11/25 Nonitta amps 135, +1 207, +2 218, pmps 313

Status
Not open for further replies.

asoolty

Member Since 2010
Please take a look at look at Nonitta's Spreadsheet (world mmoI/L). i have recently moved her to Lantus, her number today is very low ,, related to her prevewis readings with her old insulin.

the question is show i give her her shot now .. ? its very low i believe and 1 IU is too much i think ? hope you get what i'm trying to say here
 
Re: Help!

Can you not feed her, and stall by testing again in 15 or 20 minutes to see if her numbers are rising or lowering?
Would that mess you your schedule? You would need to be able to shoot 12 hours from whenever you decide to shoot today.

Will you be home today to monitor, and do you have lots of test strips and HC for just in case? I'm not saying anything is going to happen, we just need to make sure.
 
Re: Help!

no thats ok i guess .. up to one or two hours, wont harm the scheduled i guess


thank you thats really help . but please tell me at what number i should giver her her shot..when she is on the yellow BG numbers?
 
Re: Help!

Since you have the time, how about you test 30 minutes after the normally scheduled shot time and lets see what number she is at. Post that number, and we'll see if you feel comforable shooting then.
Are you going to be home all day today? And has she eaten any food this morning, yet?
 
Re: Help!

thanks for the article, thats what worries me the most,.. its the first time i see such a low number,, since we discover her diabetes !!
 
Re: Help!

Wow, you're an even earlier riser than I am, then! :-D

That's good that you haven't fed her. Is it +12.5, yet? If so, can you do a test and let's see where she's at.
 
Re: Help!

I've just tested her a gain (30 minutes later) its : 8.9 world . that is 160 US!!
 
Re: Help!

Oh poor kitty. I know how it is to see them hungry when stalling. I had to delay my own dinner when I was starving myself once, because I didn't want to eat in front of my cats.

Okay, so she's basically surfing in the blues. 164 and 160 are pretty much the same number.
Do you want to stall another half hour and see were she is in 30 minutes, or in 15 or 20 minutes and possibly shoot the 1 unit then, or would you feel more comfortable shooting a BCS (lowered) dose now? I know your first low number is exciting and scary, but those numbers are great. Some of the decision has to be will you be home to monitor her, and do you have the things you might need just in case she does go lower.
 
Re: Help!

oohhh that was so sweet of you, I was just eating a pie in front of her :/ you make me feel guilty :cry:

It passed another 30 min .. I will test her a gain now and let u know
 
Re: Help!

It's getting lower. 8.4 .. that is 150 US i think !??

I think i should feed her now ?
 
Re: Help!

I didn't mean to make you feel bad. I'm sorry.

I you feed her, then you will need to decide on a dose and give her some insulin, unless you are planning to skip the shot, which we don't normally advise.

You see if you feed her, then the next test will have the food spike number, and you will not know if she's dropping dramatically or not. Would you feel comfortable shooting a .50 today?

Please answer my questions. They are important for us to help you. Are you going to be home today to monitor? And do you have supplies, like extra test strips and HC or karo or honey, for just in case?
 
Re: Help!

I'm thinking this,,

I give her food now .. and wait for few hours, since its weekend i can easy put her back on scheduled again, reducing 30 min each time. .

after 3 or 4 hrs i test her a gain and see ..??

how is that ?

cuz i'm really worried,, i do have honey and everything .. but i've never done that
 
Re: Help!

You really only want to change the schedule 30 minutes per day. So either (depending upon the numbers) 15 minutes each shot, or 30 minutes at one of the shots per day. 30 minutes per shoot is an hour a day, and that is a lot.
Giving a shot early is like a dose increase and giving a shot late is like a dose decrease.

If it was my cat, I would give a little insulin now and then feed her, and then start by getting a +1 and a +2 test after you give the shot. We would advise you to give a little insulin because Lantus works with a shed, and if you skip a dose then the shed will empty. If you give her a little, then there will still be something (less than before, but something) in the shed.

Would you feel comfortable shooting like .50 or .25?

Here's a picture of a fat .50
And here's a picture of a 0.25
 
Re: Help!

Also, can you please take the 911 off of your first post, now?
We basically use that for life or death emergencies, and I think we are starting to get this handled.

I know you are scared and worried.

Maybe you could change the subject line in your first post to read "+12 164, +12.5 160, +13 150 Dose Help Please" or something like that. :-D
 
Re: Help!

Ok, I took your advise .. just gave her .50 .. her AMPS is now 8.2 that is 148 US

no problem i will change the topic .. but still worried nailbite_smile
 
Re: +12 164, +12.5 160, +13.5 148 Dose Help Please

Now please please tell me .. in case of she dropped below 40 ?? how much honey i should give her .!??? nailbite_smile


I know i'm asking too many questions.. so sorry for that .. but i feel like @-) nailbite_smile
 
Re: +12 164, +12.5 160, +13.5 148 Dose Help Please

You're doing Great :-D Nice Hooting!!
Eventually, this will all become "old hat".

I will find the link to the hypo page for you.

I have a copy of it taped to the inside of my pantry door with all the hypo stuff I need together on one shelf.

I'll be back in a sec.

I'm sure she's loving her breakfast :-D Num Num!
 
Re: +12 164, +12.5 160, +13.5 148 Dose Help Please

You don't need to worry about giving honey right now....breathe....it's going to be ok.

Dyana has been doing a great job helping you, but you need to help her so she can help you, ok?

Please answer her questions....are you going to be home to monitor today?

You need to get a +1 and +2 to start out, then see what you need to do from there. Someone will be here to help you if you need it, just post and we will help you, ok? Please keep posting updates, we worry if we don't hear back from you after you shoot, ok?

