11/25 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

MizTorq

Member Since 2014
My apologies for not starting a new thread this morning and posting on the old one.

Felix's AMPS was 129, I gave him his drop dose and went to work. I checked him as soon as I walked in the door, and he was at 400. I suspect a fur shot this morning, as he was very wiggly and uncooperative. I gave him another drop dose this evening.

Just keeping everyone up to date. I'm not panicking at this point. :-)
 
Re: 11/14 Felix and his drop doses

Hi

I hope Felix's numbers come back down quickly. Remi has taken to being less co operative now he is feeling better.

I don't think you have to start a new thread each day here on relaxed. Just remember to amend the date on the first post to the right date and any description you want to add. But either way works here :-D
 
Re: 11/15 Felix and his drop doses

Good Morning!

Felix's AMPS today was 158. Definitely not a fur shot last night. I'm still astounded at what a single drop dose does for him. He went from 400 last night to 158 this morning with just a drop dose. Amazing.

Thank you to Mel and everyone else that has been following Felix's progress and explaining what is happening to him. Another day I would have given him a full 1u dose for a 400 number. Today is day 2 of the "drop" doses. He seems to be responding well, and the only jumps in numbers have been after a squiggly wiggly cat made me miss my shot. I'm still learning how to get that down, but doing better. Whatever it takes. :-D
 
Re: 11/15 Felix and his drop doses

Jenna,

Try shooting while he's eating, if you haven't. I shoot Autumn while she's whiskers deep in a bowl of grub. She never even looks up.

Ya, it really shows you how powerful of a hormone. that insulin is that we are working with here.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/15 Felix and his drop doses

Okay, I need advice. Felix's PMPS is 98. Before I give him his drop dose, should I give him his drop dose?

Is 98 too low to give him a dose?

Standing by before I give any at all. :-)
 
Re: 11/15 Felix and his drop doses

Are you going to be up for awhile to test? If yes, go ahead and shoot. See if he'll let you shoot low to stay low. If not, stall 30 minutes without feeding and retest, if rising, shoot. If still falling skip.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/15 Felix and his drop doses

Yes, I'll be up for a while. It's been 45 minutes, so I'll test to see where he is and go from there. I'm a bit shy to shoot him this low, so I wanted to check in before I did.

Thank you!
 
Re: 11/15 Felix and his drop doses

As always, you're right on the money Mel! He is at 140 so I shot. I will still test him to keep my eye on him. Thank you again!
 
Re: 11/16 Felix and his drop doses

Good Morning

I'm happy to report that Felix was at 105 AMPS this morning. These drop doses are really keeping his number pretty low, and I'm cautiously optimistic at this point that we've found the magic dose without the high highs and the low lows. Smooth and steady wins the race. The race to OTJ, that is. hehehe
 
Re: 11/16 Felix and his drop doses

Hi Juliet,

As Mel explained to me, you put the needle in the bottle, push the plunger down as hard as you can, then upend the bottle, and relax your hand. It draws a very small dose. Just one drop. Let me find the post that Mel explained it in, and I will repost it here for you. :-)

Okay, I found it. Here are Mel's words to me when trying to explain it: "To get a drop, push the plunger in as hard as you can while putting the syringe in the insulin, then just let it relax back into place pulling up the tiniest dose possible."

I hope this helps you as much as it has helped us and our sugar baby. His numbers are SO much more equalized since I started doing this. Mel is a knowledge base that is incredible, so Mel, thank you again!
 
Re: 11/16 Felix and his drop doses

Thanks. We're a long ways off from giving drops but I wondered how it was done
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP

This morning Felix's AMPS was 85. My plan is to wait an hour after feeding, check him again, and then give him his drop dose.

Am I on the right track with this train of thought? I'm taking the day from work to test him every hour or so, because at 85 AMPS I'm wondering just how low he went through the night.

*Edit*
One hour after feeding with no dose, and he's only at 100.
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

I know this will probably really muck up any kind of true dosing schedule but what you are probably going to have to do with him for awhile is shoot on an as needed basis, while his little pancreas is sputtering to come back on line all the way. To do that you set a Shoot number instead on a No Shoot number, or in other words when he reaches a particular number then you give the drop. Now my girl is on Levemir, so she has just so far extended her cycle to a 16/16 most days. But with her my shoot number is 180, once she turns the corner and starts heading up, I test frequently until she gets above 180, once she is above then I shoot.

With Felix I would use either 150 or 180 as your shoot number, once you know he is rising and it's not a food influenced number and is above your target number then shoot.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Hi Mel,

Thank you for answering that. I've been thinking about an as needed dosing regime for a couple days with his low numbers, but hadn't actually got there yet. It will be tough to do with mine and HiTorq's schedules, but somehow we'll make it happen. Better he misses a dose and goes high rather than shoot and go too low, I think. I gave him a drop dose at 100 and plan on testing every hour until his next feeding to see what his numbers look like today.
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

I'm with you, I'd rather skip and let them run high for a day, than go too low for a moment. I have the luxury of being able to chase numbers as I'm home pretty much 24/7 with mine. But yeah with both of you working it's going to be tricky for you two. But somehow we always make it work. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

One hour after drop dose. He's at 74. I will test again in an hour. As I said, I took the day from work, so I can test and give him HC food or Karo if needed. I'm watching him very closely today.
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

I usually don't break out the HC food unless I catch a hypo number (below 40) what I try to do is catch them when they are still in the 50-60 range and steer the curve by using just their regular LC food and feeding a teaspoon at a time just to hold them steady without dropping too much of soaring up too much.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Okay, I'll do that then. That I can do. He won't complain about extra food! He was at 74 when I tested him almost 30 minutes ago. I suspect I'll be giving him a bit of LC food either next reading or the one after that.
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Yep. He is at 39 at +2. I gave him a Tbsp of LC food and will test again in 20 minutes. I may have to resort to HC food if he lowers any more.

