11/26 MikeyPMPS 540 I can't take this!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128978

After last night's PJ party, I'm exhausted, despite going back to bed after AMPS and sleeping til +3.5. Good heavens! I have been assimilated! I now tell time by insulin shots! I don't have a clue what Mikey's doing here, and I don't know what to adjust next. He's not eating well today either. Mikey! Shape up!

I have a million things to do today, but I'll be home. I'm thinking I won't test too much, though, because his ears are all pricked up. If anyone things I should test at a particular time, please let me know, and I'll do that one.

I need some coffee to shake off this grumpiness! ~O)
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS +378, +3.5, 356 +6 non-urgent question

You are right.
That is some bouncing..... Mikey's body isn't used to the blues..


I notice that it only takes him a couple of hours to drop dramatically. I might check at +9 or + 10 to see if he drops from his pink
sooner than later. That's just for the data..... not because he might go low.

The more blue the better.....so his body can get used to it again....
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS +378, +3.5, 356 +6 non-urgent question

oh mikey.

i like Rhiannon's idea of getting a late cycle test in today. Let's hope he'll coast along for a while.
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS +378, +3.5, 356 +6 non-urgent question

I can do that. I'm here all day. It's sleeting like mad. If got a pot of chicken soup on, and I'm thinking about lighting the woodstove. Mikey is dozing here by the computer. I have a pie and some cookies to bake still.
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS +378, +3.5, 356 +6, 520 +10 Yikes!

520 at +10! I don't like that at all. Is it part of the bounce? Is there anything I should do, or do I just wait it out?
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS +378, +6, 457 (bum test) +10 Yikes!

I decided that that test of 520 didn't make sense, so I retested as you all have taught me too. He's actually 457. Not great, but better than 520.
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS +378, +6, 457 (bum test) +10 Yikes!

nom nom nom.

he is being difficult. ;-) glad you were able to get a ketone test in.
 
(((Mary))), sorry Mikey is being so stubborn. The combination of the skipped shot and low numbers are the perfect storm. The results of the skip can be shown in later cycles (as last night's fur shot are for me today :roll: ). Make sure you do something for yourself tonight and get a good rest. :YMHUG:
 
I'm sorry. There's no doubt about it, this is a tough disease. Between dogs, people and cats, cats are the hardest to get regulated. Until I had punkin I never really understood why people couldn't get their diabetes under control and why they had so many problems with it. When I finally "got it" that this is a HORMONE, that made the difference. It's not like other meds where you take the same dose day after day - hormones fluctuate.

I really think these 500's tonight are bounces from last night's string of blues. Look at his spreadsheet - yesterday morning he was green and you skipped the shot, but by last night he was back in blue numbers for hours, in spite of the skipped shot.

So in roughly 15 hours he went from green to yucky red and back to blue again. Now he's at 20ish hours of high numbers, so if i were a betting person, I would bet that he's going to respond to your "i can't take it" and by late tonight or early tomorrow he'll be back in green/blue numbers.

of course, i could be wrong, but i think you won't have to take it for long. it is a frustrating disease. Just know you're doing everything you can to help him. :YMHUG:
 
sorry that Mikey is giving you the rainbow....
Rainbow_Slide_emoticon_by_HeadyMcDodd.gif


sometimes you have to sit back and look at the big picture....
overall improvement.... you are treating his condition.... and it will get better.
 
Thank you, Wendy and Julie. I decided that I need to pull up my big girl panties and deal. I'm doing everything human possible for Mikey, and I have to understand that I can't control all things. I tested for ketones and gave him a snack when he asked for it to try and wreck the ketone equation. That's all I can do. I tested and +2 and +3, I'm having a cup of tea now, then I'm heading to bed. This too shall pass.
 
and that's life with FD. And on the occasion of ridiculously high numbers, my best advice is to add an adult beverage to your tea ;-)

In the famous words of Scarlett O'Hara: "tomorrow is another day". Sleep well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top