11/24 Star Cat +12, 68, PMPS 234, +1~368, +4~337

Status
Not open for further replies.

treehousemom

Member Since 2010
Good morning LL

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30449

Well, Not too happy with myself this morning. Last night Laurie was helping me and I dosed her the 1U. She started doing her usual downward slope. Laurie suggested 1tsp of LC.

Star cat would not eat. She got pissy with me that I moved her to the food and was like "MOM! Stop messing with me! I'm trying to sleep here!"

I tried staying up with her and fell asleep. I have to say night times are no good for me. I can't wake up to test her. She sleeps right on me so I would be there if she needed me. She did eat after a little while but it has to be *her idea* and not mine.

However, she actually had a GREAT night! She was purring and snuggling all night> Never left the bed. :-D

Woke up this morning with an AMPS of 68. I skipped the shot.

She also became very angry at the mere sight of the testing meter this morning. She Hissed! She usually purrs through testing. I think she's over the frequent ear pricks. I hated seeing her like that today.

Thanks again to Laurie for the help last night. Rebecca
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat AMPS 68

Good morning guys! This is a nice green number, but if you are not shooting it, it would be called your ambg, it's only amps or pmps if you shoot the number, ok? Not a big deal but just for future reference ... have a great day today guys!
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat AMPS 68

Rebecca....your 68 is not your "AMPS" since that show a preshot number. since you did not shoot any insulin, that number is technically a +12, okay? :mrgreen: So you can change your heading to read something like +12=68 did not shoot....so that others won't have a heart attack when they see it, okay? :mrgreen: It is also called an AMBG but I think that is usally used for kitties who are on an OTJ trial...

I use a strainer to get the gravy out of the HC canned foods. Sometimes, Shadow will lick the gravy on his own. Sometimes, I need to use a plastic syringe to get the HC gravy into him. If you look on the Janet & Binky list, there might be some MC carb foods (10%-17%) that you could have on hand too for when you really don't want to give the HC and boost the numbers all that high. We give the gravy only so we don't fill them up with solid food in case we need to raise them even further.

This is all good data for you. There is a post that I will link in a minute where Libby discusses the options for low preshots.
It might be a good idea to print it out and have it for future reference. Hope you guys have a wonderful Thanksgiving Eve!
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat AMPS 68

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Rebecca....your 68 is not your "AMPS" since that show a preshot number. since you did not shoot any insulin, that number is technically a +12, okay? :mrgreen: So you can change your heading to read something like +12=68 did not shoot....so that others won't have a heart attack when they see it, okay? :mrgreen:


OMgosh Pat, thank you for the laugh. I needed to laugh this morning. Ok. I will change it now. Not wanting to upset anyone. (Can we say learning curve?)

I will read all the posts. I have read some and need to keep learning. Thank you, thank you.
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat AMPS 68

Here is the post about dealing with Low Preshots... : viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894
I just bumped it up to the top of the page too...
Look it over and post any questions you may have, okay?
Any time you get a low number or a low preshot, you can always post the number as you are not feeding and stalling and ask for assistance. someone will be around to discuss your options with a low number, okay? It is good to think about this ahead of time since it will most definitely come up in the future. The mole data yo collect on how Star Cat reacts, the better able you are to make a decision...
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat +12, 68 did not shoot.

:lol: Ok...I wanted to say that tonight, it might end up being a higher PMPS than you would like to see. All good information....you will know what skipping a shot does to the BGs. There will be a reason for the higher number. Some of use do shoot the lower numbers because we have lots of data on how our kitty reacts and we are home to give HC if needed. You did good this morning...
Please read that post about the low numbers and ask questions...a million questions if you want.... :mrgreen:
I am so pleased with Star's progress....aren't you?
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat +12, 68 did not shoot.

Hey Rebecca...You are doing GREAT!!!!

I understand and can relate to a grrrrrr kitty. Curry is like that w/me every single time I test her. She just likes to let me know that she doesn't like it...but will stay on the testing towel.....silly girl. Sometimes I sing in order to drown out her grrrrrowling. Right now its Jingle Bells....Its a seasonal thing. :mrgreen:

I like Pat's idea for straining the gravy out of the HC food....I've been using a syringe and sucking it out....works when its warm....not so much when its cold though.....And then sometimes the food gets caught in the syringe and plugs it up....

You are getting some good data on Star Cat....Keep up the good work.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat +12, 68 did not shoot.

Oh Rebecca, I kept waiting for an update and was concerned when you didn't post again last night! I was up anyway, so no big deal from that standpoint, but if you have any problems, please post and let us know what's going on....many of us have been there and will have suggestions to help you, ok? As Pat said, we use the HC gravy to boost numbers up, and they usually LOVE the gravy...so if she wouldn't eat the LC, I would have suggested you try some gravy. Some cats won't eat when they are low, like Pat's Shadow, and then you need to find a way to get the food in them...feed off your finger, use a syringe, whatever works.

Good call on not shooting this morning. That's a very pretty number....but it makes me wonder just how low she got overnight.
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat +12, 68 did not shoot.

Pat, I am happy to see her eating the canned food easily (for the most part) and yes, happy with her overall progress. :-D

I am frustrated with having to leave her and go to work, or sleeping through important tests, and now her being upset with the ear pricks. :sad:

I just looked at the low numbers post. It's very helpful. I think I need more data (or need to better understand what the data means) in order to take that kind of risk with her.

Keeping in mind, I have 3 young children and it's not unlikely that one of them will have a mini crisis while I need to be focused on Star, etc, etc. So that makes me nervous with shooting low too.

Today, I had to leave for work or I may have posted for help and waited and retested in an hour after food, etc.

