11/24 Rocket PMPS 129.6 +3 70.2 +4.5 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
Morning All,
yesterday was disappointing for me viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30451 and i also fell asleep so couldn't test +6 or +9...the only test i could do was +11 117 (which he then went to eat as i also forgot to take away his food :o )

This morning AMPS 113.4 and he is eating again...i opted to give 0.5u still....we'll see where this dose takes us this morning and if no changes then i will increase it to 0.75 at pm

hope you guys have a good Wednesday....and keep warm!
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket AMPS 113.4

Your icon is SO cute!

This is a good start to Rocket's morning, hope you see some greens today.
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket AMPS 113.4

Sometimes a written threat to increase is all that is needed to see nicer numbers. Let's see if Rocket reads his own condo during the day. Hope you both have a nice day...and I love that Santa picture! SO cute!!
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket AMPS 113.4

Good morning guys! This is a nice place to start the day out at .. I hope Rocket comes down just a wee bit and surfs the greens for you later on ... have a great day today!
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket AMPS 113.4 +1 106.2 +2.5 77.4

gave fluids at +2 so i tested at +2.5 77.4
let's see if he decides to stay in the green today.....fingers crossed!
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket AMPS 113.4 +1 106.2 +2.5 77.4

I love the photo too!! is great! i can't imagine my kitties looking that calm with santa!! lol

Good luck today with Rockets numbers, and keep warm down there!!! Looks like we are going to get a little bit away from this deep freeze for awhile...Take the reprieve while we can!!
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket AMPS 113.4 +9 113.4

recap so far AMPS 113.4
+1 106.2
+2.5 77.4
+3.5 82.8
+4.5 90
+9 113.4

based on the above...is it safe to make the decision to increase his dose for tonight's pm shot to 0.75u?

advise from the experts much welcomed and needed
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket AMPS 113.4 +9 113.4

I don't feel comfortable advising you to raise the dose by 50% of what he's getting now. I would love my cat to have the numbers you are getting. Maybe, someone will suggest raising the dose by a hair to a fat .50, or something.
Please wait for others to advise before deciding, okay?

Oh, and I mainly came to this condo to tell you how much I LOVE your new avatar picture :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket AMPS 113.4 +9 113.4

For more eyes to your question, please add something like "Dose Advise Needed" to the subject line of your first post.
Good luck with whatever you decide to do.
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket AMPS 113.4 +9 113.4 +11 140.4-PM dose advis

+11 140.4
seems like each cycle the #s are going up....
i'd like some feedback on the pm dose...please!
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket AMPS 113.4 +9 113.4 +11 140.4-PM dose advis

Claudia, Rocket's numbers look very good to me. He had one cycle that his numbers were in the low blues, but otherwise, he looks great! If you want to try to push his numbers down a little, and you are prepared to handle lower numbers, then you could increase...but be prepared to monitor closely and go back down if necessary...as Jill advised yesterday.

Jill & Alex said:
hi claudia. knowing when to increase the dose when a kitty has other health issues going on can be a difficult decision. i've gone through this with alex. my suggestion would be to maintain the dose tonight and maybe tomorrow morning. let's see what he does. if his numbers continue with this trend, than i wouldn't hesitate to increase the dose. however, speaking from experience... be prepared to lower the dose quickly if necessary.

IMO, his numbers have not continued with that trend...he had that one cycle with all blues, but his numbers have been good since. If I were you, I would not increase....but he's your kitty, and it's your decision to make.
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket PMPS 129.6

PMPS 129.6
left dose as is at 0.5u
i guess i still have lots to learn...i appreciate your help

at +11 140.4 has been the highest in a while for him....so i was considering the 0.75u dose

will continue to monitor but if the numbers are starting to creep up into the 140s and up then i think i should increase dose, right???
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket PMPS 129.6

Claudia, we adjust dose based on nadir, with only a little consideration given to PS numbers. Rocket's nadir last night was 65...that's a pretty nice nadir number. You could increase if you want to, but that could push that nadir down into the 50s or below. That's fine if you are prepared for that....
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket PMPS 129.6

Claudia, remember that we decide the dose by nadir (the lowest point). I think the 70s you are getting are fine.
I wouldn't want you to give too much insulin and have him go a whole lot lower than that.
Let's see if you get some more advise later this evening. I think you did good, holding the dose tonight.
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket PMPS 129.6

Oops, I posted the same time as Laurie. But, I see we said the same thing. :oops:
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket PMPS 129.6

Hi Claudia! I think Rocket is looking great - such wonderful numbers. I can't really advise on the dose, but if he were my kitty I would not increase. Have a great night guys!
 
