11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95 +4 86 +5 85 +6 79 +7 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim & Twice

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Good Morning LL ~O) ~O)
Twice and I got up for our +11, then btb...up for AMPS then btb...up for +2, then Elsa showed up and the show got moving!
I don't think I have done a btb since this all started and let me tell you, I feel goooooood! :-D
Twice gave me a pdlb first thing this morning and did all his business (even kept his butt inside the lb for his poo!) and all looked great. Then he finished his breffis, grabbed his evil prey and came to snuggle. I swear I have never seen him so happy and wonder if he has always felt a little off or if it's the extra just mommy time :-D :-D I'm thinking the latter, he is a sucky bear.
Well my Seattle Seahawks don't play this week, and the must see game for this weekend isn't until the late night game (Den/NE), so I am free free free.....to clean.

Healing vines to all in need, Feel Better vines for Jupe (such a brave tough kitty), and Heart Healing for Marje & Mike and the still too many others that have suffered a loss so recently.

Hope everyone has a great Sunday!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Nice start for Twice this morning. :mrgreen: You forgot to add the green smiley.

It's great to hear he's is feeling so good. I'm sure the extra mommy time helps.
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Morning Kim ~O) ~O) ~O)
Auntie Kim!!! I gots your brews! OPENS OPENS OPENS! I can do refills too - just let me know, 'K? ~~ Elsa, Lil BIT, kitteh barista

LOVE that amps! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool: GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Twice! but surf nicely too - that 85 is a great thing to hold on too.

Isn't it just the best when our kitties BG's get in line, they feel good, and are ever so happy. Good job Twice - keep that coming. Us beans love that stuff.

LOL on the free to clean... that is on the agenda here too. well maybe, should I ever pick up that dust mop, get out that vacuum, decide that those counters really do need a once over... Good luck!

Enjoy your day today. I hope it is a good one. Football Sunday - woohoo!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Morning Kim,

Great number Twice!! Hope he surfs near that for you all day :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I know what you mean about a nice btb. It is the best thing if you have to be attached to a alarm every day :-D

Enjoy your Sunday - it is nice to cross some things off of the to-do list, while Twice allows it :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Nice start for the super-duper happy kitty Twice! Yes, the BTBs are awesome, and become soooooo necessary! Have a great day cleaning (?), Kim! I don't watch pro football anymore (Since I'm in NJ, we were Philly fans...I've been boycotting ever since they took on Vick, and will continue to do so even long after Vick is gone), but I still watch college ball (Notre Dame)...I love football season. Enjoy the game tonight!!!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

@ Michelle- Yes I can't tell you how much I loved seeing that 85! And to be stress free home today to watch what he does with it :mrgreen:
And yes, cleaning....if I pick up a rag or the vacuum and don't get too distracted by more interesting things :lol:

@ Elsa-Refill please honey!!

@ Jane-In fact I am btb now but can't sleep anymore :lol:

@ Amy-Be a rebel, cheer for the Seahawks!! Yes about Vick. He is a waste of skin for fighting those dogs and I don't care what he says about his rehab from it, I will not support that team at all because they continued to keep him and shook hands with animal cruelty. :evil:
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Morning Kim! By those colours I judge that Twice is a SK fan even if you aren't :lol: Glad you got to enjoy some btb and start with such lovely numbers for Twice today, especially after he surfed the lagoon last night too. Have a great Sunday!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

@ Amy- :lol: I asked him if he was a secret Sk fan and he said nope, just irish!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Hi, Kim, today's report makes me :-D :-D :-D !
Yay for so many things: the BTB time, the beautiful amps, the PDLB (and all contained inside the LB = bonus!), the general well-being of Twice. It's ALL good!
Enjoy your day!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Thanks Josie! Made me :-D too! And I would be lying if I said I wasn't THRILLED with the bonus :lol:
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Twice is doing great today! Hooray!! I hope he continues to give you good numbers... and to feel good! :-D Hope cleaning is painless and quick! I'll be watching the game tonight too... though, not particularly thrilled about it ;-)... Have a great rest of your Sunday!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

it looks like somebody really likes the 0.75u dose.

