11/26 Biscuit AMPS 194 Lessons Learned... till next time :)

ShannonandBiscuit

Member Since 2019
Last post

It has been a busy couple of days. Somehow our kitties always seem to know when we have the least time to devote to them and take that opportunity to do something crazy.

I’d like to thank @Marje and Gracie @MrWorfMen's Mom @Sue and Luci and @Tina Marie and Jan for your supportive comments and help with Biscuit. I feel like I’m constantly relearning information. I know I’ve read the stickies many times and yet each time I notice something different. Thanks Marje for reminding me about Reductions. We were planning to reduce but were waiting one day for the calipers we ordered to arrive to reduce to a smaller dose. But the reminder that one can always go back up is a good one. It’s not a one and done. And the depot always throws me.

I admit I’m almost paralyzed by this process sometimes. We’ve experienced two Hypo incidents last go around many years ago with Biscuit with him having a seizure. I really thought at the time he was dying right in front of me. Then the episode of DKA two months ago had me freaking out about cost, and Biscuit’s health and how far I was willing to go to save him etc. I know in an ideal world we’d do everything but I can’t tell my family we can’t eat because of medical bills. So now I worry anytime he goes high... is he eating, is he ill, is this the next time... so it definitely feels like a tug a war between highs and lows.

As I said to Marje, it is often hard for me to wrap my head around a dose that can drop his numbers from 354 to 60 and then to shoot that dose or any dose when he’s 76. I think to myself how will I ever keep him above 50... But I do know it really doesn’t work that way and yet in the moment it’s all I can see. So then I post on the forum just to get a second opinion or a “watch my back” person.... unfortunately Sunday that took too long and I kept stalling when I knew I should probably just shoot and move on.

Ultimately as everyone says it’s all about confidence, and I’m getting there, but thanks to everyone who is helping along the way. It is so good to have this network to go to.

Here’s to a good day for our kitties...
 
Oh Shannon, I really feel for you. I may be ending this more intensive journey pretty soon, with Tina going OTJ, but I really do relate to all the anxiety and worry. I have had T1 diabetes for 40 years, and have a bit of intuition built in about insulin in general. But the difference is I can feel when I'm getting low, and take care of it. Kitties really can't speak, but they can sometimes show us they feel low by asking for food. We can't count on that though. One time, Tina wasn't doing anything but napping, and she was low.

Just a simple thought if it helps at all -- I take the same amount of Lantus every morning, no matter what my BG is. It's a basal insulin -- background coverage. I use a faster acting insulin for when I eat carbs or need corrections (to lower BG). Lantus truly is meant to keep numbers steady, but it still has a curve. Follow the protocol and keep asking for advice whenever you need to!! You will also learn to trust your gut and know your cat. Then things might change!

Don't think you can learn everything fast, and don't knock yourself at all! I've learned a lot looking at other's spreadsheets and learning both differences and similarities in our cat's response to insulin. Give Biscuit a big kiss:):cat:
 
Try to remember that treating diabetes is not easy! We can't do miracles but just our very best... and you're doing much more than that for your lovely little Biscuit! You are a wonderful mamma and you should be very proud of yourself ! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: and this is for Biscuit :kiss: !
 
Oh Shannon! I know just how you feel. As an intelligent person who does computer programming for a living, I've never felt so stupid and overwhelmed in my life as I did when I first started reading all the information on this forum about how to treat my Luci. I was sure I'd either kill her by overdosing her OR by not giving her insulin. I swear, I'd break out in a cold sweat from worrying about trying to test her and then actually - in the beginning trying to wrestle that precious drop of blood from her reluctant ears! I have to say it was one of the most stressful things I've ever been through. So I can definitely relate.

So you I have to tell you - it does take time - and you need to read and then re-read just about everything in those darn stickies - sometimes it was just more than I could absorb at any one time. I've said before I felt like I was drinking water from a firehose - and drowning in the process. But you know what I thought helped me the most? Reading other people's condos - what they were doing, what questions they had and how they were resolved - some were helpful, some not...but hey it felt kinda good to be in a group of like-minded people who were on the same journey as we were - some in different places - far far advanced - who seemed to have an overwhelming amount of knowledge - and others who knew as little as I did - but were supportive.

I never knew when to increase or when to decrease - I could not for the life of me see the 'pattern' that they talked about...but little by little..the lights slowly came on in my brain. And I'd get a handle on this, or that...and I was very determined to help Luci. I started telling her that I was sorry and I knew she didn't like the poking and testing but that I was only trying to save her life. I've give her a little rub with the warmed up rice sock and after a while, she seemed to kinda like that...and not fight me all the time on the testing. Soon thereafter, she'd plop herself on the testing towel and wait for me to come and test her! This was from my demonic hellcat who I was sure was never - and I mean NEVER cooperate with this testing and shooting crap...she would tell me loud and clear that she wasn't going to put up with it! But with every test there was always a treat and a little rubbing, petting and smooth talk - and soon she came to tolerate it - now she purrs for it - I'm amazed at how much she has learned and cooperates with.

So I say to you - hang in there - you're doing the best you can - which is great in and of itself! You're trying to save Biscuit's life - and yes, it's serious business...but with each passing day you will gain more confidence...learn a new tidbit here and there and the next day 'rinse and repeat'. It will get better - I promise. And someday you too will be able to help another person who's now walking in your shoes.

Have a wonderful day Shannon! And a Happy Thanksgiving - and give Biscuit a little scritch or three from Auntie Sue. :bighug::bighug:
 
Shannon, Ollie is my 2nd diabetic cat. Been doing this 4 yrs between both kitties. Sometimes I feel like a newbie at it. I continue to be unsure at times. Just last night I asked what dose to give preparing for a low preshot test. I knew I needed to give it but just wanted another person to say "yes shoot". It's okay, and normal to be unsure, not understand at times, to get frazzeled. That's when you pop on here and talk to us.
 
Back
Top