11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149, +4 134, +5 99, +6 129

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! And congratulations, JuJu. Best news ever!

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129048

Mikey has decided to be a rainbow kitty today. I hope this means he's clearing the bounce. His appetite hasn't been great and his stool was a bit soft. He prefers the taste of the FF, so I've given him some of that, and he's eating it. I'd rather he have the Friskies, because I don't want him to crash, but FF is better than no food. I noticed that the last time he hit black, his appetite too a dive too, so I'm watching to see what happens today.

I decided that in the interest of my sanity, I needed to get out of the house, so I left Mikey for a bit and headed to the Y. Don is off to visit his parents in upstate NY, and will return tomorrow. My doctor brother is working today, so we're having our Thanksgiving tomorrow when Don gets home and Jim wakes up. Today my SIL (who is like a sister to me) and three of her semi-adult kids are coming over for mac 'n cheese and chocolate chip cookies. Don't tell, but I much prefer mac 'n cheese to turkey,

Because of the Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow at 3:30, I'm thinking about shooting at noon only tomorrow, then resuming normal shooting on Saturday.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +2 284, +4 118 +5 94

WOOT! Look at Mikey go! :mrgreen: That higher carb food really does make a difference.

How does the shooting at noon tomorrow line up with your normal schedule? Is that an 18 hour timing. Lot of people doing creative timing this time of year.

Have a good day Mary. I'm rather fond of Mac N Cheese myself. :-D
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +2 284, +4 118 +5 94

Yes, Wendy, that would be an 18 hour schedule. It's possible for me to run and back and forth and stay on schedule, but it would kind of ruin the dinner, since I'll be almost half and hour away.

You have a great day too!
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +2 284, +4 118 +5 94

Marycatmom said:
Today my SIL (who is like a sister to me) and three of her semi-adult kids are coming over for mac 'n cheese and chocolate chip cookies.


Don't get me wrong I LOVE turkey....even got a turkey breast to cook next weekend, but I LOVE mac n cheese, so what time should I be there? :)

Looking awesome today Mikey!

I am off to pack up all of Skooter's stuff to travel....while I don't have kids, this seems like it is very similar, if not worse than packing up to travel with a kid lol :roll:
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +2 284, +4 118 +5 94

Cool surfing dude, Mikey!! :cool:

Happy Thanksgiving!

Georgette (also a mac & cheese fan) and Clare
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +5 94, +6 81, +7 81

OK, mac 'n cheese fans, be here at 3:30! Mac 'n cheese for everyone! Mikey is actually surfing in green at the moment. I may faint! :-D He's refusing to eat the 8% food, so I've been giving him the 3% kitty crack. I'm not sure how that's going to work tonight...
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +5 94, +6 81, +7 81

i'd keep doling out the 3% every hour or so - SURF MIKEY!!!! YAY! What a sight for sore eyes!

Looks like he heard your lament from yesterday . . . . ;-) :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +5 94, +6 81, +7 81

*snicker*

look what i found just now from yesterday's posts . . .

Marycatmom said:
Psst! Webster! It's Mikey! What colors should we do tomorrow? I think our best bet for freaking them out, is to head way down in the greens. Like about 30. I can hear the panic now! This is going to be great!!!!!

Your partner in crime,
Mikey
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +5 94, +6 81, +7 81

He's 88 at +8. Woo hoo! I think I'll wait until +10 or so to test again. Although with company here, that might be tricky.

I'm telling you, Julie, Mikey and Webster are in cahoots! Troublemakers!
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +5 94, +6 81, +7 81, +8 88

He says thank you, Julie. I just hope we can avoid a bounce from our Rubber Ball. A drop of over 300 in the course of the day seems to send Mr. Liver into a panic attack. Mr. Liver needs to figure out what's safe and normal before Mrs. Mommy ends up in the psych unit!!!! :lol:
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +11 96 Do I shoot???

Mikey is 96 at +11. Do I shoot? I hate to skip again, but I'm here alone. Will anyone be around?
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +11 96 Do I shoot???

There are bunches of us around. See where his numbers are at at PMPS -- are numbers dropping, flat, or rising.

How long is it until your shot time?
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +11 96 Do I shoot???

Shot time is 6:00. I'll be back with PMPS in about ten minutes. Thank you!
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +11 96 Do I shoot???

The other considerations -- I'm assuming you'll be home to keep an eye on Mikey's numbers. Do you have extra strips and high carb food if needed?
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +11 96 Do I shoot???

He is 127 at PMPS. He's refusing the Friskies, so I may have to feed him FF. I have plenty of strips, HC food and Karo. But I'm still nervous!
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +11 96 Do I shoot???

You shot a 124 at PMPS on 11/9 and Mikey earned a dose reduction. If you're more comfortable, since you've not had a lot of experience shooting lower numbers, would you be more comfortable stalling for 20 - 30 min? Don't feed, though. If his numbers are still rising, then you should be OK to shoot.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +11 96 Do I shoot???

He was 149 after a 20 minute stall, so I shot. Yikes!!!!!!!! How do I notate this on my spreadsheet? He's eating FF but won't touch the 8%. Brat. Now the question is, is Webster pulling the same thing tonight?
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +11 96 Do I shoot???

The 149 is your PMPS. You can either stack the other numbers by their times in the +11 cell or put them in the comments column. The 127 is your +12.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +11 96 Do I shoot???

