11/27 Crushy pmps 259 +2 351

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=108928&p=1151595#p1151595

It looks like Crushy is clearing his bounce today: He was at 421 at pm +9, 321 at PS and now 247 at +2
I gave him some MC at +2 to try to slow the decent a bit.

Im hoping to try the regular insulin when he starts to bounce from this. Im getting sick and tired of these red and pink numbers dominating his chart and if I have to test him through the night and into tomorrow then so be it.

Im scheduled to be away from home for T-day tomorrow but honestly....I dont want to go anyway (for a myriad of reasons that have nothing to do with Crushy (i.e family drama)) and this would give me a good excuse. ;-)
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy amps 321 +2 247 +3 161

Pretty blues! Steady does it Crushy.

Have you been practicing the .1U measurement for R? You'll want to be consistent on dosing that small amount. Just guessing of course that he'll think about bouncing after this. :roll:

I know I have on occasion used the diabetic cat as a reason to not do something I'd rather not. ;-) Have a great day Michelle.
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy amps 321 +2 247 +3 161

I have practiced the 0.1 unit.....such a small amount!!

Im also wondering if he starts to bounce within this cycle, how late is too late to give the R? is giving it at PS a bad idea?

Sometimes after a cycle like today he will start to bounce late in the cycle and be in mid 200s at PS and over 400 by +2. Id be tempted to give the R at PS or +11 in that case but the Lantus and R might onset at the same time that way?
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy amps 321 +2 247 +3 161

I haven't used R, although I thought about it at one point, so can't answer from experience. Perhaps put "R question" in the subject line to get eyes from someone who has. I think the first time I used R I'd be conservative, until you know how he reacts to it.
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy amps 321 +2 247 +3 161

Hi! I know you are sick of it.
I still think the AB's may be a player at this point..so please factor that and at least consider if best to let those run their course first before introducing anything else. Seems it could skew things and you wouldn't know if it was working or results might be different without them on board. I have never used R so am absolutely no authority. I am not saying yay/nay just to think about that aspect.
Also, my other worry would be you doing it the first time on T-day when you might not have the eyes or help available if you needed any.

Don't mean to be Debbie downer...just a couple of thoughts for the consideration pile.
Get some other opinions though.

Otherwise yahoo on bounce breaking!!

Then you really get to be the crazy cat lady! How would hubby feel about missing the fam get together?
(this makes me feel better anyway since I am not going anywhere and reminded of the upside - the drama I don't miss)

Steer carefully Crushy!!
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy amps 321 +2 247 +3 161 +4 155 R question

those are good points Betty

He has 3 more days of AB left and I dont know how it is affecting his #s really. Thats one of the reasons I havent raised his dose at all yet either when he has only reached green #s once since the dental.

Im just so tired of these high #s! I want to DO something!

Hubs is fine with missing T-day. Both of our parents are divorced and re-married so we have 4 sets of parents between us with siblings, step siblings, neices & nephews in each set. And these sets of parents rarely want to do the holidays together...no no that would be to convenient for us. I actually envy people that dont have anything to do for the holidays. Its kind of a dream of mine. This year we are only supposed to have 2 thanksgivings (1 at my mom's tomorrow and one at his mom's on Sunday) but there have been years when we have 3 or even 4, and sometimes more than one in one day. And there is a different flavor of drama at each house too. It really gets to be too much sometimes. Dont even get me started on Christmas....
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy amps 321 +2 247 +3 161 +4 155 R question

Hi Michele,
Your holidays sound kind of like mine! I am constantly using the diabetic cat as an excuse.

I have been trying to get the nerve up to use R, so don't have experience with it, but agree with Wendy that you should be conservative using it your first time. This is what has sort of held me up. I've been waiting for a cycle in which Ebby really zooms up around +8, +9, or +10, and I'm convinced, without a doubt, that indeed it is a strong bounce. Ebby is a little sneaky and I think sometimes zooms at the +11 mark, so it has been tricky to catch. Ideally, for myself I would like the first time I use it to be on a bounce into the 400's that happens at +9 or +10, but your situation might be a little different. Also, because of the holiday there might not be a lot of people on the board to help if there were any problems...so something to consider. I almost used it this morning, but the numbers didn't quite fit my requirement and I chickened out.
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy amps 321 +2 247 +3 161 +4 155 R question

I'm hoping that someone with hands on experience with R stops by. Like Wendy, I know more about it's use in principle than in practical terms.

In principle, what you want to avoid is the nadir from R and Lantus nadir overlapping. Unless Crushy has a very early nadir, you could most likely give R at +8 or +9 when you say you typically start to see numbers rising and then give Lantus as your usual time. R is typically in and out in 4 hours or so. Usually, in the beginning, most people will give R and Lantus at roughly the same time. When you're giving R for the first few times, you want to do a curve on the R. In other words, testing every hour for the first 4 hours of the cycle.
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy amps 321 +2 247 +3 161 +4 155 R question

Hi Michele,

I'm running out the door to dinner with family. Wanted to leave you some links to previous threads where I have talked about R use, but my computer is being bratty at the moment so I'm having trouble grabbing the links. Will keep trying.

I think you are fine with giving 0.1u of R if you can catch the very beginning of his bounce. Then test at +1, +2, +3, and maybe +4 to get an idea of what the R does or doesn't do. Overlapping nadirs are a consideration, except that with Crushy, once he starts a bounce he isn't going to even HAVE a nadir for a couple of cycles. That's why it's ok for Crushy at the beginning of a bounce.

