11/25 Biddy - high BG

Hi there! I hope you’re doing well. Traveling at all over this weekend? Do you get days off this week from the vet?

As for Biddy, I spent quite a bit of time last night pondering his spreadsheet. If you think there’s nothing new going on with his health then the only other thing I can think of is that this dose has gone stale for him and to increase by .25. That does happen sometimes. Hopefully we can bump him out of the higher numbers and maybe even take his dose back down over time.
 
I noticed the trend beginning around the first of November but becoming more pronounced recently. Has he been recently checked over at your vet? Appetite still good? Bowels? He seems stable on his meds? No new proteins introduced?
 
Just a short trip to visit my fiancé's family tomorrow. They live about an hour from us. We are both lucky enough to have tomorrow and Friday off. Any big holiday plans for you?

Biddy hasn't been seen by his vet for a couple months but has an appointment next Thursday for an exam and bloodwork. His appetite is great, his stools are solid, and he seems to be thriving! He's been eating the Farmina Digestion formula (lamb and quail) since September and tolerated the transition far better than I could have hoped for.

I am feeling a bit frustrated with our vet (my boss) because after I gave her his last glucose curve, she mentioned that she believes he is going into remission! She told me to text her if his preshot is under 150 and she will likely lower his dose by HALF. I feel conflicted because I do not want to go against her directions but I thought that was absolutely bananas and I have lost quite a bit of trust in her...
 
Wow. That’s amazing. Remission! Biddy is far from remission (as you and I both know.) Gosh I wonder how high Biddy’s BG would go with a dose cut to 3 units! I am kind of speechless.
 
When was the last curve you showed the vet? I see some beautiful numbers on November 4, but that was with the help of 6 units of insulin.
 
Yes, November 4th was the curve I showed her. I was very pleased with his numbers that day but I was shocked when I heard the word remission! Yikes!
 
Hello. I hope you had a good Thanksgiving.

It’s disappointing to see that his numbers haven’t moved much. It’s all good news with the bloodwork though — so we should be happy with that.

If Biddy were my cat, I would continue to increase until I reached a breakthrough dose. I can’t think of anything else except that cats’ insulin requirements can change over time. You said his appetite is good and stools are normal. And his arthritis? How is that?
 
His appetite is great and stools have never looked better! We’ve been doing Solensia the past few months with great results. He’s getting around much better.
 
Back
Top