11/25, Binie, AMPS 382, +3 227, +6 52L/93 Accu Check

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-24-binie-amps-370-3-372-6-341.295968/#post-3223015

Good evening,

after six cycles in pink, red and black Binie finally broke the bounce. Yeahhh!

She choose my lunch break for it so I was able to test. At +6 I gave her a tsp. of 20 % Sheba tuna filet because she was 93 on the Accu Check but only 52 on the libre and I was scared, the sensor would quit working after just one day.

I didn't like it because now I don't know, if she would have earned a reduction. On the other hand I wondered if it would be good to prevent her from getting lower so the bounce might be not so big. Still a lot of questions in my mind. We'll see what she will do tonight and tomorrow, I hope she is not bouncing to the moon again. :banghead:

On Wednesday I have to leave the house directly after the shot and spend the first day in office after Binies diagnosis. My neighbor is looking after her but I really hope she doesn't have a day like today on Wednesday. My neighbor can't test on the ear so she has to rely on the sensor only. I think she would have - understandably - stuffed Binie with carbs today. :rolleyes:

I hope everyone has a relaxed Monday and a safe surf! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-24-binie-amps-370-3-372-6-341.295968/#post-3223015

Good evening,

after six cycles in pink, red and black Binie finally broke the bounce. Yeahhh!

She choose my lunch break for it so I was able to test. At +6 I gave her a tsp. of 20 % Sheba tuna filet because she was 93 on the Accu Check but only 52 on the libre and I was scared, the sensor would quit working after just one day.

I didn't like it because now I don't know, if she would have earned a reduction. On the other hand I wondered if it would be good to prevent her from getting lower so the bounce might be not so big. Still a lot of questions in my mind. We'll see what she will do tonight and tomorrow, I hope she is not bouncing to the moon again. :banghead:

On Wednesday I have to leave the house directly after the shot and spend the first day in office after Binies diagnosis. My neighbor is looking after her but I really hope she doesn't have a day like today on Wednesday. My neighbor can't test on the ear so she has to rely on the sensor only. I think she would have - understandably - stuffed Binie with carbs today. :rolleyes:

I hope everyone has a relaxed Monday and a safe surf! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike,
Well the good news is that the dose is working, finally!
Binie takes her time getting the new dose going.

I think it was ok to give her some carbs when you did. The results you got Libre/Accu Check sounds sort of similar to what I get.

I find when the sensor remains in very "LO" readings for many hours is when the sensor quits. Not from one low reading.

We will all keep everything crossed for Wednesday to be a calm day for Binie and your neighbor. Thank goodness she will "babysit" for your sweet baby!! And she knows how to read the Libre. What a great help she is!!

Wishing you and Binie a calm surf tonight :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Looks like while Binie was in greens there for a brief time around +6 so I’m glad you checked with the handheld. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with giving her a little extra carb because in Binie’s case, the greens are few and far between, and she spends a lot of the rest of her time in higher numbers. A reduction wouldn’t have been of much benefit, so avoiding one was a good idea.
 
Stay safe Binie! Be a good girl for mommy who needs to earn money for your churo’s :)

I hope today and tomorrow are peaceful!

Thank you so much Colleen! I think tonight and tomorrow she will bounce. :rolleyes: I wish she would go down tomorrow night, so I would be sure she bounces on Wednesday. But they never do what we want, right? :cat: Anyhow - I have to earn money for churos.... :)
 
Hi Heike,
Well the good news is that the dose is working, finally!
Binie takes her time getting the new dose going.

I think it was ok to give her some carbs when you did. The results you got Libre/Accu Check sounds sort of similar to what I get.

I find when the sensor remains in very "LO" readings for many hours is when the sensor quits. Not from one low reading.

We will all keep everything crossed for Wednesday to be a calm day for Binie and your neighbor. Thank goodness she will "babysit" for your sweet baby!! And she knows how to read the Libre. What a great help she is!!

Wishing you and Binie a calm surf tonight :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci,

thank you so much for the clarification, that the sensor only dies if it is "low" for a longer period of time. I think you already mentioned it in the past but I needed to hear it again to be less scared the next time.

Yes, Binie took her time to make the dose work. I am curious, how long she is bouncing this time. :facepalm:

My neighbor is so super sweet, to do this for us! And they like each other a lot. I can see that Binie is always excited to see her. I think Binie misses a bit having social contacts. When she was roaming through the neighborhood she had many friends. Now she spends most of her time with me, which seems to be a little boring. Even though I think my neigbour would cope well, I hope she does not have to deal with a drop below 100.

I hope Ivy also makes her new dose work. I think that was a good start today!

Hope you are having a nice day Staci! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Looks like while Binie was in greens there for a brief time around +6 so I’m glad you checked with the handheld. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with giving her a little extra carb because in Binie’s case, the greens are few and far between, and she spends a lot of the rest of her time in higher numbers. A reduction wouldn’t have been of much benefit, so avoiding one was a good idea.

Thank you Christie for this comment, that makes a lot of sense to me! The only thing which concerns me about not giving reductions is, that on some days I simply have to leave the house to work and can't monitor and feed. But maybe feeding higher carb on these days is the better solution, than lowering the dose for all days.