If I were you, I might try to manipulate his cycles to see if you can keep him from earning a reduction right away. Try to keep him over 50 give him some nice healing time on this dose. That may not be possible if you're working during the week, but even if you can give him an extra day or two on this dose it might help him learn to stay flat in blue/green.
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

@ Joely-Cleaning is turning out to be painless alright...all I've done is write about it :lol: :lol: Think I will stick to online Christmas shopping and give the poor old vacuum and duster a rest ;-) Had to laugh about
I'll be watching the game tonight too... though, not particularly thrilled about it ;-)

@ Libby-Thank you for the advice! I actually have wondered about that, as I have seen the more experienced peeps manipulating the cycles. I must admit tho..I'm not sure how? :? I am going to be taking Monday and Tuesday off this week so the window/door guys can finish :-D and will therefore be able to rock this manipulation....if I knew how :lol: Help??

@ Julie-Yes we were very happy to see Mr Greenie as well! That's only the second time for us, and in rolled into the blues which is probably/hopefully a good thing to thwart off a boinger!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Aww Shoot! We are climbing this cycle instead of heading for a nadir...I'm sure I didnt' give a fur shot...I always do the 'smell and feel' aferwards. :YMSIGH: Will I ever learn the steps to this dance :roll: :?

ETA: Just noticed that the only other time we had a green PS this exact thing happened. Even the numbers are the same. Must be a stinky stupid bounce
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

I don't really think Twice needs a complicated feeding routine, at least not right now. To begin with, I would probably just try to respond to his drops. You are probably already doing this. To take last night as an example, at +2 he had dropped to 81, which would be a perfectly nice number to surf at. Try throwing him a couple tsp. of low carb to see if that helps "bump" him onto his surfboard. Another thing you can do fairly easily is to add a mini-meal just before his nadir, especially if he is getting into the 60s or 50s. That might prop the nadir up just a little bit.

The rest is where your knowledge of your cat comes in. How carb sensitive is Twice? He surfed in the 50s for a few hours, which is great but you want to try to keep him from getting below 50 so you won't have to reduce right away. If you see something like that 59 and you think he is not finished dropping yet, you can feed a little more or you can add a few carbs if you need to.

I notice a lot of people in LL these days just waiting to see if the cat is going to go below 50 and get a reduction. In TR, reductions are not always something to celebrate. The goal is to get the cat tightly regulated, at which point the reductions will usually start happening on their own.

Of course there comes a time when trying to prevent reductions is no longer necessary, or no longer a good idea, but when a cat first starts trying to flatten out in all blue/green, that is when I think "this is a great dose, please please please let him hold onto it for a little while!" Once a cat starts spending 24/7 in healing numbers, the reductions often start coming fast and furious, and then you know he is ready for the reductions.
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Wahoooo Twice :mrgreen: Looking good Mister Man :thumbup
I'm thinking shopping and football is a much better way to spend a Sunday than cleaning ;-) :lol:
And just thinking about cleaning counts for something doesn't it ??? ;-)
Good luck with trying to keep him at this dose for awhile. I'm trying to do that with Hoot now so this is a great discussion for me too!
It seems every day I learn something new from this board :-D
Have a great day Kim!!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Wonderful info Libby thank you! Twice is free fed his wet and I have noticed that he feeds himself as his numbers are dropping. I think maybe it's time to introduce some 8%-10% when he is in a nice surfable area? Might be tricky when I'm working, but maybe there will be patterns showing up that I can look for besides the huge drops at +2 :lol: What you said about seeing some flat blue cycles and green ones really made sense too. I am excited to try this out...however today we are apparently going to skip nadir and just climb up :YMSIGH: Tonight will hopefully prove to be an experimenting kinda time ;-)
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

@ Pam-Great to know you are doing the same thing as we are going to try! We can be 'dose-holdy buddies'!!! Between our two condos we should be able to snag tons of great tips ;-) :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

I notice a lot of people in LL these days just waiting to see if the cat is going to go below 50 and get a reduction. In TR, reductions are not always something to celebrate. The goal is to get the cat tightly regulated, at which point the reductions will usually start happening on their own.

I could not agree more! The key is having a tightly regulated cat who stays in those healthy numbers (70 - 130) most of the time. Some cats are unable to go OTJ for many reasons and truthfully, OTJ is not the goal per se. The primary goal is to have a well-regulated cat. If they are meant to go OTJ eventually, all the better, but if we try to rush it by hurrying those reductions, we are not helping our kitties in the long run.