*edit*
20 minutes later and he's at 68. /whew Feel like I'm playing with a ticking time bomb today.

*2nd Edit*
He's holding at 72 for the +4.5 and the +5.
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

MizTorq said:
20 minutes later and he's at 68. /whew Feel like I'm playing with a ticking time bomb today.

nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

(Know the feeling...)
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Okay, time for an evening update. Felix is 1 hour after dinner. He was 82 when I fed him dinner, and I just checked him and he's still at 82. This is one drop of insulin 11 hours ago.

His sheet is green literally across the board today. I've checked him every hour, sometimes every 20 minutes because he did have two very low spots that worried me. He dipped below 50 twice today, 39 being his lowest.

I'm wondering how long it will be until he is at 150 (HiTorq and I decided that's his magic number). That is when I will dose him again.
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

I'm not sure. We did an OJT trial last week and it only lasted a day and a half. He wants to be OTJ I think, but his body isn't ready yet.
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Well now I'm puzzled. At his PM feeding time, he was too low to give a dose. 82. One hour after eating, he was at 82 again. Two hours after eating, 96. Three hours after eating, 95. Now, four hours after eating, he's going DOWN, he's at 86. He hasn't had his drop of insulin since 7:30 this morning, over 14 hours now.
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

He is basically "surfing". With meter variance of +- 20% those numbers are flat(no change). Youre doing great there with him, but just to be safe, I would get a +5 .
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

I just took his +5 and he's at 92. My little man is not getting a shot tonight.
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Good call..hes looking good today, just surfing along in green! and with no insulin since am. Hopefully his pancreas is coming back to life and he doesnt need much more time on that drop dose, if at all. He might still need another test, but nadir is likely +6/7 so he should be fine. If you need to sleep soon, you might feed him a bit of low carb before you do.
 
Re: 11/17 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

I went to bed, set my alarm for 2 hours and tested him again. He's sitting at 101 right now, and we're +17 from his last shot. Still not high enough to give him even a drop dose, so I think we're good till morning.
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

AMPS is 107, so no shot yet. At this point, we're +22 from his last dose. Judging by yesterday's numbers, I will not shoot then go to work. His magic number is now 150, so we will see how he's doing when I get home today. Fingers crossed!
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Just got up and saw this..sounds like a plan! yay for Silver..paws and fingers crossed here for you
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Laura&Chichi said:
Just got up and saw this..sounds like a plan! yay for Silver..paws and fingers crossed here for you

Her cat is Felix. Mine is Silver :-)
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Come on Felix!!!! :RAHCAT

Keep giving mom and dad those pretty numbers and I promise to make them give you some turkey on Thanksgiving. ;-)

He's looking really good and I like those little drops right after eating. Those are a good sign you have a pancreas trying to come online again.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Laura&Chichi said:
OOPS!! sorry Felix!! it was too early for me this morning :oops:


:lol:

Mornings are rough when you have a diabetic kitty!
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

[/]Mornings are rough when you have a diabetic kitty![/quote]
LOL yes it is
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Okay, hold on to your butts. :lol:

I got home early to take Jenna (the drooler of the bunch) to the vet for her shot. I tested Felix as soon as I walked in the door (expecting a high number here), and he was at 161! This is now +32 hours from his last dose. I have not yet given him a dose because he's on an empty tummy, but I plan to give him one at dinner since he's 11 above our magic number. But I'm REALLY glad I didn't dose him at 154 and then go to work!

Dinner time and I'll edit this post with his number at +34 before his dose.

*Edit*
Well. I tested him before feeding. His +34 and PMPS is 142. Did not shoot. I will check him again in an hour.

*2nd Edit*
One hour after eating. He's at 124. He's going down on his own with no insulin!
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

GO FELIX GO!!!

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Party time! He's now in the green (94) with no insulin.

I'm not sure what's happening, but YAY!
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Last update for the night. I tested him at almost 6 hrs after eating, and he's down to 90 on his own. /happy dance!
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/18 Felix and his drop doses - NEED HELP!

Woo Hoo Felix
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 11/19 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Awwww. Party's over. I tested him AMPS this morning and he was at 285. Not quite there yet, but it was a long time! 46 hours without a dose, so we're making progress! I gave him a drop dose this morning.
 
Re: 11/19 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Bummer that the party is over for now, but hey that was one nice run he had and with luck he'll just keep expanding out those runs until he stops needing that drop altogether. He wants off and his pancreas is trying hard to do just that, but it is still just a tiny bit weak still but then again its been on vacation for awhile so now it has to build itself back up to full speed ahead again.

You all are doing great and I'm betting its not going to be much longer and we will be throwing him his OTJ party.

Mel and The Fur Gang.
 
Re: 11/19 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Evening update: His PMPS is 120, so no shot this evening, at least not until he's up above 150. I'll check him again an hour after food to see what he's doing. :-)
 
Re: 11/19 Felix and his drop doses - Update

Altogether now ...

Go Felix!
Go Felix!
Go Felix!
Go Felix!

\M/

Isn't it so :cool: to see the numbers go down after grub! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top