11/25 Callie AMPS 113; PMPS 73, +2.25 72, +5.5 61, + 8.25 97

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
Previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...s-72-2-5-74-3-75-88-5-80.255887/#post-2881414

Callie has been on a mission this past week and has gone down from 5U to our current dose of 4.25. Tonight will be the 5th cycle of 4.25 and she seems to be angling to go low again.

If she drops below 50 this cycle, would Callie earn another reduction or would we need to wait the full 6 cycles after the last reduction to be sure that the higher depot isn't at play?

I am trying to figure out if I should give her some higher carbs before onset to keep her in higher greens or just feed her regular LC and let her earn another reduction if that's what she wants.

Thanks!

Happy Thanksgiving to all those celebrating it today!
 
I will still keep my comments in how you two are doing, in order not to jinx it :woot::woot:

just wanted to remind you not to overdo it with the HC food, not to keep her for too long on a dose if she is ready to go down. @Gill & George told me a scary story once of how she kept George on a dose for too long and when he wanted to go to a lower one he really showed it :eek::eek: Gill had to bring all the heavy artillery in to manage the situation, the story says everything was covered in honey :eek::eek: if Callie wants to go down the ladder let her drop under 50 and then intervene, you already have more experience of how she reacts to HC :) the difference now is that since she is in green/blue, she is bouncing much less and her cycles should be much more stable (am i right abt it or not?), this might be as well the reason why now you “overdo” it with the HC food when just a couple of weeks ago the intervention might have been really needed.

No matter what, you know Callie much better than anyone, i only judge based on quick look at the spreadsheet so please trust your gut more than mine, with time i will learn to read into Callies SS as well but for now i speak from our experience with Chico :bighug::bighug: good luck

Thanks, Marina. That's a good reminder for me, especially when I am feeding Callie HC out of fear (which is prob a good amount of the time :rolleyes:)

My thinking the last couple of days was that I should try to keep Callie in the upper greens with HC because I didn't think she could earn a reduction so close to her last one. I know it takes 4-6 cycles before the higher depot drains but I am not sure if that means that Callie can earn a reduction after the 4th cycle or if she has to wait 6 or if I'm off base altogether...

I am definitely feeling like this is a totally different world of FD (blues and greens and less bouncing - anti-jinx!!!) vs where we were even just a week or two ago so I really appreciate you looking in on us and helping me spot things I'm missing or suggesting things that helped you during Chico's journey. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Marina. That's a good reminder for me, especially when I am feeding Callie HC out of fear (which is prob a good amount of the time :rolleyes:)

My thinking the last couple of days was that I should try to keep Callie in the upper greens with HC because I didn't think she could earn a reduction so close to her last one. I know it takes 4-6 cycles before the higher depot drains but I am not sure if that means that Callie can earn a reduction after the 4th cycle or if she has to wait 6 or if I'm off base altogether...

I am definitely feeling like this is a totally different world of FD (blues and greens and less bouncing - anti-jinx!!!) vs where we were even just a week or two ago so I really appreciate you looking in on us and helping me spot things I'm missing or suggesting things that helped you during Chico's journey. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I think you are doing great not to rush with the decrease, this was our thinking as well: not to decrease too quickly :D its really a balancing act :rolleyes:
usually you can say that the depot will drain most in the first 3 cycles, the better she manages to hold the numbers after that, the safer to say she held the previous reduction. You have to understand that if she won’t get HC it still doesn’t mean she will immediately go for the next reduction :) that is the difference between bouncing cycles and the calmer green/blue.
as an example i would say there was no need to give HC today at 3.5AM cycle, she was at a safe value, if you feel anxious and afraid that she might drop, test every half an hour (or even every 20min if you feel like it) until you will start feeling more at ease with what her own body will do. You can interfere with LC when you feel like you need to. By testing every half an hour you will have plenty of time to intervene if you need to. We did that a loooot :D but it helped us learn his patterns and get rid of some anxiety

With Chico he went down the dosing ladder relatively quickly until he got to 0.5, and he stayed there for a very long time without too much change or intervention. with Callie i would say she is on a fairly high dose, thats why i would expect her to want to get to a lower one now that her pancreas started working and stop at a lower dose for a while. Of course Callie will say what she needs and i am sure you will continue doing a great job at reading it and helping her :) :bighug:
 
If she drops below 50 this cycle, would Callie earn another reduction or would we need to wait the full 6 cycles after the last reduction to be sure that the higher depot isn't at play?

