11/25 Trixie AMPS 286 +2 197 +4 181 PMPS 306 +2 215 +4.5 240

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Looks like a bit of a bounce over night, but she cleared it and landed in her first morning blue +2 in 9 days! I'm sure we're not done with increasing, but at least we're seeing SOME action.

I hope everyone has recovered from eating too much yesterday and is enjoying their Black Friday! I own a small store...no crazy hours, no doorbusters, but we do have homebaked treats, a sale, and a raffle for charity running. We're ready to kick off the holiday season!

ETA and OT: The vet started Frankie on Miralax last week. I now see that they started her on way too much - 1/2 tsp twice a day. I just read elsewhere that it should be started at 1/8 tsp once a day, and work up from there as necessary.

Anyway...does 1/8 tsp, once a day sound right? I'm going to skip it for a couple days to clear it out of her system, then start over. Poor Frankie...I should have KNOWN to look elsewhere rather than going by the vet's word before starting her on it.

Amy
 
Re: 11/25 Trixie AMPS 286 +2 197 - Miralax Q

Hi Amy, I know that for some kitties (i.e., Mags) a little Miralax goes a long way. I never measured it, but 1/8 tsp sounds about right to start. I just gave Mags a pinch of it. I don't remember if it was twice a day. I made the same mistake the first time and gave her too much. Looks like Trixie is coming down nice and slow. How fun with your store, and I bet today will be fun and profitable.
 
Re: 11/25 Trixie AMPS 286 +2 197 - Miralax Q

Overlaxed! Not fun for anyone!! Nice drop for Trixie this morning. I hope she surfs those blues for you all day. Have a great Black Friday and holiday shopping season. Homemade goodies, yummm!
 
Re: 11/25 Trixie AMPS 286 +2 197 - Miralax Q

Come on down, Trixie! Good start today, I hope she keeps going....

Miralax is an ECID thing....I started Angel with 1/8 tsp BID, and she needed 1/4 tsp BID for a while. When she was "overlaxed" (love that word! :lol: ) I just cut back on the amount a little....I didn't take a break. My DD also uses Miralax, and her doc suggested the same thing...just cut back on the dose a little when it's too much. I wouldn't get into a start and stop pattern if she is a kitty that is chronically constipated. JMHO
 
Re: 11/25 Trixie AMPS 286 +2 197 +4 181- Miralax Q

Surfin' the blues...progress, slow but sure....

Thanks for the Miralax info...I knew you guys would know best. Ok, so we'll cut her back rather than take a break. I just feel bad, because right now her little tush is a disaster zone and I feel responsible for that. One extreme to the other, and I also feel guilty because I didn't research and just went with what the vet said. I do like my vet, but I know better than to not question everything...yet another learning experience. (I also feel like I should be surprised that there is an in-depth website dedicated to feline constipation, but it just goes to prove there is a website for everything - and I'm thankful for that! Looks like I've got some exciting reading in store for this weekend - :lol: !)
 
Re: 11/25 Trixie AMPS 286 +2 197 +4 181- Miralax Q

Hi Amy! How nice to see some blue on Trix! For Jetta I use a heavy 1/8 tsp Miralax twice a day. It works prefectly for her, but as always ECID. Good luck finding the right balance for Frankie.
 
Re: 11/25 Trixie AMPS 286 +2 197 +4 181- Miralax Q

I give J.D. a f1/8 tsp. Well I was giving him a fat 1/8 tsp, twice a day, then he started this picky eating behavior and I haven't given him any lately. My vet said I could go up to 1/4 tsp. twice a day and just back off if it gets to be too much.
 
Re: 11/25 Trixie AMPS 286 +2 197 +4 181 PMPS 306

...and then we have stinkus pinkus.

Thanks for all the Miralax info...I wish I could turn back time and start over, but obviously we'll forge ahead with a smaller quantity.
 
Re: 11/25 Trixie AMPS 286 +2 197 +4 181 PMPS 306 +2 215

Oh, I know, Sienne. She's killin' me here. At least she didn't food spike off either PS today....
 
Re: 11/25 Trixie AMPS 286 +2 197 +4 181 PMPS 306 +2 215

130201441641.jpg
 
Re: 11/25 Trixie AMPS 286 +2 197 +4 181 PMPS 306 +2 215 +4.5

Blech. It's still as if there is no insulin in that syringe, despite all the increases. Yet, we will increase with tomorrow's evening dose. Ni-ni....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top