11/24 Pepper AMPS 378,+5.75 463-Question just in case?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/24 Pepper AMBG 378 - Won't eat, what do I do ?

If you don't have a jar of baby food meat, by chance do you have a can of MC or HC in your hypo kit? If so, try putting just a tiny bit of it on top of the food you're trying to get him to eat. KT does the same thing sometimes - that trick usually works but leaves the other kitties with the rest of the WONDERFUL can of food.... :roll: They really complain...after it's gone. At least his current number is high enough that there's already something for the juis to work with.

Come on Mr. Pepper Sir - eat for Mama, aujuis needs food!
 
Re: 11/24 Pepper AMBG 378 - Won't eat, what do I do ?

I do have some high carb with gravy. I'll try that, but if he still won't eat, what do I do then? Thanks.
 
Re: 11/24 Pepper AMBG 378 - Won't eat, what do I do ?

He still refuses to eat. Should I shoot his full dose? Or a reduced dose? If I should reduce, how much? he's getting 5.75 units BID. I opened several of his favorite flavors and a can of Bumble Bee tuna and no interest.
 
Re: 11/24 Pepper AMBG 378 - Won't eat, what do I do ?

Hi Sienne,
I just gave him half a dose. I wasn't sure what I should do, but I didn't want to skip a shot. What would you suggest now? I was able to get him to eat some more of the cooked chicken. Just tested him for ketones. it looks like negative to me, but there isn't much color difference between negative and trace. I'll check him again later.
 
Re: 11/24 Pepper AMBG 378 - Won't eat, what do I do ?

Nancy

It's good you got some insulin in him. Here is some great info from another post.

Remember -- getting to the bottom of why he is not eating is most important. That way you can treat the underlying cause ( or symptoms of underlying cause) . It is always very important to get cats to eat, as they can quickly develop hepatic lipidosis from lack of food.

Here are some things you can do do entice your cat to eat:

-sometimes in order to get a cat to eat you even have to resort to dry it is more important that they eat. there are a couple low carb / grain free brands -- EVO and wellness core.

-making a buffet to give him choices
- heating food

sprinkle food with :
- forta flora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
- parm. cheese
- smashed crumbles of dry food
- bonito tuna flakes
- halo chicken treats -- crumble into dust over food -- my Wolfie loves this stuff.
- poor a little water from tuna in water over food ( I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats-- check labels)
-powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
- trader joe tuna for cats
-baby food -- beechnut turkey and broth or chicken and broth. they have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
- kentucky fried chicken
- deli turkey /chicken
- plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
-canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
- chicken broth -- low sodium

If enticements don't work, you should consider:
-assist feeding ( syringe or make little meatballs and place in mouth)
-and/or talking to your vet about appetite stimulents ( mirtazapine or cyproheptidine)

If nausea is the cause of not eating, giving an appetite stimulant is not a good idea – it can cause a food aversion. (If you’re nauseous, do you really want to eat?) The cause of the nausea needs to be addressed. If it’s a matter of an acid/queasy stomach, Pepsid (1/4 of a 10 mg tablet of Pepsid AC) may be helpful. If the cat is vomiting, an anti-emetic such as ondansatron or Cerenia may be indicated. These require a prescription.

Please let us know if you get him to eat.
 
Re: 11/24 Pepper AMBG 378 - Won't eat, what do I do ?

Thanks Marje. I got him to eat a little more chicken, and i will try some of the other suggestions. Thanks so much - i don't know what I would do without the help i get from this board and the wonderful people on it! Guess I'll take off the 911 icon - for now!
 
Re: 11/24 Pepper AMBG 378 - Won't eat, what do I do ?

You're welcome, Nancy. Since you shot, you might want to update with his AMPS in the subject line so we can watch his numbers.

Paws crossed he'll eat. We've got some other info none of the above works well. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/24 Pepper AMPS 378, +1 417 - Won't eat, what do I do

He finally ate some FF salmon & shrimp after his +1 test. Not as much as usual, but at least he ate.
 
Re: 11/24 Pepper AMPS 378, +1 417 - Won't eat, what do I do

I'm glad you shot something. One of the things to remember with Lantus is that it's a little more forgiving when it comes to having food on board compared to shorter acting insulin. You've got a hour or two before onset begins.
 
Pepper doesn't look like he feels really well, and he certainly hasn't eaten as much as usual today. If he won't eat at PMPS, what should I do? Just want to know in advance the best course of action. I could even assist feed if I have to, if that would be better than reducing the dose. I plan on taking him to the vet on Monday, as long as tomorrow doesn't seem like an emergency. Why do these things always happen on the weekend when the vet's office is closed?
 
If he's not eating, I would think in terms of assist feeding and shooting as much of a dose as you're comfortable with. If Pepper's not acting like himself and not eating, I'm concerned. With a history of ketones, getting food and insulin in are important.
 
I would feed as much as you normally feed and even a little more wont hurt. If he is trying to brew Ketones, you want plenty of food, water, and his normal insulin dose in him. Is he drinking? Can you check him for dehydration?

Do you have any other LC food that is not his normal food that you can syringe feed him to avoid any aversion to his normal food? I'd be adding extra water to any food you syringe and also to any food he eats on his own.
 
I have some Hill's A/D leftover from his DKA in July. I had to assist feed for a couple of days then. He has been drinking today. How would I check for dehydration? If the Hill's isn't LC I have some Friskies that he doesn't usually eat.
 
Two ways to check for dehyration. Pull up his scruff and release it. It should pop all the way back to normal quickly. If it doesn't, he's probably got some dehydration. The other method is to rub your fingers over his gums. They should be slick. If they are tacky, he's dehydrated.

I think the a/d would be a good choice; it's higher in carbs but it will let you get a full dose of insulin in him.
 
Did your vet have you give him fluids at home when he had DKA? I'm assuming there is no way to get in touch with your vet tonight to ask if you can give a small amount of fluids?
 
I've been giving him fluids twice a week. I just gave them yesterday - but of course it was the end of the bag! I was going to get more on Monday. I don't know how I would get in touch with the vet on a Saturday night.

Update: Oh wait! I forgot I have a bag from last month with 100 ml still in it. I didn't use it because I wanted to give 150 ml so I started a new bag. Shall I give him that? I certainly have permission from the vet to give fluids.
 
I'm not sure where you are located but if giving fluids is an ongoing thing for you and Pepper, you can order a case of 1000ml bags at Walgreens for about $22/case of 12 if you have a Walgreens card for him (I have a family card for $20/year). You might need a script, though.
 
i forgot I have a bag from last month with 100 ml still in it. I wanted to give 150 ml, so I opened a new bag before the last one was empty. Would that be enough?
 
How much do you normally give? I think it is up to you whether you want to give him some fluids but if you decide to, be sure that he has totally absorbed everything from yesterday and I wouldn't give him more than he normally gets. I don't know what kind of treatment plan your vet has him on or why so it has to be your decision.
 
The vet suggested 100 ml three times a week, or 150 ml twice a week. So I'm not sure what he would say about two days in a row. This was for early stage Kidney failure.
 
Again, it depends on what you are treating him for....CKD?

The biggest concerns on giving fluids every day are for cats with any cardio issues and for a cat that has not absorbed the previous day's fluids.
 
Yes, it's for CKD. It does look like he's absorbed the fluid from yesterday.

I think I'll probably take him to the emergency hospital tomorrow. Do you think I should take him tonight?
 
I hope the vet visit goes well, and you get a good vet tonight that helps Pepper to feel better and to get back to eating normally. (((Hugs))).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top