Re: 11/26 Lovey AMPS 302 +3. 25 226 +5 311? Advice Pleas
Hi Catherine,
Since you just increased the dose I think Lovey's insulin depot is still filling, plus you may have a bounce from that blue last night.
If you haven't read it yet, here is a great condo about the Lantus Depot:
What is the Insulin Depot?
Specifically to quote from that post:
How long does it take to fill or empty the depot?
Again, from Boulder Medical Center:
Size of subcutaneous depot: The variability in absorption is increased and net absorption is decreased with increasing size (number of units) injected.
Practical experience on FDMB shows that as a generalization, the depot can affect up to 6 cycles. The time tends to be less when a cat is on a smaller dose, and more when a cat is on a larger dose. Other factors can apply as well, but using the generalization of 6 cycles is a good starting point until you have learned your particular cat's patterns.
AND, also from that post:
Now you are probably asking "How on earth can I use this information to understand my cat?".
Try to look at your spreadsheet not in 12-hour cycles, but in “waves” of action over a period of several days. Look for overall trends more than individual numbers. If something jumps out and doesn’t seem to make sense, go back 2-3 days and think about any changes that might have occurred in insulin, timing, exercise, health, food, etc. If the big picture is making sense but you see one cycle that doesn’t fit, then keep that 20-50% variation in mind and just wait it out.
Also, until Lovey levels out a little more (which takes time - ECID & Lovey is still new), the more testing you do, the more swings you'll probably catch. Not all cycles are the classic "U" shape - they come in many forms, some slide up or down / \, some are upside down "N"s, regular "N"s, "W"s, some are "M"s, etc. Tigger can have "M" shaped cycles. Sometimes I think it may be the depot filling, it may be food, it may be stress / infection, it may be the dose isn't strong enough, or it may be just because :lol: The important thing is to try & discover patterns
over time that will give you more insight into Lovey's specific reponses to the insulin.
Again, I can't stress enough it's important to note what times you feed, what carb %, and how much. You can learn to 'steer' Lovey to some degree with food carb%. Again, that's something that develops over time.
You're doing a great job with Lovey, and the more testing you do, the better you will be able to see patterns develop over time. That said, each cycle is unique to some degree.
I know its hard to have patience when we want the best for our cats. Has anyone given you a pair of patience pants yet? :lol: I've already blown through a couple pair, but it helps to have them. Also to remember this is a marathon & not a sprint.