11/26 Nico Amps- 193, +2- 145,+4- 78,+8.5- 163, pmps- 144,+4- 102

78! Was 55 on his human meter. I'm trying to get the hang of the human one to switch eventually. Usually +4 is his nadir, and those are the numbers we want.
My only concern is, was that due to his 3.75 depot? Or the reduction to 3.5? Guess time will see? But I'm so thrilled! Thank you to everyone that's helped us. I know we're not out of the woods, but it's due to everyone here that we've finally seen blues and greens.
God bless you all and I hope you know how special each and every one of you.🥰🐾
 
Beautiful cycle💚
Glad you’re learning to use the Relion meter well.
Which meter are you using to make decisions on a reduction?
(If using the alpha track, then Nico earned a reduction going under 90).

This is where it gets a little tricky I think.

He’s doing so well and so are you! 🥰😻💖🌊🏄‍♂️
 
Beautiful cycle💚
Glad you’re learning to use the Relion meter well.
Which meter are you using to make decisions on a reduction?
(If using the alpha track, then Nico earned a reduction going under 90).

This is where it gets a little tricky I think.

He’s doing so well and so are you! 🥰😻💖🌊🏄‍♂️
Why would under 90 be a reduction? Isn't that the SLGS reduction threshold on human meters?
If @Tyleete is doing TR with a pet meter isn't 68 the reduction threshold?
 
Beautiful cycle💚
Glad you’re learning to use the Relion meter well.
Which meter are you using to make decisions on a reduction?
(If using the alpha track, then Nico earned a reduction going under 90).

This is where it gets a little tricky I think.

He’s doing so well and so are you! 🥰😻💖🌊🏄‍♂️
Aw, crow.
I'm using the pet test meter by advocate, and their numbers are different than the AT3. Their normal numbers said 75-150, whereas PT are 75-120. He just had a reduction yesterday. Am I supposed to get again? We're still not sure if he's going to need the original 3.75 like I thought, or it's the 3.5 doing the trick, due to the depot. I fear the idea of keep dropping and losing all the progress we've made. Especially when neither 3.5 or lower helped him before.🫣
 
He did not earn another reduction, you are following TR for dosing and the reduction point is 68 on an AT, though you are using a slightly higher number for the Pet Advocate meter (76). And he didn't go under that either. Besides which, he just earned a reduction, this is likely the depot of the 3.75 units dose talking. With TR we don't take back to back reductions, unless below 40 (on a human meter). No clue what that is on the Pet Advocate. But glad to hear you are getting more comfy with the human meter as a backup.
 
He did not earn another reduction, you are following TR for dosing and the reduction point is 68 on an AT, though you are using a slightly higher number for the Pet Advocate meter (76). And he didn't go under that either. Besides which, he just earned a reduction, this is likely the depot of the 3.75 units dose talking. With TR we don't take back to back reductions, unless below 40 (on a human meter). No clue what that is on the Pet Advocate. But glad to hear you are getting more comfy with the human meter as a backup.
Oh thank goodness! I really didn't want to drop it. I think I'll probably keep with the pet one till he's definitely at a good place and can then do a curve to show his doc. Then I can say godbye to $75 for 150 test strips!
By the way, I'm lost on the food now. The vet got back to me and said 9 or 10lbs is his ideal weight. Personally I liked the 9 better, but most of my cats are 10lb and healthy.
She said today that I should be only feeding him 3oz a day? If his cooked chicken? But the package clearly says it's 1 30 calories for a 4oz serving. I mean, technically he only gets 4oz of cooked now (I weigh it raw and in cooking 2oz goes into the pan with the water), but he's still usually hungry. :/
 
Use your pet scale to see how much he should be eating. 3 oz sounds low.
How does my pet scale tell me? And it's just a baby scale I use for them. What I've gleaned online says 20 calories for every pound, making him 200. Even 180 if I aim back for 9lbs.
The package label on his chicken says a serving size is 4oz. Is that raw or cooked? Because that will make a large difference. If that's 130 calories raw, then after cooked (which is how I serve it), it would be approximately 3.32oz, and I would be feeding just a little less than I do now which is 4oz once cooked . But if it's 130 calories cooked, then I should be feeding him approximately 5.1oz cooked, instead of 4oz now. I'm just so worried, as I don't want him to continue gaining weight. He lost it the hard way, but I don't want it to be for nothing. If he goes over 10 he's going to be overweight again. :(
 
The pet/baby scale tells you if he's gaining, losing, or maintaining weight on what you are feeding him. Tells you if you need to change the amount of food you are feeding him to get him to a weight you want. Neko ate around 125gms or 4 oz a day and that maintained her around 14.5 lbs. Every Cat is Different. The package label is a good starting point, but different metabolisms and activity levels mean what a cat needs to eat can vary by cat.

