11/26 PMPS 149, +134

Status
Not open for further replies.

OphiesMom

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL!

Ophie is back to her usual self and is a happy kitty, hanging with the family again. Her bgs continue to creep up on this lower dose, so I think I should probably put her back up to 1.25. I am talking to the vet late this afternoon, as it's been a while. I want to fill her in on my strategy and see what she thinks.

I won't be around much today again, gearing up for Turkey day. The guests start to arrive today (gulp!), so the chaos arrives as well. I've been so focused on Ophie for the last couple weeks, I haven't done anything to get ready :o :lol: .

Wishing all a great day!
 
Re: 11/26 AMPS 241

Morning Joely ~O) ~O) ~O) ...

So happy to hear Ophie is back to normal self :smile: No advise on dosage, but I'm sure others will weigh in as the day progresses .

Good luck with your cooking today and getting ready for your guests.
Hope you have GREAT day!
 
Re: 11/26 AMPS 241

I'm glad Ophie is back to her normal, happy self. Good luck with whatever you decide on the dose and getting things ready for Thanksgiving.
 
Re: 11/26 AMPS 241

Good morning Joely ~O) ~O) Coffee is on me this fine day!

Yikes on the guests arriving today! I imagine you are going to have a 'hair back' day of getting prepared! :o So great Ophie is out mingling just in time for Turkey Day!! That will make everything run so much smoother for you ;-) Well, at least a bit.. :lol: You can come down a bit too Ophie, nice and easy girl :-D

I don't give dosing advice, but just from peeking on your ss it looks to me like she is getting good nadirs on this dose (remember that Lantus is dosed by the nadir not the preshot number). Be prepared to hang onto this dose a while longer. I copied a snippet for you and bolded the part I think fits the bill here.

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
Please ask for advice.

Hope you get all your running around and prep done for this visit! Talk to you soon!!!
 
Thanks you so much Rise and Carla! Hope you're both having good days!

And, Kim, thank you so much for the article on dosing. Sooo very helpful, and save me some serious time by digging it up. I was just reading your condo and wow, I hope Twice gets to surfing tonight. You're doing great, in case you didn't already know :-D.

Yes, I've have a crazy hair back day and my (tiny) house is now filled to the brim with guests (including a drooler... Ophie is not so pleased, but is making the best of it)... so you won't see me posting probably until everyone leaves on Sunday. Oye! The holidays are here :o !!

Sending good healing thoughts to all tonight...
 
Nice PMPS for Ophie. I hope she surfs for you tonight. I can see why Ophie is not pleased about the drooler. I just want to say I hope you have a great Thanksgiving in case you don't get to post for a while.
 
you're reminding me that i need to move the sheets from the washer to the dryer and then make 3 beds before the kids all get home tomorrow.

ophie is looking great!
 
Wow! Ophie's having a beautiful surf...and with a drooler hanging around! :-D Looks like she's really liking this dose and it is in such a nice healing area. Keep it up Ophie! Wonderful job Joely, you are very in tune with her :-D :-D
 
you know, looking at ophie's ss, i think i would go back up to 1.25u. your goal is to stay under 120. i think that reduction from 1.5u to 1.0u was just a little too much of a decrease, although i understand entirely why you did it. but going down the dosing scale per the protocol would've had you reduce to 1.25u. the goal in a reduction is to continue getting the same numbers you were getting pre-reduction (not to the point of low numbers, like 40's or under, but good green numbers) with a lower dose.

if you reduce the dose and you don't continue getting good numbers, then you would call that a failed reduction and go back up in dose.

his numbers aren't bad, but they are in a higher range than your target range is.

does that make one iota of sense?

however, with a house full of company and a holiday i don't know if you are up for that . . . so it's up to you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top