11/25/14- China PMBG 500

Status
Not open for further replies.

animallvr64

Member Since 2014
Good Morning,

I just did my AMPS and it was 131 haven't had to deal with these numbers that much, so not sure if I should give China her shot of 1.75U or wait a bit and retest and go from that number? I have to leave for work at about 6:15am any help would be appericated !!

Thanks
Vickie&China
 
Re: 11/25/14- China AMPS 131- Do I shoot or not? HELP

If you don't have the data to know if China will go low today, and you can't be home to check on her, you may want to skip the shot.
 
Re: 11/25/14- China AMPS 131- Do I shoot or not? HELP

Thanks for the advice, I just retested her been about 20 minutes and she ate LC food as well and her number went down to 125. Am holding off on the shot, since I can't be home to monitor her until this afternoon.

Vickie&China
 
Re: 11/25/14- China AMPS 131- Do I shoot or not? HELP

That's a very nice number for China this morning, but you made a very wise move holding off on her shot since you can't be there to monitor. Eventually, you will work you way down do shooting numbers like the 131, but you do need to be data-ready, and you do need to be able to monitor. China may bounce back up by this evening from the skipped shot, but she'll get back on track!

Since you didn't shoot this morning, you can change the "AMPS" (AM pre-shot) in your subject line to "AMBG" (AM blood glucose), and also make a not in the shot column of China's SS that you did not shoot.

Have a great day, Vickie!
 
Well just as I thought her +10 was 591 due to not giving injection this AM due to low number,and couldn't be home to monitor her. Checked her at +2 and it went down to 590. I fed her, and gave insulin 1 1/2 early due to high number and her not getting an injection this AM. So will do another spot check at +3, and see where she is at. Or should I give it a little longer since it was so high before I check again?

Thanks
Vickie&China
 
A +3, or even a +2, is a good idea. You never can tell how fast a kitty will come down from a high number. This will give you an idea of what she'll do tonight. Sorry she was so high after the skipped shot, but safety comes first. She'll get back on track.
 
Just fyi, anytime you've skipped a shot you can shoot early - really any time after the +12 that works. I agree that while 131 is a very shootable number, you wouldn't want to shoot that low the first time when you can't monitor to learn what she'll do afterwards. If you have the chance again and you're going to be home, then you may want to go for it. Depends on the situation.

In general, we suggest that anytime you shoot a number lower than you have shot before, you get a +1 and a +2 to make sure she's not diving and to see how she's responding to the shot.

Since you shot early tonight (good call on that, btw) your next shot is due 12 hrs later. To get back on your regular schedule, you can just shift it later a bit at a time over the next few cycles until you're where you want to be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top