11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55 8.75 89 pmps 207 +2 295

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55

hi paula! with that +6/55 it would be a very, very good idea to test again in 30 minutes. If more than 30 minutes have already passed, I'd test again as soon as you see this.

I'm glad you didn't increase his dose. You can see that this has been exactly 3 days from his last recorded green number on the ss. It took him 3 days from the previous green streak to clear the bounce as well.
 
Re: 11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55

I agree with Julie. If you look at this spreadsheet you can see that it has taken about 3 days to clear the bounces lately.
I would just stick with this dose for a while. And, get another test like Julie said.
 
Re: 11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55 8.75 89

Thanks, Julie & Dyana
Your explanation of the bounce from 3 days ago helps me to know what I am looking at.
It helps to cear some of the confusion.
I tested at amps 8.75 (89)
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55 8.75 89

Paula you should make a note by where you test saying, if Michaels numbers are approaching 50 testing every 30 min is needed to catch him under 50 to earn a reduction.
He may have earned a reduction today had you continued to test after that 55.
Testing and catching Michael under 50 so he can earn his reduction is a huge part of the game now.
 
Re: 11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55 8.75 89

Darin, Thanks.
Forgive me, but I'm still confused. If he is still bouncing or bounces from these low numbers, how can he earn a reduction and will it hold :?:
 
Re: 11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55 8.75 89

Anytime his numbers are under 50 that is a reduction.
Today at +6 he was 55, at 6.5 he may have been 47 which would have earned him a reduction.
The only way to tell if he is going to hold a reduction is to take the earned reduction and find out.
Michael has earned and held 4 reductions since 10/16.
Catching earned reductions is the path to remission.
 
Re: 11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55 8.75 89

I agree with Darin's explanation, Paula. It's not only important to catch him going below 50 because then it would tell you to reduce the dose, it's also important because if he goes below 50, he needs you to give him high carbs to bring him back up.

So there are 2 reasons to support the idea that every time he appears to be headed towards the 50's, you want to keep testing every half hour until he has stopped going down and you can see that his blood sugar is on the way up.

It's confusing, isn't it? The part that is extra confusing is that even if you are seeing some high numbers from bouncing, he still might need a lower dose. His dose on Lantus is determined by how LOW the dose can take him. In a certain way, you almost ignore the high numbers and focus most of your attention on the low numbers.
 
Re: 11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55 8.75 89 pmps 207

Thanks for the replies, Darin & Julie.
When he is in a low # (like 55) and test 30 mins later do I feed him before I test?
 
Re: 11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55 8.75 89 pmps 207

Darin, Julie,
I'm still confused. Sorry. Michael earned 4 reductions since 10/16 and held them. How can that be the path to remission when in the interim you raise the dose? Adjusting doses so frequently seems to me that his body doesn't have time to get use to this and would have a difficult time going into remission.
Paula :? :?
 
Re: 11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55 8.75 89 pmps 207

You do not feed until under 50, then you test and feed to stay above 50.
Remission is not his body getting use to lower numbers, remission is when his pancreas has healed to the point of not needing insulin from an outside source.
When a reduction is held it means the pancreas has healed to the point of not needing the .25 of insulin that you reduced. If a reduction fails, it means the pancreas needed some more healing.

At .75u, Michael is potentially 4 reductions from remission.
 
Re: 11/26 Michael amps 343 +6 55 8.75 89 pmps 207

Darin, thanks for the explanation. Eventually this has to sink in.
Someday you are going to make one "h" of a vet tech!
Have a Happy Thanksgiving,
Paula :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top