* IF* you need to give honey, you would only give a little at a time, say 1/4 tsp..but please try to take one step at a time....you are in control with your meter and food, Star will be fine, ok?
 
Re: +12 164, +12.5 160, +13.5 148 Dose Help Please

Thanks Laurie.

Laurie is right. Breathe. Everything will be alright. I am really proud of you.

Here is another really excellent post that you can read when you have time. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28888 It has several links at the bottom that are good or you to know.

(((Hugs))) your kitty will be fine. Tell her what a good and wonderful girl she is. Give her some soft pets for me.
 
Re: +12 164, +12.5 160, +13.5 148 Dose Help Please

Waiting Dyana,, thanks a lot for staying up with me ..

I will be home testing her today.. In fact i am testing her every 30 min,, now i'm waiting for +1 and i will keep you updated.

thank you too Laurie and Mr.Tinkles

Noni is having a nap now ! hope this all pass quickly nailbite_smile

Thank you Dyana your an Angle Nonitta is giving you lot of hugs :RAHCAT
 
Re: +12 164, +12.5 160, +13.5 148 Dose Help Please

Is your cat's name Noni? That's a cute name. I'm sorry, I thought is was Asoolty. And what is your name?
Do you have any chocolate in the house. I think you deserve a nice bite of chocolate :-D
 
Re: +12 164, +12.5 160, +13.5 148 Dose Help Please

I do have KitKat ..want some =D

My name is Aseel actually (asoolty). my baby is Noni ..shes a lady 12 years old girl .. I'm from Kuwait btw and Noni is the only diabetic girl in the country :lol:
 
Re: +12 164, +12.5 160, +13.5 148 Dose Help Please

Pleased to meet you, Aseel and Noni.
No KitKat for me, right now, but thanks anyway. I'm trying to eat some dinner while I type. :oops:
Is Noni on low carb wet food? Sorry, if I don't have time to follow all condos, so don't know if you posted this before. I'm sure you did in the beginning.
 
Re: +12 164, +12.5 160, +13.5 148 Dose Help Please

oohh Bon appetit!!!

Yes shes on wet low carb food, Fanyfeast, although i'm keeping her some (in gravy) she likes it too
 
Re: +12 164, +12.5 160, +13.5 148 Dose Help Please

:oops: Ooops, sorry I called her Star....Noni is a pretty name!

I'm glad you will be home to monitor, Aseel. :-D You stalled for 1 1/2 hours, right? As Dyana said, you will need to shoot 12 hours from the time you shot this morning.

So your AMPS is 148, and you can put the other tests and times in the comments on your spreadsheet. Could you change your header to show the AMPS 148 and take out the dose help please?

You're doing great. I'll be watching for the +1...
 
Re: +13.5 148 +1~218

That's Ok Laurie, thanks for watching up for Noni..

the +1 is 218 (12.1)

and i'll keep you updated
 
Re: amps +13.5~ 148 +1~218 +2~337 !

Wow. Yes, that's normal. It's what we call a bounce. Noni's liver reacted to the 148 which was lower than she has been used to for awhile. Bounces can last sometimes for 3 days. The liver has stored glucose (I know that's not exactly the correct word, but it's something very simular to glucose) and can release it when it thinks the body is getting too low.
148 is not too low, don't worry, it's just lower than Noni has been in awhile.
 
Re: amps +13.5~ 148 +1~218 +2~337 !

how many tests do i have to do further +3 and i retest at +6 is that ok??

my poor baby's ear is becoming like a sieve :/
 
Re: amps +13.5~ 148 +1~218 +2~337 !

You all did great! It's likely that Noni's numbers are going to be high. Don't worry. Like Dyana said, it's a "bounce." The liver reacts to what it believes are low numbers by dumping a form of stored glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the bloodstream.
 
Re: amps +13.5~ 148 +1~218 +2~337 !

Wow...I am so impressed with how you all did today!!! Great work Aseel, Dyana, and Laurie!!
 
Re: amps+13.5~ 148 +1~218 +2~337 +3~360 !

+3 is 360 (20.0) I will leave her for 3 or 4 hour and test her back then

thanks guys, what an experience :-|

Dyana : many thanks ,, never would've made it without you \M/
Laurie: Many thanks to you too for watching it up

i'll be back later .. cya
 
Re: amps +13.5~ 148 +1~218 +2~337 pmps 365 +3 308

Good Morning ;))

Hi again,

she was stable after the AM shot, i just got her pm shot 2 hrs ago ... PMPS is 20.3 (365)

+3 17.1 (308)

she's good
 
Re: amps +13.5~ 148 +1~218 +2~337 !

Good morning (but it's really evening over there, right?) Aseel! I'm glad that Noni is doing well, and that's not a bad PMPS considering the stall and reduced dose you gave at AMPS. Her numbers may stay high for a few cycles or more because of that and the bounce...but don't worry, she'll get back on track soon.

A couple of housekeeping details....you don't have a dose entered on your SS for the AMPS, could you put in what you shot...0.5u, right? Also, could you update your header with the date, Noni's name (somehow I didn't notice that it was missing.. :lol: ) and the PMPS and +3 test? You can take out the AMPS and AM cycle numbers now, since you are in the PM cycle. Thanks! If you notice, we use a particular format for our headers, it makes it easy to see what is going on as we look at the board. Anytime you have a question, you can put something in the header to indicate that you need help, that way someone will see it and help you more quickly.
 
Re: amps +13.5~ 148 +1~218 +2~337 !

nice numbers this morning. Great job Aseel and Dyana! You'll be a pro before you know it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top