11/26 MAX AMPS 229+3/307+5/290+6/246+ 7/247 PMPS 370+5/240

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S REDUCIE CONDO:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128996

Max actually got down to 203 at 5.5 so likely made it into blue by nadir. Here's hoping he gets back on track today so that we can see if he will hold this mini reducie. He was sweet last night and even slept with me on the sofa. He stayed so long that I got up instead of him to go to bed! It's a treat now when he spends time with me. He has started to stay in the computer room while I read and enter info on my computer. He continues to head butt me while I try to measure insulin without bubbles and even lays on the light tracer. I might have to move it onto the desk instead of on the floor. :smile: I hate seeing the yellow but hope the bounce doesn't go any higher.

I'm thinking of all that have lost their kitties recently and hoping they begin to cry less and remember the happy times. I'm praying for Tricia that her two do not have cancer but if they do that they can be successfully treated. Give them all strength to fight whatever health challenges they face and win!!

I hope Amy's DF doesn't have many side effects from the chemo and gets to enjoy Thanksgiving and all the other holidays feeling good. Prayers for all the other kitties and beans facing health challenges right now.
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229

Elise, he's feeling better! Headbumps, hanging out with you, holding down the couch together. Oh, this makes me very happy. Now, Max, make your mamabean feel better. Work that reducie to a nice smooth, not too low surf.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+2/294+3/307

Thanks, Marilyn. I'm wondering if this is a bounce or I gave a fur shot. Time will tell I guess. First pink since October 30th. :roll:
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+2/294+3/307

hoping he holds the reduction. If he trends up, i'd go right back up without delay. I just posted this for Mike/Webster, so it's fresh in my thoughts:

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.

Especially with Max and his history of failed reductions, I wouldn't hesitate to go right back up in dose if he's not back down in greens by pmps. maybe that's too quick - you'll have to judge, but that's what i'm thinking. You wouldn't want to lose the momentum that you've worked so hard to establish.
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+2/294+3/307

Thank you Julie. That is always my big fear every time I try to reduce. It seems so fast for him to go so high that I thought perhaps he is bouncing. I'll see where he is by pmps. If he's blue I'm thinking maybe give it one more or increase a tad. It's hard to measure with the bubbles. I'm trying not to test a lot today. I'll get one at +5. Then of course I started thinking maybe I missed with the shot either today or last night. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+2/294+3/307

I saw that you weren't sure about your last shot. With Max it's hard to tell, isn't it? You just do your best . . . . it's all anyone can do. I have heard other people with their cats tightly regulated, like you have Max, say that they would increase at the first yellow test. You'll have to try things and see what works best for Max.
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+2/294+3/307

Thank you Julie. I will increase tonight unless I see green or very low blue by pmps. I don't think I will. I just can't risk all I have done to get him to this point. the last decrease he had yellow but them came back down as well as with the bounces over the last few days and it just isn't happening. If I go up and it's too much I can just try to reduce again but by even less. The darn bubbles make it so hard to be exact.
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+2/294+3/307+5/290

I'm so disappointed to see this but hopefully he will get back on track quickly tonight or tomorrow morning when I increase. He's not interested in food so I'm guessing he won't come down much.
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+2/294+3/307+5/290

I am sure Max will get back on track before you know it. Maybe he's got a bit of "reverse NDW" going on. I know NDW is only supposed to apply to increases, but Trix always took awhile to settle into any sort of adjustment, whether it was going up or coming down. And given Max's daytime numbers, it sure did look like a bounce starting last night. Since Max does hit some pretty low numbers on the 2.40u and you have to work to keep him up, and you're only two cycles into this new dose, and it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear, I might be inclined to wait another cycle before increasing. I don't mean to add to the confusion since that's different from what Julie said....just a little more food for thought, though. Good luck with whatever you decide to do, dosewise...no matter what, Max is in awesome hands!
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+2/294+3/307+5/290+6/249

Thanks, Amy for your input. The thing is Max only came down to blue with the first tiny decrease and then we saw a little yellow. This time I'm seeing high yellow and even low pink. I'm leaning toward going back up but will fret about it until pmps for sure.
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+2/294+3/307+5/290+6/246+7/247

It looks like Max is heading back down. Good luck if you decide to increase tonight. I have a hard time telling a failed reduction from a bounce.
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+3/307+5/290+6/246+7/247 PMPS 370

I wish Carla. Hopefully this is the high before he comes back to earth. Do I increase with the bounce? this is so odd I have to wonder if he got a fur shot. I think I should as I will going back to the same dose he has been on for a long time.
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+3/307+5/290+6/246+7/247 PMPS 370+3/28

very possible this is the high before the break; i know you will watch him because he might clear and come down fast tomorow plus he has a litle more insulin on board. I was also hoping to see him just take another reduction in stride.

It's great to hear he's out more and acting more affectionate with you. :-D

i hope your mom is well and you get to spend the holiday with her and your sister.
 
Re: 11/26 MAX AMPS 229+3/307+5/290+6/246+ 7/247 PMPS 370+5/2

Thank you Marje. I hope you have a nice holiday as well. I'll watch him carefully. So weird the way he reacted after all those 40's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top