11/24 Morgaine AMPS 165,+2 146

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Happy Thankasgiving to all the lovely kitties and their beans. I hope you all have much to be thankful for today.

Morgaine's numbers are improving a bit and i have given her a dosecrease so she is now at 4 units. I will keep a close eye on her as usual.

Her urinating problem is getting worse. for the first time today, she pee'd on the living room rug. Fortunately i have some Nature's Miracle and sprayed it immediately. not sure how that will work to prevenet further peeing but I am at my wits end. I watched her walk up to her box and sniff it and then a few minutes later she pee'd the rug. I am going to clean my bathroom thoroughly and put out a clean box. I also ordered a high sided box with a low entrance but I am now unsure what the problem is. She has decent numbers, has been on the AB for over a week and is eating and doing what she normally does but the box is rejected. Any ideas would be appreciated as she is now avoiding the pee pads as well and they are changed as they get soiled..
 
Rosalie, that is so frustrating. We've gone through similar LB issues with Zener. We used to have the litter box in the garage with a kitty door. Then he started peeing in 3 places in the house on the carpet. So we put litter boxes in two of the places where he wanted to pee and blocked off the 3rd place with a kid gate (that was my office and I didn't want a litter box in there). We got plastic starge containers and cut a very low entrance (maybe just 3" high) in the end. We also added a litter box at the other end of the house. That one is a cardboard box lined with plastic sheeting. Paws crossed, he is happy with this arrangement for now. I will be interested to see what others have done.

We have much to be thankful for, LL being a big one. Thank you for everything you do here. Happy Thanksgiving!
Liz

ETA: Anne just reminded me that we started using Dr. Elzy's Cat Attract litter that Dr. Lisa had recommended. That seemed to help too.
 
I would suggest buying some litter attract for her and making her another box so she has 2 it may or may not help. Dr elseys litter attract litter really works when I am training kittens and they are like peeing all over.... also urine off is the best for getting urine out of things its what I have used for whole male cat urine ( when we had a spraying stud) very nice numbers for Morgaine and you may want to get one feliway plug in one lasts a month and it might help as well ;-) http://www.amazon.com/Precious-Cat-Attr ... 350&sr=8-2 http://www.amazon.com/Urine-Off-Stain-R ... 371&sr=1-1
 
Thanks for the suggestions. I am wondering if the pine pellets we use are hurting her feet at this point. She will not let me touch her paws. she pulls the rear paws away and meows.
 
Poor Morgaine! I hope some of these suggestions work, I know how frustrating this must be for you. Maybe she is uncomfortable with the litter, but the pee pads shouldn't cause her pads any discomfort. It's a puzzle.

I hope you had a good Thanksgiving Rosalie.
 
Linda for Weezer said:
Poor Morgaine! I hope some of these suggestions work, I know how frustrating this must be for you. Maybe she is uncomfortable with the litter, but the pee pads shouldn't cause her pads any discomfort. It's a puzzle.

I hope you had a good Thanksgiving Rosalie.
I think I caused the problem with the peeing on the rug. I used to keep her box in the long vanity under the sink and she seemed happy with that, up and away from everything. I removed the doors and put it in there. Then all the missing the box happened and I thought she was having difficulty climbing into the cupboard and then into the box. Last night I removed it from the cupboard and cleaned under there and then taped it shut until i can get the doors back on. That is when she pee'd on the rug. she wanted to go pee in there even without the box. I removed the plastic covering and she just went in there and pee'd. I will put pads in there now as well.

Off to clean the entire bathroom, 2 boxes and freshen everything up until my new box comes and I can get some Dr. Elsey's special attract litter.

Despite these issues, I am so THANKFUL to have morgaine with me. She is such a sweet girl and I know she is not too happy right now. Reading Dr. Elsey's booklet, cats often continue to pee out of the box after a UTI is cleared. They have to be retrained.
 
So sorry about the peeing problems. We had a terrible time with Tarragon. I tried absolutely everything and cried about it many nights. Eventually we just took up all the carpet and put down laminate. That was the only thing that worked for us. Hopefully it won't come to that with Morgaine! I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Thank you for being such a great source of strength when I need it most!
 
Melissa & Tarragon said:
So sorry about the peeing problems. We had a terrible time with Tarragon. I tried absolutely everything and cried about it many nights. Eventually we just took up all the carpet and put down laminate. That was the only thing that worked for us. Hopefully it won't come to that with Morgaine! I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Thank you for being such a great source of strength when I need it most!
I live in an apt. so I can't put laminate on the floors. I wish i could for my own pleasure. I love the wood laminates.

I do relate to the crying but I am hoping I can get this resolved. If not, we will have to find a way to adapt to things. I am not going to do what some do. I would never give up on her just because she pees everywhere. Just will keep myself stocked with odor removal products and keep her out of the bedroom.
 
Hi Rosalie:

I hope you had a lovely day despite Morgaine's pee problems. She is certainly having good numbers again and glad to see she is doing well with the reduction.

I was also going to suggest the Cat Attract....I have several friends I've recommended it to and it has worked well for them.

Thank you for all the wonderful knowledge you have brought about diabetes to LL. You are a very special, kind person and I am so honored to be your friend.
 
I was just looking at Morgaine's SS and I think she IS having decent numbers for now. Previously, many of those blues were probably yellows and the higher greens were blues. Now, as I look at the past few days, I can see the actual pattern more clearly. I did increase her dose to 4 units as the vet and I discussed doing this, thinking she has needed more insulin all along. I will give this dose a few days to see if it actually makes a difference. Hoping these higher blues are due to NDW and that the 4 units bring her down to lower blues.

Also of note is that I used to believe Morgaine never went too high, even at first but now realize she is like most other kitties and that her yellows were really pinks and maybe even reds. Most things are now making sense to me as well so we can proceed with the tools we have and get things where they need to be, paws crossed!

I have ordered a new box, the Dr. Elsey's Precious Cat Cat Attract Litter and plan to attempt a new approach to the litter box. I hope she will respond to clumping litter as the pine is what we have used since i got her in '99. I think it might be easier on me to use clumping litter. I used to clean out her box a few times a week and disinfect it weekly. Perhaps now I will only have to remove all clumps and poo as they happen and disinfect it weekly or twice a month.

FYI, whenever my neuropathy acts up severely, and it does at times after almost 50 years, I can barely let a sheet touch my feet. The nerve endings feel like they are on fire. i would think that cats would have a similar reaction on the pads of their paws. Morgaine used to let me touch her pads and rub them, even between her toes. Now, when i try to touch her back paws, she meows and pulls them back from my touch. Just something we can all be aware of if our kitties are dealing with some neuropathy and they seem more sensitive to your touch. I would think that walking on pine pellets would be somewhat painful for them as well. Poor kitty and i yelled NO at her when she pee'd the rug and now I feel really guilty.
 
(((Rosalie))) I totally understand your reaction to Morgaine peeing on the rug and would do the same thing (yell, not pee :smile: ). That upsets me too when Zener does that. Thank you for sharing what the peripheral neuropathy feels like to you. That helps everyone understand our kitties a little better. I am wondering if that's why Zener gives a little cry when we pick him up. Hope the cat attract and new litter box helps.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top