11/24 Simon AMPS 323 PMPS 193 +4 288 Back from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I was up many times over the night to check on Simon. He didn't want to sleep on the bed but preferred his heated cat bed. He ate most of the food in his automatic feeder last night -- about 1/2 small can of food, but really didn't want to eat much this morning. Yesterday, he ate a total of about 2 1/2 small cans of food (combination of syringe feeding and eating on his own). I coaxed him into eating about 1/4 big can with lots of encouragement this morning. I almost had to syringe feed him but he heard me talking about it and decided to eat on his own. He got his AM dose of bupe, Pepcid, and ondansetron. He is very tired looking and doesn't want to walk much. He legs do not look as weak, but I am very worried.

Off to the vet with him before work. He will stay there throughout the day getting fluids and for them to observe him and see if there is anything else going on. Blood work should be back this morning from Friday's visit. I know he is going to hate getting in the carrier again. He has not had a poo in 2 days. I guess that can be from not eating as much, but I am still concerned.

Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers today. I will update when I know more.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128863
 
Re: 11/24 Simon AMPS 323

Sending prayers for Simon and poo vines too (that should make him feel better).
Hugs.
 
Re: 11/24 Simon AMPS 323

Morning Georgia ~O) ~O) ~O)

many healing vines for Simon, and a good vetty day too. Be well little one.

Hugs to you Georgia. I know how worried you must be. i remember how I felt when Mannie went through what was a nasty P'titis episode. It is tough, and takes a little time for them to feel better. I will be thinking of you guys today.
 
Re: 11/24 Simon AMPS 323

Sounds like improvement, even if small. Kitten steps as Amy frequently said. :-D Many vines for Simon and hugs for you, Georgia.
Liz
 
Re: 11/24 Simon AMPS 323 PMPS 193 Back from vet

We are back from the all day vet visit for Simon. As you can see, his BG is much better with the increased dose. His bloodwork came back and it is almost an exact duplicate compared to the one done 6 months ago. So nothing is worse according to results. Urine culture will be back in a few days but nothing noted right now. The only thing off is his lymphocytes. They are very low (16). I think I read that it can be due to stress, but I am confused about what it actually means. Should I be concerned?

At the vet, Simon got 200 ml of fluids, bupe, and cerenia. He was sitting in his litterbox in the cage for most of the day :sad: . Unfortunately, he did not eat at all and the vet is not happy with that. He says that Simon MUST eat at least 1 small can of food tonight or else he will have to come back tomorrow for IV fluids. He just got subq fluids today. The good news is that when we got home, Simon ate 1/4 can of Friskies turkey and almost a 1/4 can of the small fancy feast MC food. Yay! I hope it will continue throughout the night. I am getting ready to give him his bupe so he should be feeling a little better. The vet mentioned doing an U/S if things don't get better and even mentioned a feeding tube. Oh dear, I don't even want to think about that right now.

Thanks for all the prayers today. Simon sure needed them. Keep praying that he continues to eat and feel better.
 
Re: 11/24 Simon AMPS 323 PMPS 193 Back from vet

Hi Georgia,
I'm Glad that Simon's tests were ok and hope that he'll continue to eat. It sounds like the vet wants to observe right now and doesn't want to push anything on you without careful consideration.

Sending lots of vines this evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/24 Simon AMPS 323 PMPS 193 Back from vet

I'd talk to the vet about the lymphocyte count. It may be stress but it would be more chronic stress than from being at the vet's office for a few hours.
 
Re: 11/24 Simon AMPS 323 PMPS 193 Back from vet

I'm glad Simon is back home...and I'm sure he's glad, too! Hopefully he'll start feeling better now that he's had some fluids and meds...it's hard for a kitty to eat at the vetty even if they feel good. Keep eating tonight, Simon!! Still sending prayers....
 
Re: 11/24 Simon AMPS 323 PMPS 193 Back from vet

I bet Simon is glad to be back home too. I am glad the test were ok, and really hope Simon continues to eat. That too will help alot, eat up Simon! I can remember hearing the feeding tube option too when Mannie had p'titis. We got through it all without having to go that route.

Hugs to you, this all must be so stressful. Many continued vines for Simon.
 
Simon has eaten a total of 1 small can and 1/4 large can of food this evening. It wasn't all LC, so his numbers are higher tonight, but the main thing is that he has eaten. Simon still doesn't look that well and he needs lots of encouragement to eat, but I am going to be positive about this whole thing. If he eats his food overnight, I don't think I will have to take him to the vet tomorrow. I will be watching him like a hawk. Nite everyone and thank you for all your help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top