11/27 Casey ambg-51,+6-269, pmps/+6-99,+9-81,

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
He still just isn't eating reliably enough for me to be comfortable shooting low to stay low. He is at least tasting the pate but not enough for me to risk shooting a 51

If he was an only or the only sugar here I might entertain the idea of getting him dry and doing a slow transition. But I'm not willing to risk Maxwell's remission or Autumn's regulation because Casey only wants Sardine and Mackrel gravy loaded food.

I won't let him starve and will syringe feed if necessary. But for now I'm going with getting the diet change in place first then add insulin if needed. Now of course if he shoots to the moon or starts throwing ketones he'll go right back on the juice.

But since neither a diet of fish only or dry is good for him. Trying a little tough love on the big orange guy.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51

I'm sorry he's not eating Mel. Maybe you just have to do the usual trial and error with the food. He may not hate all pates.
His little (hahaha) body is going through so many changes having been OD'd all this time. He probably feels weird still on a million different levels.
Normal numbers probably feel weird to him...so many changes. I would not have shot either..you have to deal with what he throws you. The 53 didn't warrant shooting.

I started checking the list when you posted the other day. There were several that looked either chunks or saucey that were still in the LC range.
Had just started looking so this is only partial but here are a few that might be options:
FF chunky chopped grill, chunky turkey ff (maybe he will like chunks better than pate)
Chicken Chunks/Gravy- avoderm
since you already feed friskies
Chunky Chicken&Turkey Casserole/B. Rice/Greens (friskies) 9-
friskies, Tuna in Sauce 8, Tuna & Egg in Sauce

found this thread with discussion on the whiskas pouches you mentioned the other day.http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=10738 if that helps

and you know the usual enticers..have you tried warming it? tuna juice?
I'm surprised he doesn't like the Fortiflora since that is what is baked into the kibble he is addicted to.

53 is a great number! didn't warrant insulin. Good news:...he has a girlfriend and is getting more comfy. But yes he does need to eat.
I wouldn't resort to dry either..but you may have to do the smorgasbord for awhile to figure out what he likes. He may not even know yet.
I also bet you are right that if he was used to being able to graze, then that is probably affecting his intake. I have a civvie with this problem. I have to stand hover or he won't stand a chance with Hank who is a hoover. I also have to sneak him some more when Hank is asleep or in another room

It all looks awesome to me- you are doing an incredible job. it's not even been a week. Look at how far he has come. These are great numbers.
You have to deal with it as it comes just as you said.
and he'll like some LC..you may just not have found his fave variety yet.
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51

With Autumn I wouldn't bat an eyelash at shooting a 51 because I know her inside and out, backwards and forwards. And know she will rise for a good 5 hours before onset and will let me know if she needs to eat. Plus she's never met a can of food she didn't like. lol

But Casey is a whole different ball of fur. Poor guy been through so much in a short period of time his head has to be reeling. He's got to be under the same stress right now as if he was sitting in a vet's office. I won't shoot under 200 on a vet stressed cat and can't do it to him.

Watching him last night and this morning I'm pretty sure the tummy is upset, he's doing a lot of lip licking and had some of the biggest poops I've ever seen from a cat and they can peel paint. So going to see if I can get some pepcid and Miralax in him. Maybe if I can settle the tummy he'll be more receptive to eating. It wouldn't surprise me as over fed as he was that I have a bit of megacolon to contend with as well.

Lord knows this zoo can be overwhelming to a cat that's use to living with multiples let alone a guy that's only had his littermate brother for 8 years. Heck this zoo can be overwhelming for the beans occasionally. lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51

..plus he probably misses his brother too ..was thinking about that. :cry:

so meant to ask- what happened last night PM- did you shoot?...nothing filled in on SS.
is this 51 after skipped shot last night too? did he go low in PM?

I realize I must not understand LEV, but what was the 201@+3 doing in the middle of a 153 and 98?..looks like a strange curve to me.

I don't know about not shooting under 200- that seems drastic....since he mostly seems to be responding so well. But you have great instincts and will know best.
It just looked like he might work his way right down the ladder and you love seeing that momentum. plus he must feel so much better in those better numbers.

