? 11/26 AMPS 396 +5.5 281 PMPS 386 +2 313 +6 221

Basic's Mom

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-154-2-174-4-281-6-285.283767/#post-3124801

Basic just passed the 2 month mark since diagnosis.

I'm in the process of looking for a new vet. I'm not interested in arguing with someone about home testing my cat "because I'm very concerned about your relationship" or getting generic insulin. nor am I interested in arguing with an office manager about getting prescriptions called into a pharmacy or picking up a paper script.

I was going to do a curve this evening, but his numbers have been very high today. There is no other food here that he could've gotten into. I don't know if he is bouncing or what.

Should I hold off on doing his curve tonight?

I hate to prolong another increase because his numbers haven't been low enough for me to be concerned with his BG dropping too much. I thought I'd see a significant decrease in his BG on all HC kibble was removed, but that isn't the case. It has been 7 days since he's had any HC food.

Thanks in advance for your help.
 
With SLGS you keep each dose for 7 days. Are you wanting to switch yo TR since you are no longer feeding kibble?
I can't. He still eats kibble, Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein. Tried for over a month to completely remove it. He gets ¼ C per day. Rest of his calories is LC pate. I wish he wasn't on kibble and i could do TR because I am getting worried that his BG is still unmanaged.

I am not sure how I mixed up how long I hold the dose with this method. I thought I read recently 5 days or 10 cycles.

Thank you for correcting me.
 
Last edited:
Can you switch to freeze-dried meat? If all he is looking for is some crunch? What happens if you don't feed him kibble? Can you slowly reduce the amount of kibble? 1/4th of a cup is not a whole lot.
He refuses freeze dried treats so I've never purchased the food. He also refuses to eat wevura, tiki, and another expensive one that seems really good for him, but I can't remember the name.

As soon as I reduce to a little less than ¼ of a cup, he refuses to eat anything for about 24 hours. With his current dose being at 3.25 units, I'd rather him not miss any meals. I tried this over 6 week period and each time, he refused to eat. I'm just thrilled he isn't refusing this food.

I know it isn't a lot of kibble and I know this kibble is much better for him, I just wanted him completely off. His sister really only eats kibble, so it isn't a bad thing the switch was made. It is frustrating, knowing what I know now.
 
Yeah....with his history of ketones and fatty liver, you don't want him to stop eating. When does he get the kibble?
6:30 am...then he starts getting his pate every 6 hours after that. Should I see how he does with spreading the kibble out? It is 136 calories and his pate servings are between 50-95 calories per serving.
 
6:30 am...then he starts getting his pate every 6 hours after that. Should I see how he does with spreading the kibble out? It is 136 calories and his pate servings are between 50-95 calories per serving.
So he gets kibble with his AM shot and not after that?
 
Back
Top