11/25 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/19 Felix and his drop doses - Update

He he he You guys are such a positive group, I love that!

His +2 after eating was 103. I'm thinking no shot tonight, but I will test him one more time before I head to bed, so that will be a +4.5 reading. Stay tuned! :razz:
 
Re: 11/19 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Will be waiting for the next installment of How Felix's BGs Drops. :lol: Its now my favorite show on the web.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/19 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Okay, update is 66 at his +4.5 since food.

I'm wondering if it's okay to go to sleep at this point. His last dose was this morning at 0600 and it was a drop.
 
Re: 11/19 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Yayyyy Felix
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 11/19 Felix and his drop doses - Update

My little man is anything but normal...LOL I did go to bed, but set my timer for 2 hours to check him cause I'm still getting used to these low numbers. I tested him a bit ago and he's at 72, so I can rest easy the rest of the night.
 
Re: 11/19 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Good Morning everyone!

This morning's AMPS is 193. He will be getting his drop dose this morning. It looks like he's got a pattern going, one drop of insulin a day. We'll see what the rest of the day brings.
 
Re: 11/20 Felix and his drop doses - Update

I think I must have missed this morning. He was at 237 for his PMPS, and that's unusual for him *lately*. If I did miss, that's still a good number and at least I know he wasn't in any danger. I did give him a drop dose this evening. He seems to be a lot squirmier in the mornings than in the evenings. Lil turd.
 
Re: 11/21 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Sorry I didn't update everyone this morning. His AMPS was 123, so no shot. I fed him, went to work. This evening I came home and tested him, his PMPS was 109. So here we go again with the not needing a shot. I thought for sure he'd be ready for one, but no. So I fed him, fed everyone else, brought the garbage cans up from the driveway. Came back in the house, and there he sits, just having finished dinner looking at me like...where you been? hehehe

Anyway, 5 minutes later and up came his dinner. So now he's back to a mostly empty stomach. I'm waiting a half hour, then giving him a quarter can of food, and see if he holds that down.

Judi
 
Re: 11/21 Felix and his drop doses - Update

hi Judi
so sorry Felix threw up. i hope he is ok.
sending hugs & healing .
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 11/21 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Hi Judi, Nadine got there first. Sorry he's been sick. Did he manage to hold down the food you gave him later?

Hope he feels better soon!

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/21 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Sorry for the late update but yes, held down food once we gave it to him a little at a time and kept him from inhaling the entire can.

This is Miztorq's hubby, finally home after a week+ out of town. She's getting a well deserved sleep in this morning so just a quick update.

Felix was at 196 this morning so went with his "drop". We're so close, I just wish he'd make up his mind to not get stuck anymore and keep those numbers down just a little more. But, we're sure a lot better then we were just a few short weeks ago. And with that....

I would like to once again take a quick second to thank all those on this board that have helped along the way. I'm positive if we hadn't found this board and read and followed all the advise that's been given that Felix would no longer be with us, mainly due to over dosing. While our current vet agrees with home testing our original didn't. And even the new vet was a little too aggressive with her dosing and the "start low, go slow" approach won over her dumping as much insulin into him as she could. So again, thanks to all, and Felix send a purr your way as thanks as well.
 
Re: 11/22 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Hi Miztorq. I am with you there! If it wasn't for this forum my boy would not be here. I am sued of it.

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/22 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Hey this weekend while you guys are both around to watch over him, and sleep too YAY!!! :RAHCAT Next time he's over target range like this morning try this, don't shoot but feed, wait a couple hours and then test again. See if he can do it with just food alone. I kind of don't like the word remission which although medically I guess its correct, but for me the word remission means the disease is dormant as in a cancer patient going into remission, cancer is gone at least for now, remission in diabetics is really being diet controlled, or at least what I've seen with mine that have gone into remission is that instead of using insulin to control blood sugar we are using food to do the same job as the insulin was doing. Since in a normal fully functioning pancreas, it produces a trickle of insulin all the time (basal insulin) but when food is consumed it amps up production of insulin to cover the carb load. (bolus insulin in humans).

Sorry this is where my logical math and science brain takes over and applies the old if: A=B and B=C then A=C theory

If all mammals have pancreas that function the same way, and humans pancreas produces both basal insulin all the time, but produces bolus insulin in response to the intact to food, then since we know that both humans and cats are mammals, a cat's pancreas should produce a steady stream of basal insulin and bolus insulin in response to food. Follow me so far?

So if Felix is only slightly elevated by feeding him that should trigger his pancreas to do it's job and respond with basically the equivalent of that 1 drop of Lantus. at least in theory. So that he could be doing these little spikes because his natural insulin is fighting with the Lantus and triggering his liver to compensate for what it now perceives as an over production of insulin. I will be very honest in that I don't know if that is actually how it all works, but with my guy that's been in remission for 4 years I do know that lowest dose I ever gave him was .5 on a blue 115 preshot I think and he's never looked back. But with him I honestly didn't yet know that I was suppose to walk him down and off insulin. The way because he came down so quickly after his diet change I did it with him was to food trial him when he was just barely above my target 150 no shoot number, and he was dropping back into normal range again on food alone. And the lower he got eat meal and the lower he stayed until finally he was running in solid green numbers.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/22 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Hi Mel,

This evening's PMPS reading was 146. Since we gave him a drop dose this morning at 196, we have decided to up his "magic number" to 200. He went into the 50s today shooting at 196. THEN I read your message above just after deciding to up his number to 200. So we're going to give your suggestion a shot and we'll let you know how it goes.

Judi
 
Re: 11/22 Felix and his drop doses - Update

With Dusty, who lived with his owner(she couldn't test - arthritis and poor vision), I stopped by to check on him roughly weekly. He went off the juice in between visits. I tested him before his planned shot, didn't shoot because he was low, and just did a curve that day. Re-checked a week or so later and he was still going strong without insulin.

(Reminds me - I want to touch base with her and see how he's doing now!)
 
Re: 11/23 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Okay, time for the morning update! Felix's AMPS was 232. Going with Mel's suggestion, we didn't shoot, but fed. We just checked him 2 hours post feeding, and he's reading 69! Holy cow!

Once again Mel, you were spot on!
 
Re: 11/23 Felix and his drop doses - Update

wow. that's great !!! Good news.
(Mel is awesome !!!! )
 
Re: 11/23 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Happy Dance!!!! dancing_cat

Okay Mister Felix, now lets do that for 14 days so we can throw you an otj_icon party_cat

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/23 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Maybe an overnight snack may help keep him low, then.
 
Re: 11/24 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Good Afternoon everyone,

Felix is still in the green for the second full day with no shots. He's doing so well! BJM, we took your advice and gave him a teaspoon of food late last night, and he's been in the green all day. No insulin. This is so awesome!!

Judi
 
Re: 11/24 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Felix is looking great!

I will second BJM's suggestion about giving him access to some food overnight. With my cat, I free half a can of fancy feast and then put it out when I go to bed. She snacks on it as it thaws. I know you've got multiple cats, but maybe there's a way to work it out.
 
Good Morning!

Felix was at 156 AMPS this morning. I fed him and HiTorq will check him in 2 hours to see how he's doing. We've been feeding him right before we go to bed at night, which is usually pretty late, we're both night owls lately. If we can't do that, then we just get up to feed him in the middle of the night. April, the frozen food left out overnight would be great if I could depend on my other cats not scarfing it up before it even thawed. :-) Leaving food out with our ravenous bunch would result in him not getting any food, so we pretty much have to monitor it.

Judi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top