Are you in contact with the former DD?...was there maybe another canned he was eating pre-dry that was not gravy laden that you might be able to rotate in? maybe something familiar to help the transition. My ultra finicky civvie will always eat boiled chicken..but that does not a meal make. Can't hurt to supplement though. Anyway, I know its hard to see that but he will come around. You are tuned in and he will figure out how to let you know,. But as always, as I keep saying it would sure help if they could talk. ;-)
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51

Oops must have forgotten to fill in his spreadsheet last night. But yes I did shoot.

Yeah Lev curves look a lot different than Lantus. With the 3 that I've had on Levemir onset is roughly+5 and nadir is roughly about +10-11 Autumn's curve is more bell shaped than a smiley

We'll get him straightened out. If he isn't eating better after Thanksgiving I planned on seeing if DD knows what he was eating before the MD

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51,+6-269 We Have Eating:-)

Finally found a combination he'll eat. Not ideal but a starting point. It took Special Kitty pouches with gravy, chopped sardines and LC Friskies. Now to work on upping the Friskies and lowering the gravy stuff.

Also shot a .5u since he's taking off for the races, but at least I know he has food in his belly.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51,+6-269 We Have Eating:-)

So was he eating nothing before!

I cannot find any info for special kitty pouches or otherwise on food charts. Found this thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...&p=437589&hilit=special+kitty+pouches#p437589 She says it's 10% which she sourced form another site. though not sure if accurate/verified- do with it as you will.
But if that is 10% and the whickas pouches 8-9% then you really are fine just in the high end of LC. Let him eat away.

LC FF juice is always a hit here. Hank will eat anything with that poured on it...I use that when he gets finicky and turns his nose up at something.
Casey doesn't need to know it is LC 'gravy' :lol:
He is training you to offer many options.... If he likes the sardines I bet tuna juice will go a long way. or tuna cat food.
And I still say 10 seconds in the micro makes a difference..its all more mouse temp and smellier.

I am just glad he is eating. I didn't realize he was eating none. You may not have to work very hard on the diet. Did you weigh him?

So gave .50..that sort of wrecks your schedule. So you will be on a 2:45 12/12- blech!! glad you were able to shoot. he clearly needs it and will be better to not have to lose momentum.

all this and a girlfriend in less than a week!! progress continues.
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51,+6-269 We Have Eating:-)

Well he was eating just not enough. He was maybe eating an ounce or two if that. Afterall he's a 27lb cat on a 16lb cat frame. Yes he needs to lose but not so fast he ends up with HL.

Tuna is a no go, so was Whitefish and Tuna and salmon in both the pouches and Friskies. Warming did nothing for him either, even turned up his nose at parm cheese. So far the menu consists of Sardine & Mackrel Whiska pouches and Special Kitty pouches poultry. Pickiest boy for half a ton of fun. :lol:

We'll get there he isn't my first rodeo and I doubt he'll be my last. It took nearly six years to find the combination the drooler will always eat so I don't give up easily. ohmygod_smile

Wonder if he'll like turkey tomorrow. :roll:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51,+6-269 We Have Eating:-)

Hi Mel,
Sorry to read about the food trials. I have a go-to food that Rusty adores and will always eat: Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets Classic pate (3% carbs, officially, but it may be a bit higher). Have you tried that one?
Happy Thanksgiving!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51,+6-269 We Have Eating:-)

I've been out of town and haven't been following Casey's saga. From what it sounds like, Casey isn't a big fan of the pate style foods? If not, you might try Weruva. They are pretty low in calories, many are LC, and they are chunky or shreds. They may be an option.
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51,+6-269 We Have Eating:-)

Hi Sienne,

Let me recap and catch you up to speed and the bounce something off you.

Okay Casey is a new foster I picked him up last Wednesday at 4:00p.m. He's been grossly overdosed for as near as I can tell about a year. For sure the last 6 months that he was on 11u b.I.d.of Levemir. Being shot blind.