I am trying to figure out if I should give her some higher carbs before onset to keep her in higher greens or just feed her regular LC and let her earn another reduction if that's what she wants.
It's safe to say that the previous depot will be out of the picture by now. There is no harm in using higher carbs occasionally to keep them at a dose. When they want a reduction they will earn it despite that! :-)

Last night she didn't need the HC after +1.5, so tonight I would go easy on the carbs after +1.5 or so and see if she can surf mid-greens through the cycle.
 
I think you are doing great not to rush with the decrease, this was our thinking as well: not to decrease too quickly :D its really a balancing act :rolleyes:
usually you can say that the depot will drain most in the first 3 cycles, the better she manages to hold the numbers after that, the safer to say she held the previous reduction. You have to understand that if she won’t get HC it still doesn’t mean she will immediately go for the next reduction :) that is the difference between bouncing cycles and the calmer green/blue.
as an example i would say there was no need to give HC today at 3.5AM cycle, she was at a safe value, if you feel anxious and afraid that she might drop, test every half an hour (or even every 20min if you feel like it) until you will start feeling more at ease with what her own body will do. You can interfere with LC when you feel like you need to. By testing every half an hour you will have plenty of time to intervene if you need to. We did that a loooot :D but it helped us learn his patterns and get rid of some anxiety

With Chico he went down the dosing ladder relatively quickly until he got to 0.5, and he stayed there for a very long time without too much change or intervention. with Callie i would say she is on a fairly high dose, thats why i would expect her to want to get to a lower one now that her pancreas started working and stop at a lower dose for a while. Of course Callie will say what she needs and i am sure you will continue doing a great job at reading it and helping her :) :bighug:
Makes sense, thanks Marina!
 
It's safe to say that the previous depot will be out of the picture by now. There is no harm in using higher carbs occasionally to keep them at a dose. When they want a reduction they will earn it despite that! :)

Last night she didn't need the HC after +1.5, so tonight I would go easy on the carbs after +1.5 or so and see if she can surf mid-greens through the cycle.
@Bandit's Mom Thanks, Bhooma. Here's our night so far:

I gave her a teaspoon of HC at +1 because she was only 70 (69 AT) and I was worried about a fast drop at onset.

+2.25 was 72 and I gave her reg LC snack

+3 67 but 65 on AT. I gave her 1 tspn of HC (because of the AT 65) in her reg LC snack but am not sure if I should do more? And does this mean another reduction since the higher depot is likely depleted?
 
+3 67 but 65 on AT. I gave her 1 tspn of HC (because of the AT 65) in her reg LC snack but am not sure if I should do more? And does this mean another reduction since the higher depot is likely depleted?
Yes, take another reduction since she is below 68 on AT. It's interesting that she drops low on AT but no so much on ReliOn!
 
Yes, take another reduction since she is below 68 on AT. It's interesting that she drops low on AT but no so much on ReliOn!
Interesting and kind of annoying. It has happened that way all 3 times. I worry it means that she's not really earning the reductions but on the other hand, it feels unsafe knowing she's hitting below 68 on AT and ignoring it so here we are...

Should I give more HC now or hold off and see where we are at +4? It's now +3.5.
 
Thank you :) +5.5 61 and I just gave her another tiny LC snack. Should I get a +6.5 to make sure she's going up to be safe?
She has earned a reduction and has nothing to prove. You can feed a tiny amount of HC and test after another couple of hours - if you can nap, that is.
 
She has earned a reduction and has nothing to prove. You can feed a tiny amount of HC and test after another couple of hours - if you can nap, that is.
LOL you have no idea how good at napping I've gotten over the last four months.

So when you say tiny amount - is 1 teaspoon good? That's what I've been giving her most of the time to try to keep her surfing. I feel like she's not that carb sensitive so it doesn't bring her up much at all, at least not early in the cycle when I've mostly been giving it.

And set an alarm for +8? (It is now +6)
 
upload_2021-11-26_2-23-35.jpeg


Great, thanks Bhooma. I'll post the +8ish in a couple hours. :)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-11-26_2-23-35.jpeg
    upload_2021-11-26_2-23-35.jpeg
    18.4 KB · Views: 227
Congratulations on the reduction :bighug: hope Callie continues with the same serious intentions :woot::woot: not great for Jessica’s sleep but great for Callie :D:D
having Bhooma on the team is just lifesaving :cat:
:woot::woot::woot: Thanks, Marina! :bighug: Callie is definitely on a mission! :D Fingers crossed, anti-jinx etc etc etc!!

And agree 100% - there is no way we could be doing this without Bhooma's support, guidance, expertise, patience -- I could go on and on!
 
Back
Top