11/26 Mary Grace AMPS 346 +2 299 DOSE ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning Elizabeth!!

China just got a dosecrease too and I had the same question...Why aren't her numbers better?? There is something called "New Dose Wonkiness" that could be going on..that's one of the possibilities with China too. Sometimes (for whatever reason) they just get wonky numbers until the new dose has had time to settle in.

Guess we both just need to pull those patience pants a little higher and hold on for the ride...see where our kitties take us :-D

(with China, it's also possible that she needs the dental with extractions that I was told she needed back in August but just haven't had the time or money to do it. Infections and inflammation can cause higher than normal numbers too)

Come on Mary Grace!!! Get with the program!!
 
Elizabeth, Mary Grace started off Lantus at 2 units correct? Had she ever tried 1 unit? Just wondering if the dose she is on might be a ways past her ideal dose? I was rereading your original condos last night and I might have missed it so then checked your ss and looks like 1 unit was never suggested by your vet. Let's see if anyone has an idea about her dose maybe being too high :smile:
By the way: Good Morning ~O) ~O) Hope you\re having a wonderful Tuesday so far!
 
Re: 11/26 Mary Grace AMPS 346 +2 299 PMPS 386 DOSE ?

Chris-Wonky is right! The patience pants I am wearing are torn, ripped, stretched...time for a new BLUE pair!!
Hope China starts surfing! Quit being wonky silly kitties!
Big hugs to both, hope you have had a good day so far...

Kim-She was on Prozinc for two weeks after her dx at 2 u BID. I switched her to LAntus and got a new vet after 2 weeks but she started me at 2u also. I raised her dose (before I got onto FDMB) to 2.5 about this time got on here and vet wanted to raise it to 3 after flucosmine tests. With China's bean Chris, I was able to finally master testing and did lower it to 2 u, I was too leery of going all the way to 1u when she did look and act like she felt better. That's why I wonder now if I missed that window. She never has really gotten over the overly hungry symptoms, or peeing heavily, the water consumption is still excessive but not as bad. But she keeps testing negative for keytones. But the hunger is like a wild animal look and I am feeding her in total about 3 cans ff a day!
I guess ride this surf out? Mary please give Mama some bluess!
I hope Twice got back evened out. Will go visit his condo to see.
Hope you both had a good day and that the installers weren't too stressful on Twice.
 
Thanks for checking in on us!! :-D Yes I imagine she will continue to be ravenous until her bg gets consistently lower. Even the predominant yellows with some blue levelled Twice out, but pink and red show up and back to starvin marvin he goes eating 4-5 cans/day and he is only 9lbs. I don't think you would miss the window. Just gotta find the window. And knowing if it's on the 1st floor or the 3rd would sure help wouldnt it :lol:

How was Mary Grace tonight? Besides beautiful :-D
 
Mary was a grouch-o when I got home from work. Didn't like the bs test, when she gets growly, I know shes high. But gotta be quick because her shot time is 5:45.
She is getting ready to have some yummy freeze dried ckincken for her +2 that I am getting ready to do
 
Evening Elizabeth. Here is a post on New Dose Wonkiness or NDW that Chris mentioned. We usually wait at least 6 cycles to evaluate how an increase is doing. So time to be patient for tonight and tomorrow and you can repost the question about dose before tomorrow night's PS.

It is possible for a higher dose to cause higher numbers, even without NDW. A higher dose could mean lower BG numbers than kitty is used to, which in turn could mean a bounce. When Neko first start getting blues and then greens, she often bounced up to blacks, where she had been bouncing to reds before then. :sad: It doesn't mean the BG is going too low, just lower than what kitty has become used to. As Mary Grace spends more time in blues and eventually greens, they will become the new normal.
 
Thanks Wendy, That makes me feel better, its all so logical when someone else points it out! I want Mary to swim with Neko and Twice in the lagoon!
I will read that link now.
:smile: :YMHUG:
 
i don't think her dose is too high - i think all the tests you got in the past 4 days help to answer that question. i did wonder about that, but the tests you did on 11/22, 23, 24 and 11/25 all show a curve in her cycle, it's just high. i think it's more likely we haven't hit the right dose for her yet.

you do have a bouncy kitty with a bit of a dramatic flair. she tends to drop a lot from preshot. :-D

would you mind putting an * in her spreadsheet to note when you're feeding her? sometimes working with the food schedule we can help reduce the fast drops and that can help get her blood sugar under control.
 
I also agree Mary Grace could benefit from some consistent feeding. It might be that she is one who will need to be fed mini meals and that will become more evident as she gets closer to her fitting dose. But she is already giving us a peek with those drops between PS and +2.

I'd start now with always feeding her the same amount, same carbs, and at the same time very cycle. Then we can go from there. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top