11/26 Noodle AMPS 275 Third day on Levemir

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
When Noodle was hospitalized this week with DKA he was given Humulin R to bring his BG down. The vet also switched him, with my consent, to a trial of Levemir since he had seen so little movement on the 4+ months of Lantus. He is on 2.5U of the Lev (was on 3.5 of Lantus.) While we are still in the very early days, the overall change in his behavior is amazing. He is much more affectionate, not growly at shot time and doesn't crawl off to be by himself. We are hopeful that he will be one of those cats that Levemir works for. Thanks to all who offered words of support and advice and Happy Thanksgiving to two-legged and four-legged friends alike :smile:

Christi
P.S. Is it better for me to post over in Levemir now or can I stay here?
 
Christi the Lev ISG is pretty much a waste land anymore as most of the folks that once posted there no longer have a sugarcat and the rest of us have moved to either TR or here on Relaxed. Actually I think we have more Lev cats over here than we do Lantus cats or at least as many. I, personally, haven't used Lantus in 4 years but have a ton of experience with Levemir. Musette (ga), Autumn and Cassanova are all Lev kitties.

And yep, the change in Autumn's purrsonality went from nasty at shot time to sweet as cotton candy by just taking her off Lantus and putting her on Levemir. It's been the magic bullet for her that's for sure.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Hi Mel,
I'm so happy to know about all the Lev users here and so glad I can stay :smile: And I also know of your wide experience using Lev so will be glad to be able to tap into that, as this is very new to me and Noodle. I had looked around briefly on the Lev ISG and many of the posts were older, so it looked like there wasn't much action there. Noodle's personality change has been delightful, just like you had mentioned with Autumn. I hope it works to get his BG into line too. Thanks for all you contribute to this forum--so glad to have you on Noodle's side :smile:

Christi
 
Christie

Great update. Hope things continue to go okay. Interesting about the improvement with lev. I read a thread by Kpassa about the different effect on cats in the meta forum (I think).
 
Thanks, phlika29. I know it's early yet but I'm cautiously optimistic about the Lev. About a month after I joined the forum I made a post asking if anyone else had noticed a personality change with their cat on Lantus. KPassa was one of the very first to respond and tell me her cat acted the same way as Noodle so I've had that in the back of my mind as I've seen him get more withdrawn the higher the dose got. I know probably the majority of cats have great luck on Lantus. Noodle is sensitive to virtually every med so maybe that explains his overreaction to this hormone. Thanks for your response :smile:

Christi
 
Thanks so much, April. I know it's a little early to be doing a jig but it sure is nice to have my cuddly kitty back. Now if it'll just bring the BG numbers down. Paws and fingers crossed. ;-) It looks like Maddy is doing really well with the blues and greens. I dream of the day Noodle is in those numbers!

Christi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top