I also agree that you can try feeding regular low-carb food before the nadir (or whenever your kitty seems to head down below 70). I used to have my cat on a routine so that he always ate low-carb food at +3 and again at +6 so he never went below 70. He surfed really well for months like that before finally getting to his OTJ trial.

You are doing great with Twice so keep up the excellent work! :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

@ Jess-Thanks for visiting us! Twice is free fed and does really well at eating when he feels his numbers dropping so I am going to try to manipulate that a bit with some 8-10% and see if that makes a difference. Although OTJ would make us happy, quite honestly I just want my kitty back. And I see him emerging with vigor day after day which makes me happy beyond words. If this is a dance we need to do always I am great with that :smile:
We are cheering for you and Mr Cat!!!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Jess and MrCat said:
I could not agree more! The key is having a tightly regulated cat who stays in those healthy numbers (70 - 130) most of the time. Some cats are unable to go OTJ for many reasons and truthfully, OTJ is not the goal per se. The primary goal is to have a well-regulated cat. If they are meant to go OTJ eventually, all the better, but if we try to rush it by hurrying those reductions, we are not helping our kitties in the long run.
Oh, I TOTALLY support having OTJ as a goal. It's why I like Tight Regulation - getting the cat tightly regulated is the way to give your cat the best chance of getting to that goal as quickly and safely as possible, and then having a good chance at staying OTJ because you gave him plenty of time to heal his beta cells. If it turns out that your cat is not one who is going OTJ, then they are healthy and happy and that works too. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Yeah, I was never really sure if it was ok to do that, but Hoot is finally getting into some better numbers again, and I want to keep him here for awhile, so we shall do some maniputaling :lol: Hoot also free feeds and I can usually tell when he is dropping. But Libby had some great info on how to do this and when to make sure he eats, Thanks Libby!!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85

Libby and Lucy said:
Oh, I TOTALLY support having OTJ as a goal. It's why I like Tight Regulation - getting the cat tightly regulated is the way to give your cat the best chance of getting to that goal as quickly and safely as possible, and then having a good chance at staying OTJ because you gave him plenty of time to heal his beta cells. If it turns out that your cat is not one who is going OTJ, then they are healthy and happy and that works too. :mrgreen:

Yes, OTJ is preferred, of course! When I said OTJ is not the goal "per se" I meant "in itself." Meaning, if the goal is OTJ just for the sake of getting OTJ, sometimes folks rush the reductions because the focus is getting down to zero insulin instead of focusing first on proper regulation. But if the goal is proper regulation, we tend to have more patience and can sit back and enjoy the weeks of great numbers, which often eventually leads to OTJ. :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85 +9 200

Wonderful AMPS Kim...but BOO on the bounce!!

I look at OTJ as the ultimate reward for the time, energy and work to get them tightly regulated and staying in healing numbers. If China never goes OTJ, that's ok with me..she's so much happier, healthier and acting like her younger sister (if she had one)...If she does, well that's just icing on the cake.

Now come on Twice...STOP THAT BOUNCING!!
cat2.gif
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85 +9 200

@ Chris-seriously love the graphic :lol: :lol: My outlook is the same I think as yours. I want Twice healthy and happy with an excellent QOL. If he is also OTJ-perfect, I can sleep in while he is healthy happy etc :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85 +9 200

Hi Kim,
BOING! But that's OK.
I'm glad Twice is feeling good and having a nice day!
It's a cleaning day for me too....
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85 +9 200

i gotta say i'm enjoying your cat stories - gotta have the right ear poked one way and the left ear poked the other way, and the sunbathing under the stove hood. :lol: must be fun at your house!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85 +9 200

Kim - you asked about freeze dried treats and there are a couple companies products I'm buying now. One is One Bite Two Bite by IrRawsistible . I gave a link to FB page because their website describes treats as pending but they've been out since the summer. The other source of even more variety is Nature's Kitchen. They have a really out of date web site, but tons of variety of product, from bison to water buffalo. Their quail products are a special hit (hearts, necks). I buy the treats at pet stores that carry raw food. I see the irRawsistible is available in the big cities in Saskatchewan.