Hope you and Maverick have a great day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
But maybe feeding higher carb on these days is the better solution, than lowering the dose for all days.
As you know, Heike, when I go out for a few hours for dinner, I feed Ivy 12.5% to attempt to hold her a little higher when I’m out. (sometimes it works better than other times).
If she’s in a deep dive cycle, it doesn’t seem to do too much, but I guess it’s better than not having carbs on board.

Normally, I feed her 6% as long as I’m going to be home.
Unless of course she’s in a diving cycle at the pre-shot and sometimes at that point, I will give her 9% or 12% to try to keep her from diving too hard and too fast at the beginning of the cycle. Again, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.
But I’d say if you’re going to be out of the house, it can’t hurt her to have a little bit higher carbs and it’s only going to affect that cycle.
Better safe!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

thank you so much for the clarification, that the sensor only dies if it is "low" for a longer period of time. I think you already mentioned it in the past but I needed to hear it again to be less scared the next time.

Yes, Binie took her time to make the dose work. I am curious, how long she is bouncing this time. :facepalm:

My neighbor is so super sweet, to do this for us! And they like each other a lot. I can see that Binie is always excited to see her. I think Binie misses a bit having social contacts. When she was roaming through the neighborhood she had many friends. Now she spends most of her time with me, which seems to be a little boring. Even though I think my neigbour would cope well, I hope she does not have to deal with a drop below 100.

I hope Ivy also makes her new dose work. I think that was a good start today!

Hope you are having a nice day Staci! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
I’m sure Binie will have a very nice visit with her friend on Wednesday. You’re both so lucky she is around and happy to help!

:bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
As you know, Heike, when I go out for a few hours for dinner, I feed Ivy 12.5% to attempt to hold her a little higher when I’m out. (sometimes it works better than other times).
If she’s in a deep dive cycle, it doesn’t seem to do too much, but I guess it’s better than not having carbs on board.

Normally, I feed her 6% as long as I’m going to be home.
Unless of course she’s in a diving cycle at the pre-shot and sometimes at that point, I will give her 9% or 12% to try to keep her from diving too hard and too fast at the beginning of the cycle. Again, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.
But I’d say if you’re going to be out of the house, it can’t hurt her to have a little bit higher carbs and it’s only going to affect that cycle.
Better safe!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much this guideline Staci! I think I have still room for improvement if it comes to using carbs in a good way. I used to feed her 5 % when I was at home and then there was a huge gap and the next percentage was 20 %. Now I found out that she likes the 10 % food much more than the 5 % and I sometimes give it just to make her eat more wet food.

I think I will give her the 10 % on Wednesday with a spoon of 20 %. And I leave 20 % with my neighbor and she can give it, if Binie is going too low.

You really have such a carefully designed system, so great! Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you so much this guideline Staci! I think I have still room for improvement if it comes to using carbs in a good way. I used to feed her 5 % when I was at home and then there was a huge gap and the next percentage was 20 %. Now I found out that she likes the 10 % food much more than the 5 % and I sometimes give it just to make her eat more wet food.

I think I will give her the 10 % on Wednesday with a spoon of 20 %. And I leave 20 % with my neighbor and she can give it, if Binie is going too low.

You really have such a carefully designed system, so great! Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I just share details with you as what I do. Since all of our cats are different, you will find what is best for Binie.
But for me it helps to know what others have tried. It gets me to understand more and to try to apply the lessons to Ivy.

I hope it helps you and gives you some peace of mind. I know how hard it is to have to leave the house and have the worry on your mind.

You've learned soooo much and do such a great job!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It is raining outside and Binie spends the evening in her wooden house on the terrace. The beautiful decorations on the sides are all made by Binie. They are the reason, I never have to care about her nails. :p
upload_2024-11-25_23-8-20.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-25_23-8-20.png
    upload_2024-11-25_23-8-20.png
    628.8 KB · Views: 127
It’s good she manicures her own nails outside on her terrace house :p
She looks so adorable in her little house :kiss::kiss:

Binie is always very busy decorating the house. But for the fine tuning of her nails she prefers the sofa. :rolleyes:

I just managed to get her inside with a little snack. Even though it became warm again, I think old ladies should sleep inside. :)

Thank you so much for checking on us again! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, that pic of Binie in her wooden house is adorable. She's so precious. That's so nice of your neighbor to keep an eye on Binie. Be a good girl for your mama Binie and surf safely :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Bonnie looks so sweet in her box! Such a pretty girl! Tiger fine tunes his nails on an ottoman we made just for him!

we’re doing the same thing with doses. Not quite a full increase but just a hair more, and he still drops down. It seems impossible to get just the right dose!

wishing you luck on Wednesday. So glad you have such a sweet neighbor. You’re so lucky!

hugs to both of you!
 
Bonnie looks so sweet in her box! Such a pretty girl! Tiger fine tunes his nails on an ottoman we made just for him!

we’re doing the same thing with doses. Not quite a full increase but just a hair more, and he still drops down. It seems impossible to get just the right dose!

wishing you luck on Wednesday. So glad you have such a sweet neighbor. You’re so lucky!

hugs to both of you!

Hi Deb,

thank you so much for checking on us! Tiger is so happy to have his own ottoman. :cat:
Sorry to hear that it is still hard to find the right dose for Tiger. We are in the same club!

Please give Tiger a skin scratch from me! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top