11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 113 +2 212 +4 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mocha'sMom

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=108829

I took Mocha's BG at 7:00 and got 188 so I immediately toolkit again and got 183. I fed him and staled till 7:30, tested him again and got 189. So, I gave him 1.25U, 100's are good numbers. I seem to be getting really weird numbers. My mom admitted to dropping our OneTouch the other day, and I am wondering if it's related? Could dropping it have affected it's accuracy?

Oh yes, and we got our first solid poop today! Yay! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189

Looking great here, and woohooo for solid poo!!!! Keep that up, Mocha! Those are definitely very nice numbers to start with. One thing to keep in mind about stalling: you actually don't want to feed if you're stalling. The reason for that is because the food will influence the number you get, and you want to be sure that you are shooting a fasting number, because once the food wears off and the insulin kicks in, you could have a kitty whose BGs drop really quickly. Given Mocha's track record, I would feel pretty confident that he's safe today, but I just wanted you to be aware of that for future reference.

I doubt dropping the meter is affect the numbers...I'd be way more suspicious of the repackaged Lantus. And, of course, there's always the fact that FD can be very fickle anyway. There are some kitties who are just always all over the map...it's just how it is.

Have a great day, guys!
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189

Yeah Mocha for solid poopy :RAHCAT flip_cat :RAHCAT

Since u r still getting a reading and not an error or odd symbols or something , my bet is the monitor is OK.

Hope u guys have a GREAT Tuesday !!!
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189

FWIW, on this Board, if you are new to using Lantus, we use 150 as your "post and ask for help" number. You would be fine without having to stall with your first pre-shot test. Since this is the lowest you've shot, you want to get early tests (i.e., a +1 and +2).
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96

Just took Mocha's PMPS twice to be sure I got a good reading, first one was 101, second one was 96. Okay, so he is below the 150 newbie line. What kind of dose should I give him? I can stall 15 mins and recheck, but I doubt it will go up much.
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

Stall 20 minutes, don't feed, and let's see where Mocha is at


Did you shoot this morning? Your spreadsheet doesn't say
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

Just retested, and got a 90 and a 99 nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

I'd stall another 20 if at all possible, but remember, if you stall, you have to be able to move your schedule back for AMPS too

Questions to ask...Do you have plenty of test strips? Do you have high carb food and/or Karo? Can you move your schedule back? If so, how far? Can you stay up tonight IF it's necessary?
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

If I move the AMPS shot back, can a move it up again at some point? 7:00 is the safest time so that either me or my mom will be able to get him his shot. I have about 25 test strips right now. Plenty of hi carb food on hand (Thank RF cat Pepper) and karo syrup. I can get up every hour tonight if need be. Would it be better for me to just skip tonight's dose? Or do a half dose? Also, he really needs to get his thyroid medicine soon (most effective if given every 12 hrs) and that goes in food...
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

You can move your shooting schedule 15 minutes per cycle, or 30 minutes per day, so if you stall for an hour tonight, tomorrow morning you can shoot 45 minutes late, then 30 minutes at PM, 15 minutes late at next AMPS and then you're back on schedule (for 15 min per cycle)

For 30 minutes per day, you could shoot 30 minutes late tomorrow and then the next day you're back on schedule...either way works out about the same but you'll be able to get back on schedule pretty quickly

Example: normal schedule 6am/6pm

Stall for 1 hour at PM...next day AMPS at 6:45am, PMPS at 6:30pm, then 6:15am, back to 6pm
OR stall for 1 hr... AMPS at 7am, PMPS at 6:30pm, AMPS at 6:30am, then back to 6pm

Edited to add..If at all possible, we don't want to skip, so if the next test is a rising number, go ahead and shoot the 1.25...If you're still a little concerned about shooting that much, you can always take a BCS (big chicken shot) and give less just to keep from losing all momentum
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

It was a rising number, but I am still going to do a BCS of .5U. Wow I really can't believe these numbers... :shock:
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

How about a 1 unit BCS instead? We really don't want to lose the momentum if at all possible...or even a .75

I see you already shot...pretty much, as soon as you get a rising number, it's fine to go ahead and shoot the normal dose because it's going to keep rising as the food spike hits and the last dose "wears off" so to speak, but you hold the syringe, so you have to do what's most comfortable for you!

