11/25 Kona AMPS 237, +1.5 200, +3 162, +4 166, +5 168, PMPS 150, +1 131, +2 130

Crusing on down... :cool:

Today's Summary:
6:23am - AMPS 237
6:25am - Shot 1.25U
6:26am - Fed 3oz of Wx Phos Focused Tilapia & Tuna (0.3% carbs)
7:57am (+1.5) - BG 200
9:30am (+3) - BG 162

upload_2024-11-25_10-5-12.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-25_10-5-12.png
    upload_2024-11-25_10-5-12.png
    678.3 KB · Views: 128
All the action for this cycle?

Today's Summary:
6:23am - AMPS 237
6:25am - Shot 1.25U
6:26am - Fed 3oz of Wx Phos Focused Tilapia & Tuna (0.3% carbs)
7:57am (+1.5) - BG 200
9:30am (+3) - BG 162
10:31am (+4) - BG 166
 
Today's Summary:

---Morning Cycle---
6:23am - AMPS 237
6:25am - Shot 1.25U
6:26am - Fed 3oz of Wx Phos Focused Tilapia & Tuna (0.3% carbs)
7:57am (+1.5) - BG 200
9:30am (+3) - BG 162
10:31am (+4) - BG 166
11:40am (+5) - BG 168

---Evening Cycle---
6:15pm -
PMPS 150

6:16pm - Feed 2oz Truluxe Quick N' Quirky (0.4% carbs) + 1oz Truluxe Peking Ducken (9.10% carbs)
6:26pm - Shot 1.25U
7:36pm
(+1) -
BG 131

upload_2024-11-25_20-5-50.png


 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-25_20-5-50.png
    upload_2024-11-25_20-5-50.png
    88.7 KB · Views: 66
Nice decrease today! I was looking at Kona’s SS and I see you’ve shot some low greens in the past. I’m curious - what was that like? Was there any hesitation? I’m assuming you stayed up and monitored with food to intervene.
 
Nice decrease today! I was looking at Kona’s SS and I see you’ve shot some low greens in the past. I’m curious - what was that like? Was there any hesitation? I’m assuming you stayed up and monitored with food to intervene.

Yo, Tim! I WISH Kona would try to pull off a AMPS/PMPS green on me... I stay ready for it. I never fear unless I have plans and I have to leave the house. Even then, she's got her bedroom, automatic feeders that I load up with high carb every 30 minutes and I ensure she's eating them on the Kona cam.

It took me a few times to get confidence, but as long as you have all the foods ready and karo, there's nothing to be worried about. The key is just pre-loading the breakfast/dinner that goes with the shot with a high carb. \ So for example, if I'm shooting low, 60-80, I will give her a full breakfast/dinner of 14% or 20%. Then I would for sure test her at +1 and then at +2 when Lantus is supposed to kick in. Typically, for Kona, that full dinner of a high carb will combat the onset action of the Lantus, she'll go up instantly to like 150-200 just from the high carb dinner. Then the Lantus kicks in from +2 up to +5 and I just give snacks as needed while testing regularly, every 30 minutes to catch any funny business.

I'm excited for shooting low now, it's like a challenge now... "shoot low, to stay low" ;)
 
Yo, Tim! I WISH Kona would try to pull off a AMPS/PMPS green on me... I stay ready for it. I never fear unless I have plans and I have to leave the house. Even then, she's got her bedroom, automatic feeders that I load up with high carb every 30 minutes and I ensure she's eating them on the Kona cam.

It took me a few times to get confidence, but as long as you have all the foods ready and karo, there's nothing to be worried about. The key is just pre-loading the breakfast/dinner that goes with the shot with a high carb. \ So for example, if I'm shooting low, 60-80, I will give her a full breakfast/dinner of 14% or 20%. Then I would for sure test her at +1 and then at +2 when Lantus is supposed to kick in. Typically, for Kona, that full dinner of a high carb will combat the onset action of the Lantus, she'll go up instantly to like 150-200 just from the high carb dinner. Then the Lantus kicks in from +2 up to +5 and I just give snacks as needed while testing regularly, every 30 minutes to catch any funny business.

I'm excited for shooting low now, it's like a challenge now... "shoot low, to stay low" ;)
That’s super interesting, you just work around it with the food. Probably takes a bit to learn how the cat reacts to each carb % too. I know I have to up my food game… my research project for tomorrow haha
 
That’s super interesting, you just work around it with the food. Probably takes a bit to learn how the cat reacts to each carb % too. I know I have to up my food game… my research project for tomorrow haha

It's crazy expensive, but I've been hooked on the Weruva line... it's got all the options I need.