Gotta go...
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy amps 321 +2 247 +3 161 +4 155 R question

...but how do you always KNOW its the beginning of a bounce. Don't you just suspect until you are really in it?
I am probably looking dumb here and missing something really obvious.

Michele- has Crushy had any GI issues from the AB?
if you mentioned it I missed it. Hank still had liquipoo a good week after we stopped them. I would say that didn't help his overall recovery from the dental.
I would say it was nearly 3 weeks before he was really his full Hankie self again.

These are actually really nice blues today..

Not having anything to do has it's benefits...but also it's downside and gets old sometimes. :YMSIGH:
But you get used to it. no worries at the moment.
Just wished somebody would ship me leftover dressing.
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy amps 321 +2 247 +3 161 +4 155 R question

thanks for the visit Mellissa. Hope you get to try R soon. Crushy's bounces are pretty regular after a dip into lower #s and he goes straight to the moon...and its still a little nerve wrecking trying R for the first time ;-) you'll figure it out

Thanks Sienne, I plan on testing every hour for 4 or 5 hours after I shoot the R.....if he would bounce darn it! he's hanging out in the blues still (so like a cat to not bounce when Im ready for it ;-) )

and thanks Libby...your so right, he has no nadir when he bounces...and when he is headed straight up you cant see any onset pt for the lantus either.

bettyandhank said:
...but how do you always KNOW its the beginning of a bounce. Don't you just suspect until you are really in it?
I am probably looking dumb here and missing something really obvious.

aside from the few days after the dental, he always bounces straight into the 300s or 400s after he spends some time in blue or green #s. Sometimes it happens quickly and sometimes it takes a few hours, but so far it always happens. So Im trying to catch him when he is on his way up.

bettyandhank said:
Michele- has Crushy had any GI issues from the AB?

No problems as of yet! *knock on wood* Im pretty happy about that! :-D
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy +3 161 +4 155 +7 175 +8 165 +11 227

227 at +11
He is just not going up at warp speed

but Im fairly sure he will get to high numbers tonight

normally I would be so thrilled with these numbers

so shoot R now, wait until ps or wait until later?
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy +3 161 +4 155 +7 175 +8 165 +11 227 R quest

She has R and is chomping at the bit. @-)


normally I would be so thrilled with these numbers
so Still be thrilled.

This is a fairly normal curve. He has not gone sky high yet..THAT's when you would utilize the R, no?

again I am no expert..but you don't have the sign...you have anticipation of the sign (or number)
..and eagerness. ;-)

These are niceish numbers...I'm happy about them.
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy +3 161 +4 155 +7 175 +8 165 +11 227 R quest

** PUT THE GUN AWAY!!!!!!! **

Dang him for having a nice cycle!!!!!!!!!!! :lol:
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy +3 161 +4 155 +7 175 +8 165 +11 227 R quest

hahahaha

they need an emoticon of a little guy beating his head against a wall
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy +3 161 +4 155 +7 175 +8 165 +11 227 R quest

This?? grr_red grr_red grr_red grr_red

or this???? angry(2)_cat angry(2)_cat angry(2)_cat

or this??? \M/ \M/ \M/ \M/ \M/ (headbanger..... haha_smiley )
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy +3 161 +4 155 +7 175 +8 165 +11 227 R quest
 

Attachments

  • url.gif
    url.gif
    63.2 KB · Views: 271
  • beating floor-emoticon.gif
    beating floor-emoticon.gif
    1.1 KB · Views: 296
Re: 11/27 Crushy +3 161 +4 155 +7 175 +8 165 +11 227 R quest

the head banging one one sums it up I think

ps is 259

arrrrg....I guess I just need to wait for a more obvious bounce at ps

(now I have to go to Thanksgiving tomorrow..great ;-) )

Im going to be so annoyed if he is in the high pinks by +2 btw
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy +3 161 +4 155 +7 175 +8 165 +11 227 R quest

It's like anticipation annoyance...you are readying to be annoyed. lol.
Be happy..its blues and yellows..even for a little while.
wait to be annoyed until the annoying thing actually occurs.


I could just hear you say to DM and DSD anyway...sorry we can't come to Thanksgiving because I just gave my cat bolus insulin and need to be home to steer...
Can you imagine? :o
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy +3 161 +4 155 +7 175 +8 165 +11 227 R quest

nah I just would have said that his BG was low and I had to watch him. People unfamiliar with what we are doing dont really want all the details anyway I dont think....
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy pmps 259

Michele

If you still want to give it to him tonight, let me look at his SS and see if once he starts up, he keeps going up.
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy pmps 259

Well...he almost always does keep going up but he's got a cycle or do where he just stayed somewhat flat yellow.

You could test at +2 and see where he is but then you'll be up late.
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy pmps 259

those flat yellow cycles on 11/20 and 11/21 were right after his dental and I think the anesthesia was still affecting him some. They were very unusual numbers.

Im going to test at +2 but Im kind of beat. Probably not the best night to stay up anyway. I think Ill try again next time he dips. Probably Friday if this every other day trend continues
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy pmps 259

Sounds good. It is hard to shoot R at night if you are tired and it's the first few times. I know now that I can usually shoot it, sleep 2 hours and get a R+2, sleep 2 hours and get an R+4. But I didn't do that until I had quite a bit of data on how she does with it.
 
Re: 11/27 Crushy pmps 259

yes I have a feeling that once I jump in and do this for the first time Im going to be a lot more comfortable with it. Hopefully this weekend!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top