Golf2015
Member Since 2020
AMPS 345 +5.5 247 +11 113 +12 95 PMPS 101 +1 138 + 2 108 +2.5 107 +3 83 + 3.5 77 + 4 88 + 4.5 99
Previous Thread
Previous Thread
Last edited:
Happy Thanksgiving! Great to see the yellow today. I suspect he might be clearing a bounce so you might want to get a +10 and not be surprised by a lower number at PMPS.
Remember that if you aren’t comfortable shooting a lower PMPS under 150, try stalling without feeding for 20-30 minutes. Retest and shoot if the BG has headed up. If it’s not high enough to shoot yet, repeat the process. Once you get to stalling for two hours, if the BG is still not up, it’s best to just skip at that point.
Usually, I’m not a fan of stalling and skipping unless the BG is below what we would shoot per the specific method we are using and/or the CG is not available and able to test. The reason is because stalling and skipping BGs that are safe to shoot are (1) generally for the CG and not the cat and (2) will often result in the same BGs during most of the cycle due to the depot.
However, since it is a holiday and I won’t be around most of the rest of this day and evening to help, I am not going to suggest you shoot a lower normal than usual (but above 90) unless someone is here to help you and stay up to guide you through dealing with lower numbers.
I hope you have a quiet, uneventful day and Henry doesn’t decide to use a holiday to make a statement.
CG = caregiver.
Beautiful +11.Henry likes this dose. Now we'll know by PMPS whether he's on his way up or still going down.
Remember that if you aren’t comfortable shooting a lower PMPS under 150, try stalling without feeding for 20-30 minutes. Retest and shoot if the BG has headed up. If it’s not high enough to shoot yet, repeat the process. Once you get to stalling for two hours, if the BG is still not up, it’s best to just skip at that point.
Hi Robert,
Remember what Marje said:
How about stalling and retesting without food in 20-30 minutes, then we can see where Henry is at?
I see you are doing SLGS, so we are pretty close to that 90 right now.
So great to see Henry in these nice numbers! I worry that this stall may bring him below the 90, but we'll see. Your signature says you are doing SLGS but your spreadsheet doesn't really look that way. I know how hard you've been working with Marje to get Henry's numbers down, so I'd hate for you to lose the momentum.
Shooting when they are green (90 or above in your case) is a wonderful opportunity.
As per Marje, you could shoot as long as he is above 90:
I am not going to suggest you shoot a lower normal than usual (but above 90) unless someone is here to help you and stay up to guide you through dealing with lower numbers.
I wouldn't go against what Marje says. However, I am here to help you navigate low numbers if you can shoot Henry at or above 90. And you would shoot the full amount. As she pointed out, the depot is going to be in play anyhow. So shooting a "big chicken shot" ie a lower dose wouldn't affect his numbers in the evening cycle.
No need to break out anything HC just yet. I asked to make sure that you have something in case he pulls a lower number later. Assuming that you did shoot, I'd feed Henry his usual PMPS food and then get a test at +1.
Correct! Great job shooting. Can you please also note in here what you are feeding him so I can keep track. What did he eat at PMPS?
So great to see Henry in these nice numbers! I worry that this stall may bring him below the 90, but we'll see. Your signature says you are doing SLGS but your spreadsheet doesn't really look that way? I know how hard you've been working with Marje to get Henry's numbers down, so I'd hate for you to lose the momentum.
The reason the spreadsheet does not reflect SLGS because Marje wanted Henry accelerated (cut down time to get him back to go numbers) and then shift to SLGS
Oh he is really coming along! Thanks for the info on the food. He is adorable.
With feeding him the dry food that's probably why you're doing SLGS and why Marje is helping you with fast tracking his dose. TR doesn't allow the feeding of dry food.
So tonight he got his 80 calories at 645pm instead of 6pm, correct?
Okay. And I will meet you back here at 745pm EST to see what his +1 is and figure out our next move, so please be sure to post it.![]()
I can't tell from your spreadsheet if you have ever delayed before and then needed to move your shot times earlier. You can move the shooting time earlier in increments of 15 minutes per shot, OR 30 minutes at one time in a 24 hour period. So if you normally shoot at 6am/6pm, then you could do the following:
11/26 PM shot at 645pm
11/27 AM shoot at 630am
11/27 PM shoot at 615pm
11/28 AM shoot at 6am
OR
11/26 PM shot at 645pm
11/27 AM shoot at 615am
11/27 PM shoot at 615pm
11/28 AM shoot at 6am.
Okay, my understanding is you're not supposed to move the shot time back more than 30 minutes per 24 hours or 15 minutes per shot....unless Marje gives you special instructions.THat's different.
Okay, so maybe he is on the rise and going to bounce, OR maybe this is a food bump. Get another test at +2 and let's see what that says. At +2 the latest dose will likely kick in, and the food may start to wear off. Sound good?Just performed BG reading (PMPS + 1) on Henry (138) @ 7:45pm EST
Okay, so maybe he is on the rise and going to bounce, OR maybe this is a food bump. Get another test at +2 and let's see what that says. Sound good?
How is his appetite? Is he a good eater?
And just so you know, numbers above 50 are safe. But if he goes below 90 that earns a reduction (unless Marje says otherwise as a special one time thing just for Henry and for no other cat).
Nice and steady number. The 10% didn't seem to influence things, but it might've prevented him from going lower. How is he doing with the testing? I'd suggest no more food right now, and check him again in another 30 minutes.
Testing in another 30 gives us a better idea of how quickly (or not) he might drop.