11/24 PMPS 387

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472

Good morning Tina ~O)
Good luck with the dosecrease. It's a horrible feeling to see them feeling so bad. I hope this brings him into safer numbers quickly (but not too quickly)
Have a great day
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

So... this is probably pertinent information that I didn't even think about until today. About a week ago, Frank's insulin was left out overnight. He followed with two days in the blue and yellow so I just kind-of shrugged it off and thought... maybe it's no big deal. Now, with him being in higher numbers, I worry that maybe this is an issue and a possible reason why he was doing good and all of a sudden, he is up in the high numbers again. I thought that it was supposed to be good for 28 days at room temperature though. Surely it isn't bad already?
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472

I don't think it would be bad. It might now lose its potency sooner than the 6 months so def something to remember in the future cycles, but it should be fine for now. They store them in the fridge in the pharmacies and then humans leave them room temp after purchase so I would think this is the same thing.
I wonder though Tina, if it's not something else acting up in Frank. Could be a bit of an infection he's fighting or the FIV?? Now that his FD is being attended too, maybe his body is focusing on something else? Just thinking out loud...

C'mon down for your beans Frank. They love you and want to see you in the happy healing zone :-D
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472

His teeth are in horrible shape, but he is not in any shape to have the surgery right now, according to both vets that have seen him. Maybe we need to put him on another round of clavamox?
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

Could be. I know infection really buggers up those numbers. Fingers super crossed for you that Frank shapes up soon so he can get his dental! What a rotten catch 22 :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

I'm glad you increased.

Leaving the insulin out overnight shouldn't hurt it. I've sure done it often enough. Try holding it up to a light to see if you can see floaties. I think Frank just isn't up to a good dose yet.
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

Tina, i'm thinking we haven't asked you to do a profile on Frank yet. the little guy's got so many things going on - and any one of them might be impacting his blood sugar. the instructions for doing it are on the "New to the Group" sticky. When you have an opportunity (in between the home work!) would you complete one for him so we have all his special medical needs in one place and attach it to your signature? Thanks!

i'm also glad you increased. i hope it will bring him down fairly soon. i wouldn't be surprised if he felt yucky with these numbers.
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

Done. I wonder how many people will think we are cat hoarders now... LOL

We run a cat rescue so we have more than most. The stock rotates and we don't always have that many.
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

Yup! You're a hoarder :roll: Just kidding :lol: :lol: Great job on the profile! You are one busy family!
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

Yes. Yes, we are busy. I have a nice long break this winter and I am taking the summer off. I think after I get my associates, I am going to take a year off to get my poop in a group before I move on to the next level. I'll need that time to clear the Red Bull out of my system. :lol:
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

Like Libby, I'm glad you increased Frank's dose.

Has your vet indicated what kind of "shape" Frank needs to be in order for a dental to be considered? Inflammation/infection like from gingivitis can raise BG levels. Clavamox may help -- especially if you saw that Frank's numbers were better when he was on an antibiotic but it's a temporary solution.
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

Nope. All they both said was that he was obviously in no shape now. I'm not sure what is obvious to them, being veterinarians that may not be obvious to me. We were talking today about possibly taking our chances and going ahead and getting it done. We run a risk doing it that way, but we also run a risk of him sitting here with reduced quality of life for an indefinite amount of time because we can't keep his sugar under control.

I will take him in Friday, if they are open, and make sure to ask what that criteria is. He is well hydrated, now. We still need to work on his weight. It's tough to do without the carbs. He gained two pounds then lost almost a pound when we took him off of dry food. We had to reduce the amount, as well, because he was eating so much that he was throwing it up. I picked him up one day and apparently handled him in his stomach area and food came spilling out of his mouth. It was weird. I had never seen that happen before.
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

poor little guy. that sounds awful. i hope it didn't hit you! ;-)

i wouldn't say you can't get his numbers under control yet. you're just at the beginning of the process. for some cats it takes longer til you get to the breakthrough dose.

i wonder if they are worried about the anesthesia - not being there, not seeing him, not being a vet . . . if they think he shouldn't have it done yet, i would probably wait. when i hear that they think he shouldn't have it done, that would make me wonder if they think he wouldn't survive it. teeth issues can really mess with the BGs, and dentals can make a significant difference, but if the vet doesn't think he'd make it through the dental then waiting works.
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

Forgive me if I'm asking an annoyingly obvious question...but they did deworm him right? For tapes as well as strongylids and rounds? Or maybe you do this at home. But if those buggers have a good hold it'll take a couple txs and that I have seen as a reason they throw up so easy. I only ask because our new vet here has been spaying/neutering our strays we bring in and giving them vaccines, but not deworming. I assumed he was as the other vets always either do it or ask you at least if you want it done. Was going over a vet bill one day and noticed that.
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

Just seen your last post. Poor Frank! Well I guess it's no wonder he feels like barfing :sad:
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

I'm not sure if they wormed him or not. We bring in kittens on a regular basis, so I keep Pyrantel on-hand, as well as Praziquantel. I have also learned how to do my own fecals. :lol: Anyway, I don't think, unless it is somehow contraindicated, that it would hurt him to treat him for both, although I have seen evidence of neither.
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

I had a similar situation with Mr.Cat. He was miserable with is bad teeth. The vet said that we should get his blood sugar under control before doing dental work. Well, about two months into his insulin treatment (right at the beginning of his OTJ trial), his gums started bleeding again and I decided to take Mr.Cat to a vet dentist. Mr.Cat's BG went waaay up and I stopped the OTJ trial, scheduled the surgery, and hoped for the best. The doctor was fantastic and did the surgery right away. After having five teeth removed and being on pain meds for a week, Mr.Cat's quality of life increased 100 times! He was like a new cat! I am glad I didn't wait to have the surgery done. Maybe you can find a vet dentist in your area? The one we used was very knowledgeable about feline diabetes and kept track of Mr.Cat's BG throughout the surgery. She was a fantastic vet!
Best wishes to you and Frank! :-D

P.S. I think the dose increase was a good idea.
 
Re: 11/24 AMPS 472 /+2 564

Great job on the profile, Tina :-D And poor Frank - I hope you are able to find a vet/dentist that is able to give this boy some relief sooner.

Come on down Frank, there is nothing fun up there~
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top