11/27 - Lee Lu AMPS 159, PMPS 87, +2 35, +3 39 - YIKES

Status
Not open for further replies.

pandabur

Member Since 2014
ETA - PMPS at 8pm was 87, shot 1.25, fed and went to bed. Woke up to Lee having drunk hooker legs, tested at +2 (10pm) at 35, +3 at 10:47pm at 37. Forced honey into her mouth, also via dabbing on nose. She ate a little after some honey, not much. Waiting to test again at 11:15pm. Almost feel like putting 911 on this. nailbite_smile

Ate a little more now at 11:20, did another test at 54. Still so nervous, I won't go to bed till she's at least at 80, or at the very least she's walking sober again.
more tests were 91 @ 12:08am, 123 at 12:51am. Whew, I think we are out of the woods. Still a slight wobble but she's eating on her own, way more interest in food, etc.

I'm thinking I won't shoot, or will shoot 1/2 dose, if she reads below 90 going forward. I don't want to go through this again.
--------

Earlier post:
Still BFF'ing for food. Lee is still drinking from the water dish, neither of the other cats do. I am going to try to take her into the v.e.t. on Fri to just rule out other issues for the water intake given her BG chart numbers are green/blue.

Happy Tday everyone!
 
Re: 11/27 - Lee Lu AMPS 159

good idea Amanda. just make sure nothing else is wrong. happy T day to you too. my Tibbs used to drink and pee alot but as he's coming into better numbers, he doesn't really do it anymore so i would def check.
 
well after a tough night (see edited first post) with tests starting at PMPS 8pm at 87, which yielded a 1.25u dose (typical is 1.5u), she tested at 35 @ 10pm after noticing drunk legs, 39 @ 10:43pm, 54 @ 11:17pm, 91 @ 12:08am, 123 at 12:51am.

As mentioned, I think I'm going to try not shooting or shooting a very reduced dose (like 1/2) if she's under 90. Thoughts on this idea?

I'm sure no one is awake / around to read this, but it really is nice to be able to post updates and search for answers while waiting to test, re-test, re-test, re-test. This Thanksgiving, I'm thankful for this site and resources, and everyone here. Thank you!

Note to self - buy some high carb food...
 
Hi Amanda
well she def earned a dose reduction after the night you had !
Hope she is ok today.
 
Wow,, good catch and good work keeping Lee Lu safe through the night.

I think that this cat is earning a significant reduction. I would definately drop down to 1.25 unit, and be really vigilent... you may have to reduce faster than you think.

(hopefully this post actually appears on the forum... I wrote it once all ready).

Linda
 
Thanks everyone for your good wishes and kind words! She did not come up to the bed last night, so I was really worried what I was going to find this morning. Came downstairs to her sitting up and meowed for food, good! I did see she peed outside the box, but I expected that with her mobility issues. AMPS - pre morning meal (not typical for me) was 212! WOW! YAY! :mrgreen:

So, yes, I'm going to really look at her SS (any input would be great) and make some decisions on dose. I think she's probably going to be ok with 1.25 going forward. I'm going to try that, and see if I can keep her the blues around 150.

The question is - should I dose her this morning? I'm think 1.0u is OK to do, esp since the pre-shot was pre-meal.

Another note to self - get those urine test sticks... that way, if she does pee outside the box on the hardwoods, I can test her pee very easily.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top