction, but I was thinking it might be safer to go down to .5 since she hasn't been having pre-shot values above 150 that often and then increase as needed according to SLGS protocol. In my first new member
post, Sienne, said this:
"The lower carb food can cause diabetic numbers to drop, especially if Mimi was getting a diet significantly higher in carbs. There's a degree in variability with respect to how cats respond to insulin. At least to me, Mimi's spreadsheet looks like there could have been some other factor influencing the higher numbers. That's more of a guess given that your vet did the lab work. What I would suggest is that you take a look at other members spreadsheets. It will give you a sense of what cats' numbers look like. You may want to venture over to the
Lantus forum to look at spreadsheets since most members once they are comfortable with the basics of diabetes management will move over to the Lantus board.
If you read through either of the dosing protocols, you'll notice that doses are held a minimum of 3 days/6 cycles barring a drop in numbers that necessitates a dose reduction. The reason for a holding doses is that Lantus is a "depot" insulin. Every time you give a shot, Lantus forms microcrystals that are deposited in the fat tissue. Over the course of the cycle, most of the crystals dissolve. However, a small amount do not dissolve during each cycle which is what gives Lantus its long duration and gentle action. Every time you change the dose, it has an effect on the depot. In order for the depot to stabilize, you need to hold the dose. If you make repeated back-to-back changes in the dose, you can end up with wonky numbers and in addition, it's next to impossible to know which dose is causing the change in numbers. This is my long winded way of suggesting that you need to pick a dose and stick with it. When following SLGS, you want to hold the dose for a week. Whether you pick 0.5u or 0.75u is entirely up to you."
I had decided to stick with .5u but I could stick with .75u instead if you think that makes more sense?