Supposedly he was on canned diet before dx but vet put him on dry M/D or W/D previous owner wasn't sure but its a green and white bag and prescription Science Diet. He and his brother have been living in a basement room for a year. After original owner had a heart attack and DS and DIL took over care. DS is hyper allergic, so DIL was care taker. He currently weighs 27lbs on a 17lbs frame.

Up until today I would have said he wasn't found of food period, except for certain flavors. Then I started noticing if I sat with him he would eat the pate even mixed with water which he was shunning. But if I left him in his room alone he stopped eating. I'm think he might be a social eater since he's had his littermate brother with him for 8 years as his only feline companion.

So here's what I'm thinking my little 2 year old siamese mix Arabella is absolutely determined to befriend him and he needs someone to bond with. So if I start feeding her with him but at opposite ends of the room with me supervising so she doesn't crowd him. Then slowly move them closer together until they are either sharing a dish or at least side by side then I shouldn't have to remain the mealtime company. Does that make sense? And sound at all feasible?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51,+6-269, pmps/+6-99 We Have Eating:-)

I think it makes perfect sense! It sounds like a great idea.

A couple of other thoughts. You might give Casey a stuffed animal. He may be used to cuddling with his littermate and something fuzzy, until he integrates into your gang may, may help him to adjust.

How about giving him a radio? Sound may also help. I know with puppies, putting a clock that ticks audibly in with their bedding may also help with adjustment. (It sounds like the heart beats of mom or sibs.
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51,+6-269, pmps/+6-99 We Have Eating:-)

Oh yeah forgot to mention the other complicating factor is the weekend before I got him DH brought home a 10 week old kitten his coworkers found in the dumpster then lost in the shop's garage and then refound after she road round trip 45 minutes each way to the job site and back in the glove box of the work truck. And she is getting fed and still sleeping in the kennel that I normally use to intergrate. So Casey has everyone in the bedroom off the bathroom. No real way to isolate him although for the most part they ignore him but he does have them in close proximity all day.

But a stuffed toy makes sense and something I hadn't thought of or at least a fuzzy cubby hole like a fleece lined condo that I think is still in the basement.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51,+6-269, pmps/+6-99 We Have Eating:-)

Well he did like Mariposa's condo..so he may like the fizzier one.
But wasn't he already cuddling with Arabella..I thought I recalled you saying that.
or at least she was cuddling with him..is he receptive?

Are you saying she might not leave him be to eat if you were not in the room?
My civvie does not like to be isolated to eat...but hank will try to eat his food unless i intervene.

It sounds like she could be his companion pretty readily. And again it breaks my heart because aside form being freaked out on a million other levels,
i think he has to be depressed missing his brother. Sure you don't need ONE more? Whats the diff in 17 or 18, really??????

where did you say the brother is?
 
Re: 11/27 Casey ambg-51,+6-269, pmps/+6-99 We Have Eating:-)

Well he's not opposed to it but can't really say he feels the same about her yet. lol But you have to know Arabella she is 4lbs of pure moxy. If you'd ask her she's Bast herself. lol And being meezer she well how to say this with love and affection...she's umm VOCAL!!! And can make noises unknown to most of cat kind. lol

It isn't so much that she wouldn't let him eat as she would charge in and want to be his BFF immediately. He's a fairly shy guy and she'd rush the friendship because she believes everyone loves her. Why wouldn't they she's cute and adorable.

Brother was adopted by another private party the day before I got the call about Casey. I don't need the 16 I have now. But apparently my bridge kitties think otherwise

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
He's still dropping at +9 but he has food out and he's eaten a good amount at dinner. So I'm skipping tonight. I'll start him back on time in the morning, but thinking of reducing him down to .5 since its dropping nicely today.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
It's all pretty....
yeah that sounds like a plan...you don't want to be shooting at that whacky hour. This will get you back to a better schedule.
Glad to hear he at well tonight. These are such nice numbers..I might go maybe .75? If eating was the concern and he's eating again it doesn't seem there's the issue. It's possible he hasn't nadired..but so far he is not near low territory. He seemed to like this dose today. Whatever.. will be watching and pulling for him. We just want him to be happy and feel good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top