11/24 MollyPMPS175+1194+2 186+3.5 165+5 105 +6 100 +11 330

Status
Not open for further replies.

macal

Member Since 2012
New to this and unsure of dosage but after consulting with several of you decided to stick to the 0.5 U dose this morning.
It seems like for Molly the Lantus has a long lasting effect. I was not home to get the +6 reading so not sure if she's reached the nadir or not.

Here's what we have so far (no insulin last night)

AMPS 395
Lantus 0.5 U
+3 202 (fish snacks given)
+9 82 (fish snacks given + pure dextrose free turkey)

Worried that once this depot thing forms, this dose is going to be too high............argh this is stressing me out...but Molly's doing well and really enjoying the extra attention and snacks :lol:
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396, +3 202, +9 82

Molly is responding very well to Lantus. :mrgreen: We call below 100 the green floor. 50 to 120 are normal BGs for a cat. Well done! Yes, it is stressful but as long as you test and Molly will eat, then you can keep her safe.
Liz
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396, +3 202, +9 82

If it starts looking like the dose is too high, you can always reduce it so you can give a shot twice a day. I would not be surprised to see higher numbers closer to your PM dose. How about getting a +11 test and posting the results. You'll want to add the +11 result to your subject line by editing your subject line in the first post in this thread.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396, +3 202, +9 82

Well, unfortunately it's only 30 mins to PMPS time so a +11 has already passed. I'll update after PMPS is taken to see what you all think ........particularly if it's still low.
a small meal of tuna is necessary for BG testing at mealtime because she's so nuts when she knows it's about time for breakfast or supper. Two other kitties and a dog in the house so things get rowdy (in a well behaved way but it's hard to get a proper read without feeding at least a little something.)
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

Ok she's at 135 for PMPS........should I give her a big meal and dose?
she is currently eating 1 tsp tuna + water so I could postpone mealtime a while without difficulty.
Thanks!
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

I don't think you have enough data yet to shoot quite this low. How about stalling (don't feed) for 20 min. and re-testing. If Molly's numbers are at or above 150, then it should be fine to shoot. However, a couple of questions: Do you have high carb food at home and if not food, preferably something with gravy, that's above 17% carbs, do you have honey, corn syrup, etc., at home if we need to steer the numbers. Do you have a supply of strips? Will your schedule be able to accommodate a late shot?
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

You can adjust the shot time by 30 mins per day, either all at one shot or split with 15 mins each at AM and PM.
Liz
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

I'll postpone by 20 mins and see what #s I get. Can't go much later as tomorrow I won't be able to accomodate the change in schedule.

As far as high carb kibble....I still have the bags of dry food which I've been sprinkling on my siamese's wet food to get him to eat it. Also have honey and a homemade 50% dextrose solution in the fridge.

I hope Molly's #s are screaming in 20 mins, if not, I'm not sure I'm up to a late night vigil.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

I would not recommend using kibble as a substitute for high carb canned food. Kibble takes way to long to raise numbers and it takes forever to get the stuff out of a cat's system. I'd suggest picking up some cans of Fancy Feast in roasted, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties. They have gravy which is where the carbs are. In the interim, honey or a dextrose solution will be just fine.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

Sienne asked me to pop in. If Molly is up a bit and you shoot her .5u dose, I will be here to help walk you through any low numbers. I'm more west coast and am able to stay up to get you through. As long as you have the supplies you mentioned (minus the dry food), then we can manage her numbers. We do this alot with new members :-D

Also, if we stall, we shoot the normal dose as stalling acts as a reduction although you aren't really stalling enough to see much, if any, impact in a later cycle.

The 135 will be your +12. The AMPS and PMPS are when you shoot and if you skip it's AMBG or PMBG.

Waiting for your next test.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

Ok we're at 175.....could be from the tuna she had 20 mins ago ......I am inclined to shoot
She's eating her dinner right now......she's quite hungry....

Maybe a half dose just to be safe?
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

Thank you Marje....it's comforting to know someone's standing by in a different time zone. I really appreciate it!
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

Could be from the tuna. When we stall, we don't feed because you don't want to shoot a food spike.

OTOH, she appeared to be headed up and often it's more like 30 mins or so from plate to meter. If you can stay up if she comes back down, I'd shoot the full dose of .5u. The main reason is because of the depot, you are likely to still see a similar cycle as if you shoot a half dose. The effects will most likely be seen in a subseuent cycle.

So...if you have your best Jammie's, coffee, and some chocolate, I'd say shoot .5u and feed a LC meal. You'll need to get a +1 test. Her PMPS will be 175.

And I'll monitor you all. Sound good?
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

Ok sounds good. I shot slightly less than the 0.5 though because I'm chicken.
The plunger was midway between the zero mark and the 0.5 which I guess means a skinny 0.5? After a meal like she just ate, I can't imagine she's going to complain much though about BG monitoring...she'll be having a super snooze.

I'll report in an hour to let you know what's happening.
Thanks for standing by.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

Ok...see you in an hour.

Just want to be sure you understand why I suggested shooting the full dose. The depot with lantus usually affects up to six subsequent cycles. Think of lantus as a cruise ship. You might turn the wheel to change course but it doesn't happen automatically. So if you shoot a reduced dose now, it usually will not affect this cycle but may affect a subsequent cycle when she's high. But then you have less insulin in her because you have to refill the depot.

When it's safe, it's always best to shoot the full dose on time. And if it wasn't safe, we wouldn't suggest you do it :-D I understand you have to get to a comfort level with this and with us so I also understand why you would want to shoot less. But next time.... :-D :-D :-D :-D

And remember, as long as you are testing and feeding appropriately, you can manage the low numbers.

