11/25 Crushy pmps 402

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86

Get the heck out of Dodge! :mrgreen:
Really?

Well he doesn't like it when you get impatient and threaten R.
I think his numbers are going to still be off until the AB runs it's course anyway.
It will be hard until then to know things aren't skewed by that.

If you gotta be holed up testing it's a good day for it. ~O)

I see MC in your future Crushy. Hopefully you can steer him away from the bounce that he LOVES so much.
The boy's gotta learn to love the lows as much as he loves his highs. Purry during lows Crushy...that is what we are going for.
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
gooooooooooooooooooooo crushy!!!

michelle, use food to try to keep him above 50 (prop him up) if you can. it would be nice if he can hold onto this dose for a little longer in an effort to squash those bounces...
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86

hmmm, it looks like it might be time for me to revise my advice to take a testing break if Crushy is pink at +2. :lol: Nice shooting.
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109

thanks Betty, Libby and JIll! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Do you think I should go ahead and start feeding MC seeing as his +1 didnt raise much?

things usually get exciting around +2.....usually! I dont know, these late nadirs are new
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109

if i were in your shoes, i would wait to feed until +2. i'd feed at +2 if he stays about the same as 109 or continues to slide downwards. if his numbers go up, i wouldn't feed.

all you want to do is to get him surfing and get him bumped up enough to keep him over 50.

this is not a good day to think about losing weight if you want to try to hold onto the dose because of the bounce that's sure to follow. you can feed him a little less once he starts the bounce.

make sense?
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109

when you say you wouldnt feed at +2 if his #s go up does that mean dont feed at all or dont feed MC?

I normally feed LC at ps +1 +2 +3

Im thinking you mean dont feed MC....I just want to clarify

yes holding this dose trumps the diet today...Crushy wont argue with more food. ;-)
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109

Michele M said:
when you say you wouldnt feed at +2 if his #s go up does that mean dont feed at all or dont feed MC?

I normally feed LC at ps +1 +2 +3
just this once, i wouldn't feed at +2 if his numbers go up... only because you *could* need that food portion later in case he decides to nadir later. right now, it's unclear which way he's headed. too soon to tell.

Im thinking you mean dont feed MC....I just want to clarify
yes. sorry. i should have made it clear. feed LC. the only time you want to pull out MC or even HC is to stop the momentum OR slow things down.

yes holding this dose trumps the diet today...Crushy wont argue with more food. ;-)
ha-ha! alex has a soul mate. i'm currently manipulating her curve with food because i want to hang onto her dose. she's not complaining! :lol:
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109

Wowzers! Surf Crushy surf!!!! :mrgreen: :-D Bounces B Gone!!!!
Have a wonderful day Michele!
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109 +2 129

thanks Kim. lol @ bounces be gone!

I went to fill the prescription for R yesterday JIll and I couldnt for the life of me find the script. I just found it in a file that I swear I looked in 5 times yesterday! anyway, I think I can fill it pretty quickly. There is a pharmacy very close to my house. When he starts bouncing would be a good time to use it no?

Edit: scratch that...I dont think Im going to be able to get it until later today :(
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109 +2 129

yes, it would be a good time to use it, BUT for now i would only use it at the very beginning of a pronounced bounce. for example, the PM cycle on 11/18. that 510 at PM+8 would have been a good time to use it if it were a daytime cycle instead of a night time cycle (only because i wouldn't want you to have to stay up all night). the basic idea in using R is to pull the numbers down about 50 - 100 points only. anything more than that usually sets kitty up for yet another bounce.

initially, you'd start with a tiny dose of 0.1u R and test every hour for four hours. just like lantus, you'll want to learn crushy's onset, nadir, and duration with R. he might give you an opportunity to try it this afternoon if you're able to pick it up.

01unit-1.jpg



i'll be back with more. i have to test and feed...



oops! i was typing while you edited your post.
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109 +2 129

+3 127
go ahead and feed him if you haven't already. we don't want any starving kitties! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109 +2 129

this recent thread is a good one to read in regard to using a bolus insulin in addition to the basal insulin for ebby: Ebby Start Bolus Insulin?. pay special attention to libby's first post in that thread... especially the part about giving R at the very beginning of a bounce only.

  • you never want the nadirs of the basal and bolus insulin to coincide.
  • you never want to give R as the bounce is breaking.
  • start with a tiny dose of R. we suggest no more than 0.1 unit. it won't take long to find out if crushy requires more than 0.1u R.
  • test every hour for the first 4 - 5 hours after giving R. you'll want to know when onset and nadir occur as well as how much duration crushy gets from R. this data will will eventually help you develop a sliding scale for R (if necessary).
if and when you'd like to use R, please post for help. one of our experienced bolus users can double check crushy's spreadsheet to make sure it's a good time to try R. besides, it always a good idea to have another set of eyes when you're trying out a new technique. ;-)
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109 +2 129

+4 132 nice! you can either feed him or hold his last portion for a little later.
it's up to you. i don't want him chewing your arm off! :shock:
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109 +2 129 +3 127 +4 132

thanks for the info Jill, It will be good to have when the time comes

He's just cruising along in the low blues *antiJinx*

I gave him some food at +4

I have to run an errand for about an hour and a half so stay there Crushy!
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109 +2 129 +3 127 +4 132

Hi Michele,

Nice flat blues for Crushy! I am glad that he is feeling more like himself.
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109 +2 129 +3 127 +4 132

What a nice day for Crushy!

I'm hoping he will decide he doesn't need to bounce and you won't need the R.

If you look on Gracies SS, you'll see I gave her R at +9 last night when she was headed up fast. Usually, it brings her down but last night was a perfect example of how it stopped the bounce cold and then brought her down just a bit.....but it also opened the door for the lev to work and she was in green most of the day.
 
Re: 11/25 Crushy amps 86 +1 109 +2 129 +3 127 +4 132

thanks Catherine!

Nice Marje! Ill be able to grab some R tomorrow so Ill be prepared next time. He had a great day today but Im getting pretty sick of these red numbers :-Q

Hopefully this bounce is somewhat short

So would right now have been a good time for R insulin? or would +10 have been? (assuming he was high then like Im pretty sure he was)
 
Since you were past nadir when you got the 291 at +8, for Crushy, I would have given it then. He likely would not have gone up nearly that high. Whenever I've given it to Gracie, it normally brings her down but there have been two occasions (this morning being one) where I think she was going to bounce pretty hard and it just stopped it and even brought her down a bit.

It will be interesting to see how he does with .1u. I have never been able to give Gracie more than .1u because she typically has a pretty good response to it.
 
thanks Marje, that makes sense. Ive also been reading the link Jill posted so I feel a little more prepared for when this happens next time.

Im off to Wal Mart tomorrow to get the R. Today just totally got away from me and I didnt make it. T'was not meant to be!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top