My company just left. I'll fix the spreadsheet, start the dishes, and be back with +1 in about 15 minutes. This might be a good night to surf the web for Christmas ideas for my class.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +2 161

He's 161 at +2. Should I feed him a bit of LC or let him ride until +3?
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey AMPS 402, +2 161 Feed?

Mary --

Can you update your subject line. You need to make the change in the subject line of your first post in the thread. When we're scanning the board to see if anyone needs help, it's much more helpful to have the current information. For example, a drop from 402 to a +2 of 161, I'd definitely tell you to feed. However, your PMPS was 149. If you usually feed Mikey at +2, then go ahead and feed him. At this point, his numbers aren't dropping so it's up to you whether you feed.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161

Ooops! I forgot to update that part. Sorry about that. I haven't fed him. We'll see where he's at at +3. He's snoozing right now.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161

Hi Mary - beautiful day for Mikey. :-D Love all that pancreas healing time.

Memo to Mikey's liver: It's a holiday, take a break, enjoy the surf.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149

Thanks, Wendy and Sienne! Mr. Liver needs to behave. Mikey is 149 at +3. I'm guessing that's pretty much the same as 161? Do I feed?
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149

Looks like he might be surfing. :-D I'd only feed if you normally do at this time.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149

There's no normally around here! :lol: He's asking for food, and he's short on calories today. Is it ok to give him some 3%. I have no problem saying no to him, if that's what's best. Just ask my second graders! :lol: Surfin' USA, Mikey!
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149

It'd be fine to give him a little food. Maybe get a +4 to see if he's going to continue surfing, and if so, you can feed him the rest of his calories then.

Mid blue surfs are my favorite for overnight. :cool:
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149

OK, I'm holding off on feeding him for a +4. He would like everyone to know that he is an abused cat, and that we're all cruel! Poor baby! When will I be able to go to bed? I'm not used to this surfing stuff. With Mikey, it's always been one extreme or the other. I'm liking this.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149

Just admiring your day! He's been unpredictable so I guess if he were mine I'd feed him more lc go to bed and test him again in 2-3 hrs, in case he decides to drop. I sorta doubt he will but we don't have a prior cycle like this to compare to.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149

Another question: I was going to do an 18 hr cycle tomorrow, because of our Thanksgiving dinner at my brother's. Am I going to lose all sorts of ground with Mikey, if I do this? What is everyone's recommendation? BRB with a +4.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149

134 at +4. He's snacking on some LC now. Not sure he's going to get 100% of his calories today, because his refusing to eat the Friskies got me all mixed up.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149, +4 134

well i had a post done and Tobey stepped on my ipad and i lost it.

it's ok if he doesn't get all his calories in today but you can also feed him a little more LC if you want him to surf a little higher so you can sleep. He had a great day today!

i think the 18 hour schedule will be fine. There are never any guarantees but he's doing well on this dose so i bet it won't affect him much. plus...you gotta have a life.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149, +4 134

If I feed him a bit more LC, do I still need to get up in couple of hours and test? He's still hungry, so I can feed him more before I turn in. You're right about needing to have a life. I feel like I don't leave the house, except to go to work and the gym! It would be good for me to get out and not have to run back and forth. Shooting at noon will give me time to get a +2 before I have to leave, and I have the timed feeder now. I don't think DK will eat the food, as long as it's turkey. He's not a fan.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149, +4 134

BTW....HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

I don't like going to bed on a dropping number....at least not going to bed and not getting up to make sure the drop has stopped. He's high enough and late enough that you could feed him some LC, go to bed, and maybe check in a couple hours. I would shoot the 18 hour schedule and not worry about progress....it should not cause any issues; he might need an extra cycle to get back to business but it won't matter.

The mac n cheese and cookies sound wonderful!!!

And yes, I shot a 67 and you will, too, one day. Yes you will!!!
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149, +4 134, +5 99

99 at +5. That's a bigger drop than I'm happy with. I hoping Mr. Liver doesn't freak. We do NOT need another bounce. Mikey is having some low carb, then we'll be moving operations up to the bedroom. I assume I'm setting the alarm for 1 hour? Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!!!!!!! Brat.
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149, +4 134, +5 99

the good news is that he hasn't plummeted or soared today! Interrupting that pattern was the goal of increasing his carbs so you could get enough insulin in him. While inconvenient, it's a good thing.

I probably would try to get him to eat the 8% (can you sprinkle parmesan on it? warm it up a little? a little tuna juice?) and then, i'm so sorry, i'd only go another hour and then i'd test again. I hope he surfs for you again.

nighty night!
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149, +4 134, +5 99

Thanks, Marje. I'm not in full blown panic mode like I was when I shot the other low number. So far... :-D
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149, +4 134, +5 99

:lol: :lol: I bet the first time you get a green number at PS and need to shoot, you will be!!
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149, +4 134, +5 99

Oh, you bet I will be in full blown panic mode! And it won't be pretty.

Meanwhile, I'm testing one more time, then hitting the sack with my boyl Setting alarm for an hour, right?

Good night!
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149, +4 134, +5 99, +6

OK, he's a 129 at +6. Do I need to set another alarm?
 
Re: 11/27, Mikey PMSP 149, +2 161, +3 149, +4 134, +5 99, +6

Nope....I'd go to bed and get some sleep.

Have fun tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top