11/27 Merlin AMPS 157 +6 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

Diana and Merlin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30711

Curved last night. Prior to his shot last night, he had not had insulin in 24 hours (am was low, stayed below 150, wasn't able to test after +3 until later).

PMPS: 213
+3: 99 (ate food, about 2.5 oz)
+5: 77 (ate a little more food, about 2 oz)
+6: 86
+8:102
+10: 120
+12 (AMPS) 109
Holding on AM shot
+13: 137
+13.5: 137
+14: 157 (shot given .5u)
+3: 95
+4: 115
+6: 131

Gave AM shot at +14. All P's accounted for at AM+6.
 
Re: 11/27 Merlin AMPS 109

good morning guys! Those were some nice looking numbers last night .. looks like another nice start to the day today as well ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/27 Merlin AMPS 109

looks great! Are you home today to monitor? Do you have plenty of test strips and some high carb wet food?
 
Re: 11/27 Merlin AMPS 109

great. It looks like it has been about an hour since the 109, how about another test? Have you fed him yet?

I'm thinking that Merlin could use a small dose reduction, just to get him into numbers that you can shoot comfortably every 12 hours. Let's see what the number is and decide. The next dose would be 0.75 units BID. Do you have syringes that measure 1/2 unit markings?
 
Re: 11/27 Merlin AMPS 109

I'm thinking it's also time for a decrease.

I tested again 30 min ago: 137. While I normally wouldn't feed him at this point, he was trying to eat a cardboard box, then tissue paper, a plastic bag... I think he might be part dog sometimes so he got about .5 oz of food and calmed down.

I don't have any syringes with 1/2 unit markings, but I'm going to see about getting some today. Going to test him here again in a minute to see what his BG is doing, sometimes he likes to give me a mini spike before going back down.
 
Re: 11/27 Merlin AMPS 109

sorry I wasn't here to follow up. I have guests for the holiday, and they keep taking over my computer! I peeked at your spreadsheet and it looks like you decided to shoot at about +15~157? Good. :smile: I would get a +1 to be sure he's still rising. We'll have to help you get your shot time back on schedule. Looks good, though!
 
Re: 11/27 Merlin AMPS 109

Indeed! Previously he stayed under 150 for more than a few hours, but with him going up, I didn't want the curve to get too far ahead of me.
 
Re: 11/27 Merlin AMPS 157 +3: 95

I did a .5u dose instead of a .75 dose because of the random note here: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581 (since it was going late, did I figure that right?) and because it really seems like he needs the decrease.

Talked to his vet, she agrees, but she wants to try dropping him to a .5u dose instead of .75 . Checked with the protocol, it says to decrease by .25 or .5 so I'll see what his BG decides to do today. Going to test again in 3 hours (at +6) to see how it's hanging.
 
Re: 11/27 Merlin AMPS 157 +3: 95

Diana, I would test again in an hour...that's a fair sized drop. I know you reduced the dose, but he still has some shed action from the 1.0u dose working on his BG.
 
Hi Diana,
Just stopping in to say good luck with the dosecrease.

On your spreadsheet, could you change the note in the AMPS box to say +15 +14 instead of +3. The AMPS shot was actually given 15 14 hours after the PMPS shot. I'm sure you know that the next shot (his PMPS) will need to be given 12 hours after this morning's shot, right?. If you need to adjust your shot schedule back to what it was before, just ask, and we will help you.

Edited to change 15 to 14, after I went back and re-read your first post.
 
I'm sorry to be a pain :oops: , but could you change the 109 in the AMPS box on your spreadsheet to the 157, which was the actual number you shot the AMPS dose at? You can add the 109 and the 137s in the comments section, or if you want to, you could pile them all up in the AMPS box (see my spreadsheet on 07/22).
 
Okay, unless he goes real high (like the middle 300s, I think), the most you want to adjust per day is 30 minutes, and I think the gentlest way is to adjust by 15 minutes each shot. But, that depends on the numbers too. If the numbers are exceptionally low, and/or you won't be home to monitor, you may need to reconsider the earlier shot for that cycle.

Remember that an early dose = a dose increase and a late dose = a dose reduction, in a way.
Hopefully, by halving the dose like you did this morning, you will have some room to play with.

So, if you are 2 hours off schedule this morning; you can start by shooting 15 minutes earlier (+11.75) tonight, and then shoot at +11.75 tomorrow morning and at +11.75 tomorrow night, and then +11.75 on Monday morning, etc. You would still be an hour off on Monday morning. Would that pose a problem? You could basically be back on schedule again by Wednesday morning, by shooting 15 minutes earlier each shot.

Please let us know if this would work for you.

IF, he gets a number that is really high, you can shoot up to an hour early, but please post for advise before doing that.
 
Sounds like it would work, though tomorrow night (Sunday) he's with Grandma Bean who'll pre-test him but that's about it because I am at work. So, no one to monitor him tomorrow night.

Otherwise yeah, that'll work!
 
Your spreadsheet looks perfect now. Good job.
That's great Merlin's grandma bean can test for you. Please make sure to reiterate to her when to shoot, because you won't be on your regular schedule times. Maybe, she can test at +11.5, and then call you to make sure it's okay to shoot at +11.75. I'm glad you are at an even 0.50 dose which should be easy for her to measure (you do have 1/2 unit marks on your syringes?), but please also make sure she knows (and maybe has an example of) the new dose. Just want to be safe.
 
I definitely do that because she likes to get off track. :-x I can't complain too much though because she's doing me and Merlin a huge favor (I work 12 hour shifts and work 45 minutes away, there's no way I could give him shots every 12). But she does a lot better when I'm very specific on time.

I'm picking up the 1/2 unit syringes tomorrow, right now I'm using the method mentioned here: viewtopic.php?p=236505 . We'll be practicing a lot today to make sure she's got it down right.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top