Re: 11/27 Mikey AMPS 360 +2/224 +6/53/59 +6.5/73 +7/83
When is the cycle from? It took me a while to realize that my day "starts" at 10:50 even though I'm up 6 hours before. So is the cycle from AMPS to PMPS or AMPS to AMPS?
A cycle is 12 hours so you have two 12-hour cycles/day. You shoot him at 11am/11pm. 11am-11pm is one cycle (the AM cycle) and 11pm-11am is his second (PM) cycle.
Marje,
When you said "If it's a high PS, like today, I normally would use 50 mg/dl less on the +2 to be extra vigilantDid you mean at 11am you would have shot less insulin? I shot 1.5u so how much would 50mg/dl less be?
At my AMPS and PMPS if he is under 200 I should stall?
I have to really work on understanding the dropping numbers, bounces and Lantus dips. It's like a foreign language to me.
Sorry....please let me clarify. His preshot today was high...360. So what I was saying was that if his +2 was 50 mg/dl less (say 310), then I would have checked him at +4 until you get used to Mikey's curves. In reality, 310 is within the 20% meter variance of 360. So....look at his PS number, if it is more than the 20% variance at high numbers at +2, then test sooner (+4) rather than later (+6). And to further answer your question, no....don't change the dose. ;-) The "mg/dl" refers to the BG measurement.
Example: You get 300 at PS. At +2, he's at 275.....I would consider that to be pretty close to his PS with meter variance and would not necessarily expect him to get really low. But let's say he's 300 at PS and 200 at +2. That is alot more than the 20% meter variance...you need to be really vigilant. Today, at 360...20% meter variance would have been about 290. So anything below that (as he was) and
we I should have had you check him at +4.
You have been shooting in the 140s.....you don't need to stall unless his BG is dropping. My reference to asking for help if he's under 200 is if he has been dropping
all cycle long. Mikey hasn't done that yet....he's been coming up towards the end of his cycle. So, as an example, let's say today he started at PS 360, +2, 224, +4, 200, +6 180, +10 160 +12 120......... that's an example of a dropping cycle when you would want to stall, post, and ask for assistance. Compare that to: PS 360, +2 224 +4 200 +6 180 +10 150 +12 175 he's come back up at the end of his cycle....ok to shoot without stalling because you've shot lower than that before.
Does that help??
We can keep helping you with terminology as we go.