Here are our go-tos:

When BG is high, I mostly do the Weruva Wx Phos Focused because my ultimate goal is to do the least amount of phosphorus I can to help with CKD from progressing.

*note, don't ask me how they can do negative carbs... ha ha ha

upload_2024-11-25_20-31-38.png



However, she get's bored with them quick, so I have to switch it up, so then I used the the Quick 'N Quirky or Pretty in Pink which are also under 1%

upload_2024-11-25_20-29-42.png



Then as numbers get low, I will give her the food that is called for... kinda dropping and I want to "feed the curve" then I will use the On the cat work or the steak frites.

If things start to drop fast, I bust out the Mediterranean Harvest at 14% which is tuna so she's guaranteed to keep eating the snacks if I need her to stay up every 30 minutes.

My NEW high carb food is Royal Canin Renal Support which is 30%, so I will use that if she gets into the 40s or 50s. Like emergency mode.


Here's kind of an example of how I feed as needed, you can see the different carb % of the foods I use to influence trends, feed the curve, break action, whatever is needed... it's all about using the food.

upload_2024-11-25_20-40-15.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-25_20-29-42.png
    upload_2024-11-25_20-29-42.png
    260.4 KB · Views: 106
  • upload_2024-11-25_20-31-38.png
    upload_2024-11-25_20-31-38.png
    199.4 KB · Views: 114
  • upload_2024-11-25_20-40-15.png
    upload_2024-11-25_20-40-15.png
    19.9 KB · Views: 101
Last edited:
Second guessing me giving her the last of the Pekin Ducken that was in the can.. should've just gave it all to her sister. Maybe it's breaking some action? Who knows.... maybe I can get a night off :p

Today's Summary:

---Morning Cycle---
6:23am - AMPS 237
6:25am - Shot 1.25U
6:26am - Fed 3oz of Wx Phos Focused Tilapia & Tuna (0.3% carbs)
7:57am (+1.5) - BG 200
9:30am (+3) - BG 162
10:31am (+4) - BG 166
11:40am (+5) - BG 168

---Evening Cycle---
6:15pm -
PMPS 150

6:16pm - Feed 2oz Truluxe Quick N' Quirky (0.4% carbs) + 1oz Truluxe Peking Ducken (9.10% carbs)
6:26pm - Shot 1.25U
7:36pm
(+1) -
BG 131
8:41pm (+2) - BG 130

upload_2024-11-25_20-44-1.png

 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-25_20-44-1.png
    upload_2024-11-25_20-44-1.png
    88.5 KB · Views: 59
It's crazy expensive, but I've been hooked on the Weruva line... it's got all the options I need.

Here are our go-tos:

When BG is high, I mostly do the Weruva Wx Phos Focused because my ultimate goal is to do the least amount of phosphorus I can to help with CKD from progressing.

*note, don't ask me how they can do negative carbs... ha ha ha

View attachment 71553


However, she get's bored with them quick, so I have to switch it up, so then I used the the Quick 'N Quirky or Pretty in Pink which are also under 1%

View attachment 71552


Then as numbers get low, I will give her the food that is called for... kinda dropping and I want to "feed the curve" then I will use the On the cat work or the steak frites.

If things start to drop fast, I bust out the Mediterranean Harvest at 14% which is tuna so she's guaranteed to keep eating the snacks if I need her to stay up every 30 minutes.

My NEW high carb food is Royal Canin Renal Support which is 30%, so I will use that if she gets into the 40s or 50s. Like emergency mode.


Here's kind of an example of how I feed as needed, you can see the different carb % of the foods I use to influence trends, feed the curve, break action, whatever is needed... it's all about using the food.

View attachment 71554
Negative carbs on some of those?!

That’s impressive… you’ve got that really dialed in. Seems pretty involved though especially if life things come up, but then I guess auto feeder. Has Kona ever been free fed?

My running theory now is that mine can self regulate to some extent by having the dry available.
 
Negative carbs on some of those?!

That’s impressive… you’ve got that really dialed in. Seems pretty involved though especially if life things come up, but then I guess auto feeder. Has Kona ever been free fed?

My running theory now is that mine can self regulate to some extent by having the dry available.

Negative, both cats since kittens fed twice a day by me. When I adopted them, the vet told me feeding them twice a day versus free feed makes them love you more, so that's what I did. LOL I guess it worked out later on in life with this diabetes nonsense.

Honestly, if Kona was free fed, there's no way I could do this...
 
Back
Top