I'd get a +1 or +2 tonight to check on Mocha and see what you get :-D

We have a saying here "You shoot low to stay low" which means that you'll need to learn to be comfortable shooting lower and lower numbers. The idea is to keep them in those pancreas healing numbers as much time as possible. So far, the lowest I've ever shot was a 59, but I know some who've shot as low as 50.

Once you become more familiar with how Mocha responds to both insulin and food, you'll learn to shoot those lower numbers too!
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

Ummm...well the .5U is already in him. Is it bad to do an additional shot for the other .25-.5?
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

No, don't do another shot at this point since it's never 100% that the first one was exactly .5

We'll just ride it out, but since you did a BCS dose, the 6 cycle "time clock" starts over again, so tomorrow morning, you'd give the 1.25 again and hold it for at least 6 cycles unless Mocha earns a reduction
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

Chris & China said:
We have a saying here "You shoot low to stay low" which means that you'll need to learn to be comfortable shooting lower and lower numbers. The idea is to keep them in those pancreas healing numbers as much time as possible. So far, the lowest I've ever shot was a 59, but I know some who've shot as low as 50.

Once you become more familiar with how Mocha responds to both insulin and food, you'll learn to shoot those lower numbers too!

Yea, I have a long way to go. :? Thank you for your coaching through this :smile: I will make notes for the next time so I do better.
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

Happy to do it!!

We've all been there and had someone holding our hand, so I'm happy to hold yours! :-D

Marje helped me through my first low shot...as soon as I reported that I had a rising number, her reply was one word...SHOOOOOOOOOT!!! :lol:

Get a +1 or +2 and we'll see how he's doing
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

So, since I shot at 8:00, then +1 & +2 would be 9:00 and 10:00.

My problem I think, was being too nervous about pushing his shot time back too far. :?
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 101/96 Dosage?

Correct...if you shoot at 8, then your +1 is at 9 and your +2 is 10pm

Don't worry about it...we're all new to this and learning at some point...this will be a good learning tool for you! :-D
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 113 +2 212

Got a +2 of 212. I will aim for a +4 & +6 but he seems to be looking good. Not real interested in food. Pepper is so sad she can't have what he rejects. :sad:
 
Re: 11/26 Mocha AMPS 189 +2 167 PMPS 113 +2 212

Glad you were able to shoot :-D

I thought I'd also pass along a few thoughts that might help you in the future.

If we stall, we shoot the full dose because a late shot acts like a dose reduction in subsequent cycles. Also, because of the depot, even with a reduced dose (BCS shot), you will most likely see the same kind of cycle as if you shot the full dose. Again, the effects of the reduced dose might be seen late in the cycle or, more likely, in the next cycle.

When you were testing Mocha and got the 101, 96, 90, and 99, I would not have stalled any longer waiting for a rising number. He was flat. What we find, in general, is that if they are flat like that (and above 50), and you have supplies and can stay up to shoot, then it's better to go ahead and shoot and feed.

Sometimes, if you don't shoot and feed when the numbers are flat, they start dropping to the point where you have to skip. So the best alternative when all the conditions above are met, is to shoot full dose on time. Then you take advantage of carryover and overlap.

Also, looking at his SS, the last time you stalled, he did the same thing....up up up.

It's a learning process. You are doing great and asking the right questions. :-D
 
I am feeling comfortable that he won't hypo. I will still set my alarm for 2:00am to put eyeballs on him, but I don't think I will test then, his ears are starting to bother him with all these tests. Poor guy :oops:

Also, thank you Marje for your advice!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top