Re: 11/24 Rocket PMPS 129.6 +1 113.4

+1 113.4

Dyana and Laurie,
I'm sorry if i keep saying i'd like to up his dose. I have NO idea re: dose based on nadir. I thought doses went up or down depending on how high #s were... :shock:
I know he is having good #s compared to other kitties here so i shouldn't complain, right? I think my focus has to change....as his #s went down i was hoping/thinking he would go OTJ soon....but perhaps this time around it won't happen and i must learn to deal with the 'new' reality of his now more heavily med regimen :sad:
I'm his primary and 99.9% caregiver...DH freaks out at the thought of needles so i'm the one that gives him fluids. DH can't/won't test his BG...Rocket is a loving cat but no one is able to handle him the way he lets me handle him...the only thing that DH can do is give Rocket the pheno or the ondansetron when i'm not home to do so (as both meds are on a set schedule every 12 hrs)..they're such tiny pills dabbed with a lil pill pocket and even then Rocket manages to TRICK DH making him think he swallowed the pill!
I know what most of you are thinking about DH....but to be fair you need to know that
1) Rocket and Comet were mine before DH came into the picture
2)DH is extremely allergic to Rocket and is heavily medicated himself in order for us 4 to live under 1 roof (DH also has asthma)...because of that DH keeps his fair distance from Rocket and when he plays with him DH has to make sure he washes up right away as to prevent a bad allergic reaction (believe me they're not pretty)
3)when DH is home he takes care after Comet's needs as to help me out a lil with all the stuff i need to do....

from the above i was really hoping/wishing Rocket would go off the insulin....i have even now put my life on hold until he stabilizes if at all with the insulin (i take a course once a week in the evening but since Rocket's #s are unpredictable and DH can't test leaves me with no choice than to postpone the course)....it would be so much easier if he was OTJ....for me/him/all of us here.....but such is my reality....i feel overwhelmed and tired....the 27 days he was on insulin 2 yrs ago were HELL for me...and i'm sure for him too...i was working f/t going to school p/t and taking care of him/family....didn't know whether i was coming or going....now i don't have a job but have stopped really looking and have dropped out of school in the hopes that things get better....i don't know whether i'm coming or going....STILL...

DH almost died on me back in July...was in the hospital 1 week to drain a pocket of fluid that built up in btwn the brain and lining of the brain...was pretty serious...from his granmal seizure (which was a blessing he had it or else the pocket would have burst and would have been fatal) he has not been given the ok to drive (by law he needs to be on keppra for 1 yr and if no seizures then they will slowly take him off of it)...so i'm the DRIVER....

so i'm sorry if i'm asking the same question.....sorry for rumbling too....i just don't know whether i'm coming or going....i guess i just didn't need for Rocket to be back on insulin...the poor thing has enough as it is....seems my household has had a bad year!
 
I'm so sorry that you have so much on your plate, Claudia. I know what it's like to have a catastrophic event happen to your husband...mine had a stroke a year and a half ago...I was the only driver for many months, plus rehab, PT, etc....so I do understand how difficult that is! I hope your DH is doing better.

Please understand that it's your decision to increase or not. I'm just giving you my opinion, others may have a different opinion. If you want to increase, to try to bring the overall numbers down, you can certainly do that...just be aware that the nadirs you are seeing are fairly low, so you need to monitor carefully...which I know you do. I also know you have been nervous about seeing those low numbers, so I just want to be sure you understand that you may see lower numbers.
 
Claudia, I understand you have a lot on your plate..I do feel for you. Looks like Rocket heard you as look at his beautiful numbers tonite!
Just do the best you can, that's all we can do here..WE all come on here sure that our cat will be going OTJ.
We all work so hard to keep our beloved kitties well..I truly hope Rocket will be well for you, and that your DH will continue to recover completely soon.
Just sending well wishes & healing thoughts!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top