Nice cycle today. Two preshots in blues with a touch of green in the middle. That's a first for him.
 
For human use, outside of the fridge, that seems about right.
People here have been using them on kitties for up to 6 months, when stored in the fridge.

Check the "How long will my insulin last" answers here
Thank you for that. I had used the search bar and put in how long will Glargine vial last got, and got nothing.
There is 1 part though that is contradicting to what I've seen online. It says do NOT roll the Glargine vial. Everywhere I saw online including YouTube videos, it says to gently roll the vial between your fingers. That's what I've been doing from the start. Which is right and if rolling was wrong, it's my bottle still ok? It's still clear and no particles.
 
The pet/baby scale tells you if he's gaining, losing, or maintaining weight on what you are feeding him. Tells you if you need to change the amount of food you are feeding him to get him to a weight you want. Neko ate around 125gms or 4 oz a day and that maintained her around 14.5 lbs. Every Cat is Different. The package label is a good starting point, but different metabolisms and activity levels mean what a cat needs to eat can vary by cat.

Nice cycle today. Two preshots in blues with a touch of green in the middle. That's a first for him.
I know! I was so excited with his cycle today! I just worry that it was the 3.75 that got him there and once that's out of his system, he might go up again. I guess there's nothing to do but wait and see.
So, he doesn't have to have 180-200 calories per day? I won't be harming his body?
And thank you for explaining that with the scale. Here's to hoping for another beautiful day. Happy early turkey day!
 
Thank you for that. I had used the search bar and put in how long will Glargine vial last got, and got nothing.
There is 1 part though that is contradicting to what I've seen online. It says do NOT roll the Glargine vial. Everywhere I saw online including YouTube videos, it says to gently roll the vial between your fingers. That's what I've been doing from the start. Which is right and if rolling was wrong, it's my bottle still ok? It's still clear and no particles.
I've never done that with Lantus, I only did it with Vetsulin, and as far as I know you should not do that.
 
Thank you for that. I had used the search bar and put in how long will Glargine vial last got, and got nothing.
There is 1 part though that is contradicting to what I've seen online. It says do NOT roll the Glargine vial. Everywhere I saw online including YouTube videos, it says to gently roll the vial between your fingers. That's what I've been doing from the start. Which is right and if rolling was wrong, it's my bottle still ok? It's still clear and no particles.
Here are the directions for handling Lantus vials. You don’t shake or roll the vial. Sticky - Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing
 
Oh thank goodness! I really didn't want to drop it. I think I'll probably keep with the pet one till he's definitely at a good place and can then do a curve to show his doc. Then I can say godbye to $75 for 150 test strips!
By the way, I'm lost on the food now. The vet got back to me and said 9 or 10lbs is his ideal weight. Personally I liked the 9 better, but most of my cats are 10lb and healthy.
She said today that I should be only feeding him 3oz a day? If his cooked chicken? But the package clearly says it's 1 30 calories for a 4oz serving. I mean, technically he only gets 4oz of cooked now (I weigh it raw and in cooking 2oz goes into the pan with the water), but he's still usually hungry. :/
My apologies, I didn’t catch you are following TR, so as Wendy pointed out Nico didn’t earn a reduction!

And don’t roll the glargine vial!
Great questions!! It’s always best to ask if you’re unsure 😊
Happy Thanksgiving 🦃
 
My apologies, I didn’t catch you are following TR, so as Wendy pointed out Nico didn’t earn a reduction!

And don’t roll the glargine vial!
Great questions!! It’s always best to ask if you’re unsure 😊
Happy Thanksgiving 🦃
Happy turkey day to you too!
If I get a chance between chores and Nico today, I might just go outside to sit and feed the fish. We built a 22x15' pound with waterfall for the raccoons, and ended up adding some smaller (all under a foot) fish and it's so very peaceful out there. Haven't had much time to just sit and enjoy much lately.
 
Happy turkey day to you too!
If I get a chance between chores and Nico today, I might just go outside to sit and feed the fish. We built a 22x15' pound with waterfall for the raccoons, and ended up adding some smaller (all under a foot) fish and it's so very peaceful out there. Haven't had much time to just sit and enjoy much lately.
Sounds like a perfect plan!
💖😻🌊🏄‍♂️
 
Back
Top