11/26 Star Cat PMPS 162, +1.5~151

Status
Not open for further replies.

treehousemom

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30643

Good morning LL!

Thank you to everyone who stayed with us last night.

Star cat had a good night.

I had some middle of the night children needing mama stuff last night ~O) ~O) ~O)

Star cat did get up to eat once or twice.

She was 141 at the AMPS this morning.

Would you think I should go back to the 1U on that? I will be home most of today to monitor.
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat AMPS 141

You might want to do a .75 instead of the 1.00.
Wait and see if anyone else can advise tho. I am not an expert.
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat AMPS 141

Thanks Lori. I like that idea but can wait a few more minutes to see who's around this morning.
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat AMPS 141 dose advice

I would go back to your original 1.0u dose but do monitor carefully. Please get a +1 and a +2. However, do you have strips and HC in the house just in case they are needed? If not, I'd reduce the dose.
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat AMPS 141, +1 167

Star cat had her LC breakfast, now at the +1 is 167.

Tried warming her ear with her new rice sock, but she was still pissy with me. She's really getting mad at so many frequent ear pricks. :sad:

We've been doing ear pricks for a year with hardly any notice from her, but the new regiment has her noticing, that's for sure!

I thought the ear sock was cute though! ;-)
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat AMPS 141, +1 167, +3 152

Totally off topic, but cute:

My other cat has taken over the warm rice sock and is snuggling it!!!!!!!! Cute kitties are my favorite!!! :-D
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat AMPS 141, +1 167, +3 152

morning Rebecca - that is a cute image - kitty snuggling with a rice sock. love it. :-D
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat AMPS 141, +1 167, +3 152, +7 137

Hi Rebecca, nice blue surf today! Could you get a +11 and post it so we can see where Star Cat is heading for PMPS? I'd like to have a bit of time to take a look and talk about dose, without having you delay, if possible.

Cute about the kitty cuddling with the rice sock! :lol:
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat AMPS 141, +1 167, +3 152, +7 137

That's one Beautiful daY!! Looking like Star is doing very very well!! And you are doing a good job...Hope the eve number is as good as these-Have a good night :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat AMPS 141, +1 167, +3 152, +7 137

Laurie,

Great idea. I will get the +11 in about 25 minutes...look for her update. She just ate a little LC, maybe 10 minutes ago.

Wow has she had a nice day. Happy kitty!
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

Rebecca, since you cut out the dry food, the 1.0u dose is dropping her numbers too much to be able to shoot every 12 hours. You're having to skip shots, and that is creating a yo yo effect. I think it makes sense to reduce her dose so that you can shoot consistently. How would you feel about continuing the 0.75u dose?
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

I'm fully on board with that Laurie.

She's fine in the blues for another night. I can see what tomorrow brings if we feel she needs a green surf.

I really don't want her to yo yo again. With the canned food and the lower numbers, I can't believe the nice change I'm seeing in her! Her water intake is back to normal, potty schedule is like a normal cat again. Amazing. I think her fur is even softer, is that possible?

I'll shoot the .75 in 10 minutes.

Many thanks.
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

I agree with Laurie. The 0.75u gave you a very pretty blue surf and there will be a little less residual shed action tonight.
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

Rebecca
What a great day for Star Cat today. You are in good hands.
Good luck with that .75!!!
Great job last night.
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

Rebecca, just keep in mind that the 0.75u may drop her into the greens again, even tonight....so please make sure you continue to monitor her. Also, those little meals in the beginning of the cycle are a good way to help control her drop...did you see that idea in last night's condo?
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

Yes, I will keep an eye on her. I will give some meals. She's not had anything substantial since mid day.

You all are the BEST. Did you know that???

Shooting now...
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

Sienne and Gabby said:
I agree with Laurie. The 0.75u gave you a very pretty blue surf and there will be a little less residual shed action tonight.

Can you explain what residual shed action means?
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

Absolutely!!

Make sure you read over the sticky on the shed. That will help. It can be a hard concept to wrap your head around but once you do, it makes understanding Lantus a lot easier.

The shed is like a reservoir. The first week or so that a cat is on Lantus, not all of the insulin you're shooting is actually working directly on lowering BG levels. Instead, a small amount goes into the reservoir (or more technically, the depot) or shed. This reservoir builds up under the skin. Once the shed is filled, it helps to give Lantus its overlap between doses and its long duration. As a result, when you raise a dose, you need to fill the shed to the new dose. This may take a cycle or two. Conversely, when you lower the dose, there is still more insulin than what you're shooting in the shed since it's been 'built' based on the previous, higher dose. For many cats, when you lower the dose, you still see low green numbers in the next cycle due to the residual amount of Lantus that's still in the shed. It can take a cycle or so for the level of Lantus to drop to the newly lowered dose. Essentially, the shed has to play catch up whenever you change a dose.

(I hope that's clear!)
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

So when you're saying residual shed action, you're saying the numbers tonight may be more true to what a .75 really acts like with her, due to the shed having a little time to catch up now.

Correct?
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

It is a tough concept to grab - at least, it was for me. A percentage of each dose forms micro-crystals under the skin, which allow for very slow and sustained release. It is what makes Lantus last for 12 hours. But when you lower Star's dose, the micro-crystals are still there from her former dose and it takes a cycle or two for her "storage depot" to get smaller so you continue to get some action from her 1.0u dose for a couple more cycles. We refer to it as "draining the shed" with the microcrystals termed as the "storage shed" or just the "shed."

That's why Laurie wants you to be vigilant again tonight even though it will be Star's second dose at the .75u.

clear as mud? :lol:
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

I have an art brain, this "shed" concept feels a lot like math to me.... :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/26 Star Cat +11~ 162

:lol: :lol: no math. you just learn about it, absorb that a dose decrease takes several cycles to see what it is really doing to her BG and keep it in the back of your mind as you and Star go forward. Math makes me glaze over a little myself.
 
Star had a nice treat of Thanksgiving turkey while mama bean was having leftovers. She also had a bit of LC right after shot time. She's 151 now at the +1.5

Yes, Kim I was being a bit silly. I am slowly getting all the great info here in LL. I think between so many good teachers, and my good patient, it's going to work out just fine.
 
So glad you did the .75 today. Everything looks really good for this soon.
I hope tomorrows numbers are just as good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top