11/25 Blue 180 AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty and Blue GA & Brat

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-24-blue-amps-245.239052/

Well, it was a long night but so worth it. I don't want to jinx it but he did not bounce
yesterday at all. OMG I'm so excited. He's starting at 180 AMPS today so as Elise said
"shoot low to stay low".
A nap will be in order for today because well because....I think I forgot to test him
the last time I had planned but it all worked out. I think my brain stopped working
at some point this morning. See I'm rambling...
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-24-blue-amps-245.239052/

Well, it was a long night but so worth it. I don't want to jinx it but he did not bounce
yesterday at all. OMG I'm so excited. He's starting at 180 AMPS today so as Elise said
"shoot low to stay low".
A nap will be in order for today because well because....I think I forgot to test him
the last time I had planned but it all worked out. I think my brain stopped working
at some point this morning. See I'm rambling...
REST WELL YOU EARNED IT...Take Blue with you:bighug:
 
Maybe we'll get used to the blues first.
From the TR guidelines:

General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
[Emphasis mine]
Although Blue has seen blue numbers here and there in the past, he's not had such a long run in this range before. @tiffmaxee, would the highlighted item above be applicable for Blue here? If yes, then which cycle should the count start from?


Mogs
.
 
Look at Shiloh ‘s Gideon Blue ‘s spreadsheet again.
Looking at the spreadsheet, after Gideon started doing well on the 2.5IU dose, the next adjustment was 0.1IU, not the full 0.25IU. Perhaps Patty could do similar after Blue (hopefully) gets a wee bit more stable after another couple of cycles like this?


Mogs
.
 
Looking at the spreadsheet, after Gideon started doing well on the 2.5IU dose, the next adjustment was 0.1IU, not the full 0.25IU. Perhaps Patty could do similar after Blue (hopefully) gets a wee bit more stable after another couple of cycles like this?


Mogs
.

Yes. I suggested she do smaller increases and decreases for awhile as I had to do that with Max. Gideon also was on steroids like Blue. I see a lot of similarities. That’s why I keep wanting you to look at his spreadsheet Patty. She works some nights and couldn’t test. It took some time but now her husband and her son get a few tests in when that happens if necessary so we couldn’t be as aggressive.
 
He's at 178 +3 so on a slow decline. I've been testing every 30 minutes. Should I continue that?

If you look at yesterday, he was lowest at +8 I think, so I gave him a teaspoon of food. Maybe once he adjusts to lower numbers, and me as well, we won't feel a need to do that. I haven't given anything supplemental today.
 
He's at 178 +3 so on a slow decline. I've been testing every 30 minutes. Should I continue that?

If you look at yesterday, he was lowest at +8 I think, so I gave him a teaspoon of food. Maybe once he adjusts to lower numbers, and me as well, we won't feel a need to do that. I haven't given anything supplemental today.

I think you can go an hour for the next test.
 
B6A1F611-AB3F-445C-B063-B176AB5FBEDF.jpeg
Blue and Brat still sharing the baby scale. It's exactly where I opened the box when I got it. LOL cat bed.
 

Attachments

  • B6A1F611-AB3F-445C-B063-B176AB5FBEDF.jpeg
    B6A1F611-AB3F-445C-B063-B176AB5FBEDF.jpeg
    79.8 KB · Views: 222
He's at 77 now and I gave him the 10% but a small amount when I fed the others.

Brat is only 5 lbs. but Blue would prefer to have the "bed" for his own. I had to put a blanket by it for the one that doesn't get it first. They share. Just what I wanted cat beds on my kitchen counter. LOL At least I know where to find them and when I give them food, Blue goes to the island and Brat is on the counter. :rolleyes: It works for now.
 
I just checked him again and he's 84 +8 and I fed a little 10% again. What is the least number he can be that I can dose him tonight? Getting nervous again.

Don’t have a heart attack when you read this. With TR you can shoot 50 or above. Feed him a little mc right before +10. I have a hair appointment in about 45 minutes and will be gone for about 2 1/2 hours. If your shoot low I will help you navigate and won’t leave you unless someone takes my place. What time is your shot time?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top