I'm finding the huge differences in the Lantus vs. Vetsulin.

What about a slight dose reduction for Star? Would you think that would help her level off for those quick drops?

>>> Do we need a new plan or steady with the 1U dosing???

I hate having to skip her shot all together. I know she's going to be uncomfortable by this evening.

Also, just as a bit of background, while my husband is supportive, I am flying solo on the quest for Star Cat. I have seen that others have help with their kitty, my kitty is my own responsibility.

Laurie, I fell asleep!!! That's why I didn't post. Isn't that awful? :sad: I'm sorry to have frightened you.

Thanks everyone. Rebecca
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat +12, 68 did not shoot.

Tena and Curry said:
Hey Rebecca...You are doing GREAT!!!!

I understand and can relate to a grrrrrr kitty. Curry is like that w/me every single time I test her. She just likes to let me know that she doesn't like it...but will stay on the testing towel.....silly girl. Sometimes I sing in order to drown out her grrrrrowling. Right now its Jingle Bells....Its a seasonal thing. :mrgreen:

Awesome idea! Thanks for another laugh this morning. :lol:
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat +12, 68 did not shoot.

While my DH is supportive of my doing this, he leaves it all to me. He did say he might be willing to test them, but we just never had the opportunity to train him since i don't mind doing it all myself. I do understand what you are going through.
I am the chief tester and shooter her for my two! :lol:

You are really inc charge of the numbers Rebecca. as long as you have your meter and test strips, you can see where she is going and if she is heading down too low and you have to leave or whatever, a blast of the HC gravy and her numbers will rise. So, if you have to leave her, that HC food she loved the first night will bring her up to safety and peace of mind.

Our beginnings on Vetsulin for 6 weeks was a royal waste of time, IMHO. So, I agree that these longer duration insulins are very different from that stuff....aaren't you and I happy that we are here now!!

If you have to leave here, you can always give a BCS (big chicken s-- dose) :lol: So, a little insulin but not the full dose...and then leave out the MC or HC food for her. There are different things to choose from, as the post says....a delaying a shot with no food and rechecking every 15 minutes to see if the number is rising, giving a full dose at a later time, a BCS dose right away: all those things might be doable, depending on the circumstances for the day. If you are going to work and need to shoot on a specific schedule, then that fact narrows your choices. You would not be able to shoot later....so we can all discuss these things as time goes by.

If you had to leave suddenly, you can give her the HC and retest in 15 minutes to make sure she is rising. When her numbers are going low, you can give some LC food to slow the drop....a lot can be done with the food alone....many people give small meals at preshot and then at +1, +2 and +3 to slow them down if the kitty proves to drop early in the cycle too much. the food keeps the numbers surfing higher instead of dropping too low.
You are doing a great job! Hope your day is going well....
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat +12, 68 did not shoot.

Hey Rebecca, We have all made little errors along the way..I have a hard time staying or waking up very late at night, so I test & shoot Moonie early enough that I can get at least a +4 or sometimes +5 before I go to sleep--It helps as you at least know somewhat where Star is before you go to sleep...

Moonie usually doesnt eat either when she is low--I had a really hard time getting her to eat any gravy, MC or HC, and she didnt like anything I bought with a higher carb content!!--I finally found FF elegant medleys chicken tuscany, which is between mc & hc food(dont have the percent)-and I add 1/2 tsp water & make gravy out of it--
She willingly laps it up & her low bg goes up in a few minutes!!
Sometimes she wont eat anything, so I keep temptations on hand as she would eat them regardless of anything!!--They do bring her up a bit, but just for a short time(better than nothing)
Next tme you get a low number, come on here quick & ask for help--There's always someone to help--
You are doing a great job! It takes a while to get all the info, but you are doing just fine--If you can do a little more testing, you will be able to see his pattern emerging..
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat +12, 68 did not shoot.

Pat, I fully admire your commitment to your babies! I was looking at their ss's today. You do really have a lot on your plate! My 8 y/o daughter would love me to let her shoot and test! She gives our other kitty daily "check ups" (which consist of the cat getting the once over, literally toe by toe and back!) Maybe she will become a vet someday. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I just tested Star Cat and it's a 184, better than I thought. (and she didn't even fuss at me!)

I greatly appreciate you spelling out all the options for me. I will take it all into consideration and go from there.

I have my half mark syringes now, so I'm ready for anything. :-D

Roni, I'm going to get that brand of canned food and do just what you said. She was really fussy last night so I let her be.

My instincts must be on because I was thinking of moving her shot time up tonight, since I skipped this morning anyway. Then I can get a few more tests in before lights out.


YOU ARE ALL AWESOME. It keeps me going. I am so thankful Star Cat is healthy in general. It could be much worse than it is.
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat +12, 68 PMPS 234

Here we go... PMPS 234 - I'm giving her 1U. Moved her shot up 2 hours since I missed the morning and will be able to test longer tonight.

Going to be up cooking for sometime...
 
Re: 11/24 Star Cat +12, 68, PMPS 234, +1~368

When you skipped the shot this morning, the shed emptied out a little, that's why Star's numbers didn't zoom right up...the stored insulin went to work on the BG. Now the shed is depleted, so a lot of the insulin you shot tonight will go to refill the shed. It's very normal to see higher numbers for a cycle or two after a skipped shot...the shed has to be refilled before the insulin can begin to have full effect on the BG again.

Don't worry, Star will be back on track soon!
 
Just got her +4 and she's starting to slowly come back down at 337 now. Even with skipping a shot she's not as wildly random as the Vetsulin was in a day. Haven't seen her in red or black for a week! :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top