See you in an hour.

Eta: could you p,ease update subject line to show PMPS 175 and then add the +1 when you get it? Thank you!
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

We do our utmost to not leave someone who's new to managing their cat's numbers hanging out there all by themselves. There are many of us who are familiar with the process and know just how anxiety provoking it can be.

For reference, here are two posts you may want to print out:
This info is also in one of the sticky notes above.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS396,+3202,+982PMPS175

Ok will do. Sorry for being such a chicken. I hadn't considered the whole depot thing.....sorry I'm stumbling along with this....
Thank you for your advice and for standing by.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS135

It's ok. We were all there at one time and the concept of the depot is not an easy one.

Let's just see what she does but keep in mind if she comes back down, it's probably the .5u talking and not what you shot tonight. Everything is good :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS175

Okay things are looking good........ at +1 we have 194
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+3 202,+9 82 PMPS175

Very good. :-D

I'd get a +2 just to be sure. If the +2 is much greater than the PS, it's likely to be a quiet night. If it is similar to the PS, you can expect a typical lantus cycle which means she will likely come back down. If it is much less than the PS, you might see an early drop to low numbers and a very active cycle.

The +1 could be a food spike so it's prudent to get that +2. See you in an hour :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1 194

Ok will do thank you both. I really appreciate your help. It's not quite so scary with your experience!
Setting the timer for another 60 mins starting now.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186

:lol: right in between PMPS and +1.

How is she doing with testing? If she's ok, it would be good to get a +3 and see how fast she onsets. If she is not caring for it...I wouldn't go past a +3.5 or +4 at the most since we don't know how fast she might come down...or go up.

I'm grabbing dinner so just post which test you can do and I'll check back in in about 15 minutes.

I wouldn't be surprised if she might come down a bit but that is speculation since we have little data.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186

Ok sounds like things are going good by your responses! Yay!
Her ears are a little battered, especially since I only seem to be able to get a good drop from the left one......I'll try for a +3.5 reading. Will post the results and then hopefully go to sleep : )
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186

Sounds good but not su you will be able to sleep after +3.5. You might have to sleep test. See you back soon.

Are you using Neosporin ointment with pain relief after each poke?
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186

Ok, her +3.5 is 165.......

Thanks for the reminder about the neosporin. I have it but haven't been using it.
Did so before this test (and after )
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165

You can take all the a.m. Numbers out of the subject line to give you more room there for the PM numbers.

I think it would be good to get a +5. You can sleep and set an alarm and get up to test.

Are you feeding her small helpings of LC food?
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165

I've been giving her 2 pieces of freeze dried whitefish with each BG reading.
It's getting Pavlovian....she waits for the meter to beep and looks over expecting her fish : )
I doubt it's much in the way of a small meal. How much food should I give?
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165

It depends...how much does she usually eat? You don't want to withhold food. It's best to feed her her normal portions before nadir which we will assume is around +6 since we don't know.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165

The fish pieces are about the size of a pea if that helps......
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165

This time of night she wouldn't be eating at all. I usually give her about a tablespoon of FF before I go to bed (which would've been 2hrs ago).
I'll go ahead and give her a tablespoon now just in case I oversleep.
She looks good and seems happy so far even with all of the poking of the ears.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165

We typically make sure you've got a rising, non food influenced number before you quit testing for the night.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165

If you meant during the morning dose how does the feeding usually go, I come home for lunch, so she gets about a tablespoon of FF around +4.5 then tablespoon of fish of some sort around +9 (mackerel, tuna or salmon)
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165

Ok, I thought you were implying I should feed her something. The bits of fish are just so she'll be agreeable with the meter. The calories are almost nothing, so hopefully they don't skew the results too much. We'll see what happens at +5.
Thanks again.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly AMPS 396,+9 82 PMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165

You can feed as you usually do but you will probably find when she's getting low that you'll have to feed more often to control the effects of the insulin. We just don't feed between +10 and +12.
 
Re: 11/24 Molly PMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165

+5 reading, we're still going down, now at 105
 
Re: 11/24 MollyPMPS175+1194 +2 86 +3.5 165 +5 105

Ha! My crystal ball is working again.

I think you better get a +6 so we can see if she heads back up at mid cycle or not.

See you in an hour. Sorry...I know you are tired. Once her cycle patterns become a little clear, you will know better when she heads up.
 
Re: 11/24 MollyPMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165 +5 105

Okie doke. It must be getting late on your end too. Thanks for standing by.
 
Re: 11/24 MollyPMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165 +5 105

I'm usually up for another hour with Gracie. I can always sleep and wake up when you are ready to report a test. But lets see how she does at +6. I'll be up until then anyway.

She's having a really nice cycle!
 
Re: 11/24 MollyPMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165 +5 105

+6 we're at 100 .......is this ok?
 
Re: 11/24 MollyPMPS175+1194 +2 186 +3.5 165 +5 105

I would feed her a couple of tsp of LC and check her in 1.5 hours. It looks like she is slowing down so hopefully she will start to go back up or will stay here.

Shall I set my alarm and check back in with you?
 
Re: 11/24 MollyPMPS175+1194+2 186+3.5 165+5 105 +6 100

Ok, I'll give a bit of food and check levels again at 7.5. Thanks again.
 
Re: 11/24 MollyPMPS175+1194+2 186+3.5 165+5 105 +6 100

7.5 reading...we've gone back up to 135 so it looks like things are ok and that the snack had an effect
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top