11/25 Squamee AMPS 416 1.1U, +4 268, +6 241, +8 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Very Active Member
Damn. Rob, I think you are probably no up yet, and I want to shoot and I don't know what to give her. 416 is similar to yesterday AM (411) which you said last night might have been in reaction to low numbers. So does that mean I should back off now? If you are by some chance here, I'd love some thoughts!
 
Re: 11/25 Squamee AMPS 416

The 416 is probably because of the higher carb foods. It looks like she's handling the 1.1u just fine.

I would go with 1u or 1.1u. You'll be home to test.
 
Re: 11/25 Squamee AMPS 416

It's hard to say, she may have gone a little lower than she was used to or she found some contraban to nibble on, who knows.

The don't have to go TOO low for their livers to panic, thay only have to go lower than they are used to which can still be a higher number.

Maybe they are just like us and some days wake up feeling a little punky and don't know why.
 
Re: 11/25 Squamee AMPS 416

Thanks, Robin. I keep telling myself to stop trying to explain everything and making myself crazy. I think it's the feeling of not being in control that contributes to the crazy making. Anyhow, it's time to relax! Otherwise each shot feels like too important a decision, which really is crazy making.
She got her last dose of Flagyl last night, keeping paws crossed that the vomiting and diarrhea are resolved. (especially with family here for the weekend! :roll: ) She's been getting a little more finicky about taking the pill, but so far I am one step ahead of her (now I use a pill pocket rolled in Fortiflora and parmesan with a little of the gravy from FF beef on top). And I have the comfort of knowing I have a phenobarb transdermal get if all else fails (I used that when she was vomiting, although I am not sure how effective it is).
Vet wants to see her in a week or 2 to check blood--mostly for kidney numbers , I think. I am afraid to find out how much weight she has lost. I wonder if there is any low carb hi calorie food?
Am sending you lots of good thoughts (and mental turkey and stuffing :lol: ) Thanks so much for all your help!
 
Re: 11/25 Squamee AMPS 416

Judy, I completely understand that crazy making feeling, where every decision feels like life or death. But Squamee has settled in nicely lately and you are making good decisions. So you can relax and enjoy you family and holiday, test once in a while and enjoy all that good food.

I love how creative you are getting her to take her pill.

Good luck at the vet next week.

Oh and the Wellness canned Chicken or Turkey are both 4% carbs and higher in fat than most other wet foods, Harley loves it but he is getting a little plump so I am looking for something lower in fat for him now.

Thanks for the mental turkey and stuffing, don't forget the mental pie. :mrgreen:

Robin
 
Re: 11/25 Squamee AMPS 416 1.1U, +4 268, +6 241, =8 114

amps 416 1.1U
+4 268
+6 241
+8 114
A nadir at +8? ---or could she still be going down? I wonder if this means she will shoot up very high tonight. And what does that mean about insulin? If I have a nadir much lower than it had been (although I guess it could have happened before and I just didn't catch it with a test) then I lower the dose? By how much?
 
amps 416 1.1U
+4 268
+6 241
+8 114
+10 344

So now she is zooming up. I assume this is her reaction to the 114. But what does that mean in terms of dosage?
 
Sorry, that was a long a$$ movie. I doubt she went much lower than what you caught but that is still a huge drop. And she is zooming up because of it.

I would back off the dose a tad. .8u or .9u maybe cautiously 1u so the drop isn't so dramatic. She seemed to do pretty well at those doses.
 
The movie was Eat Pray Love. It's my new favorite movie, I will be watching it again and again but it is 2 1/2 hours long.

By backing off the 1.1u dose we can try to lower her PS's with each cycle so she can avoid the big swings.


Soft kitty song: Soft kitty, warm kitty, little ball of fur. Happy kitty, sleepy kitty, purr purr purr.
 
I'm a little embarresed to say it comes from the TV sitcom Big Bang Theory. They sing it to each other at night to soothe each other. But I love the song. They were singing it on TV as I was typing so I included it.
 
I never heard of that sitcom, but no need to be embarrassed, I watch all kinds of junk, and besides, I really like the song. Now I am going to have to try to catch the show so I can hear the tune!
 
It's a cute show. And probably all-time best TV theme song IMHO, definitely in the top 5 at least. And of course Soft Kitty is the best TV song EVER. I sing it to myself when I am feeling sick. :mrgreen: When they sang it as a round, that was THE BEST.
 
Just go back in - to a crashed computer!! Doh!

What'd I miss? Sounds like a missed a great poop!

Looks like appetite is back as the dose is back up? Tomorrow is not going to be a good day for me - and I'm pretty whooped right now. And evidently just missing a few days in here means a ton of posts to catch up to. :YMSIGH:

I'm happy Robin is offering her take on those high numbers at the end. They make me confused_cat
 
Hi Gator! Welcome back! You missed all our good Thanksgiving wishes of lots of happy times, good turkey, stuffing and many pies!---but we are saving some for you :razz:

Squamee had been much better--the Flagyl worked miracles, and she was eating well. But I gave her the last dose Wed night, and last night, for the first time in awhile, she didn't take her pill, and this morning I find she vomited and her crap is beginning to look loose. ****! (in all senses of the word). So I gave her some Flagyl this morning. My vet is not in today, but I will speak to a covering vet.

So far this AM her BG is 336 at +10.5. Maybe it won't zoom. But I can't count on her eating today, so---
 
Welcome back Gator. Do tell, is Mr. T with you?

Joanna, I had forgotten about them singing soft kitty as a round, you're right that was THE BEST.
 
Nope, Mr. T is not with me. He's got a pretty darned good life there. And I have a pretty darned good life here sans any responsibilities now. Who know what the future will bring though?

Judy, I know I asked before sorry. But all the flavors you are feeding are gluten or grain free?

grr_red My clocks here need to be turned back! ohmygod_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top