Beautiful surfing by Mr. Twice last night - no wonder you were tired. I hope both our cats work their way down for tonight. :roll:
 
Re: 11/24 Twice AMPS 85 +9 200 +11 173

@Wendy-Thank you so much for not only the info, but doing the leg work :-D I'm guessing that since we only have 2 cities in this province, Regina must carry it and that's a mere 2 hours away. Gotta get that Christmas shopping done too so this way I can get two birds stoned at once!
Yes fingers crossed that Neko and Twice decide to play in the lower grounds. Twice is doing his drop before ps because apparently I deserve that :lol:

ETA: Yay!! I just realized we had an all blue cycle again :-D :lol: We were a shade from hitting yellow and I guess in my mind we did, but we only did if we weren't Canadian! (See world version of sheet ;-) )Oh yes it is ALLLLLLLL about the colors/numbers when they are nice :lol:
On a side note, the cat itself is also very happy, purry and wonderful :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176

Hi Kim,

I am also going to try and follow Libby's plan. It makes so much sense :-D Just have to hope Cleo wakes up and comes out to eat when her numbers go low if we are at work~
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176

@ Jane- Excellent! We are now the "Three Muskaeaters" We will need a cool jacket or something...You or Pam will have to design that as I am style challenged. :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110-Manipulate now?

Pretty decent drop from PMPS to +2...this a good time to try mc to manipulate the cycle?? Or wait till around 59? I just think he may zoom down...he likes zooming
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110-manipulate now?

i'd do it now. try LC first and if it doesn't hold him up enough, you could try MC. you're doing an experiment so you'll just have to see how it goes.
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110-manipulate now?

Hi Kim - I'll add my two cents as well. I'd feed now, as that is quite the drop at +2. I will hope Twice is on that boar soon. Good luck!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95-manipulate now?

Style challenged here too Kim :lol: I guess it's up to you Jane ;-)
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95-manipulate now?

julie & punkin (ga) said:
i'd do it now. try LC first and if it doesn't hold him up enough, you could try MC. you're doing an experiment so you'll just have to see how it goes.

I agree with Julie. It doesn't hurt to feed LC food at this point. Try that first and see how it goes. No need to give the MC or HC if your numbers are still safe. :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95-manipulate now?

Really informational condo today. Thanks, guys! I think I would give Twice a little food now. Rusty grazes on and off all through the cycle, so I have to let him decide when to eat. But he also forgets to eat and has to be reintroduced to his bowl!

Good luck with the new regime, Kim!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95-manipulate now?

I agree Ella! Hoot does the same grazing thing too, but it does seem they sometimes need to be reminded.
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95-manipulate now?

Cleo also has to be reminded to eat, especially during the day.

@ Pam, we are in trouble!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95-manipulate now?

Great job getting him to flatten out, Kim. Hopefully he will start to surf here a bit. Once you get him slowed down, just a bit of LC might help him surf.
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95-manipulate now?

Beautiful numbers Kim!!

Looks like you might have figured out the trick to keep him from dropping too low, too fast! (anti-jinx)

Hope it continues to work this well for you :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95-manipulate now?

Thanks Marje!! So as you know, I free feed Twice his LC but took it away tonight to try the MC challenge. I'm liking what I see here. I didn't actually 'feed' him. Just left the MC down as if I was going to work and watched what he would do. The feed notes on my ss are time approx. as he went to the bowl himself about every hour from +3 and as I recorded. This gives me a huge sense of relief because tonight, if typical (which I believe it is), he showed me that he will definately eat when dropping a bit lower than he is used to :-D As I am gone 11 hours/day during work you can imagine my relief :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95-manipulate now?

Thanks Chris! We cross posted, was just writing how happy I am :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95-manipulate now?

You are very lucky that he fed himself!! Very smart experiment on your part to see if he would eat if he was dropping.

Can you send him over to teach that to my LBG? :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95 +4 86 +5 85 +6 79

He said he would love to go to Arizona and work with LBG, and that he would need to be gone until spring! I think he's trying to pull a fast one on me :lol:
I knew he would eat the lc because I have watched him before and intervened the free feeding only when he kept dropping, in order to be able to regulate with hc. I was not sure about the mc though. I have left that down for him before and wondered if it was gobbled up as soon as I left the house. Turns out tonight he just munched as needed. Hope this is the normal Twice behavior :lol: Trust nothing when it comes to kitties!
 
Re: 11/24 Twice PMPS 176 +2 110 +3 95 +4 86 +5 85 +6 79

Trust nothing when it comes to kitties!

You are a wise woman. ;-)

I'm not sure LBG would willingly share her mum until spring :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top