11/26/14-China +6 167 !

Status
Not open for further replies.

animallvr64

Member Since 2014
My question is China's BG was 119 when checked at 5pm, she is due for her injection, I am home from work and can keep an eye on her, but have to leave for about an 1/12 should I hold off on giving her the injection till I am home for the night? Or will it be ok to leave for an 1 1/12 have to pick up hubby from work. I really want to see where she goes with the injection being given how it will effect her so I know if I shoot and she is at these kind of numbers, I will know how it will effect her.

Thanks
Vickie&China
 
Re: 11/26/14-China AMPS 289; PMBG 119

Vickie

It looks like she is clearing a bounce and so it's possible she will keep coming down. You have two choices, really, because it would be great to not skip a shot:

--shoot when you get home; since it's 1.5 hours, you could feed her one tsp of LC to keep her from dropping any more. Sometimes when they are clearing a bounce, they continue to drop past PS until the point where you aren't able to shoot because they are too low.

--shoot now and give her 2 tsp of HC food and hope that holds her until you get back. I don't know if it will or not.

If you shoot, do you have to leave right away or is it long enough that you could test her (even 30 mins) and see if she's up or down and then feed HC if need be? If you don't have to leave right away and can get one test in before you go, you could feed her regular meal to her after you shoot and see where she is and then decide what to feed.
 
Re: 11/26/14-China AMPS 289; PMBG 119

Marje,

No I don't have to leave right away, so I went ahead and gave her the shot, and will be able to get a 1hr check in there before I have to leave. I also got her an automatic pet feeder today, and have it set up to open in case she needs something while I am gone.

Thanks for the help
Vickie&China
 
Re: 11/26/14-China AMPS 289; PMBG 119

Fantastic!!! It will really help her if you can avoid skipping and stalling unless necessary for safety.

Could you pls update subject line so we know you shot? I'll be around tonight and will keep an eye out. Suggest you get that +1 test and another as soon as you get home. Post if you need help.
 
Re: 11/26/14-China PMPS -119, +1= 119 +3=151

Well her number at +1 was 120, then at +3 was 151 so shes holding good for now. Was going to do another test at +6 because isn't that when Lantus is at its peak of working? Or should I do before that?

Vickie&China
 
Re: 11/26/14-China PMPS -119, +1= 119 +3=151

the nadir, or peak of the Lantus' action, can vary. Many cats are around +6, but even if a cat's nadir (lowest point in the cycle) is typically +6, the nadir can move around.

We tried out our timed feeder with punkin while we were at home so he could get used to it when we didn't NEED to count on him eating from it. If it's one that the feeding tray rotates, they are pretty loud when they rotate and can take some getting used to. You might go ahead and put a bite in it to let China try it out.
 
Re: 11/26/14-China PMPS -119, +1= 119 +3=151

The automatic feeder is the kind that the lid opens up. I have it set now to make sure it works and to also see what China does when it opens up, making sure she eats from it.

Vickie&China
 
Re: 11/26/14-China PMPS -119, +1= 119 +3=151

perfect! my fingers are crossed that she isn't scared by it and will eat from it. They are so handy when you need to go out!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top