11/24 Maddy AMPS 191, +6 201, +8 159, PMPS 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

april_sd

Member Since 2014
I've been having trouble consistently shooting 1u BID because Maddy's PMPS is often a bit too low for me to feel comfortable shooting. This has created a cycle in which she makes good progress, I chicken out with the shot, and then her levels go back up.

I'm going to go over the guidelines for the protocols today and the stickies on handling low test reading to try and get back to a more systematic approach to all of this.
 
Re: 11/24 Maddy AMPS 191

April
if you are doing the slgs protocol...they say that if any point on the cycle goes below 90 then they earn a dose reduction. you did have some under 90 readings. tight reg says below 50 so it depends on what you are following. if you are doing slgs then the .25 reduction might help you shoot the same dose am & pm without having to skip a shot. i am sure more experienced members will join in here & i would wait for their advice but that is what i just did with Tibbs. good luck
 
I'm planning to follow the Start Low, Go Slow approach, which would mean that Maddy earned a dose reduction on Friday night and she'll probably earn it again tonight. I'll start with 0.75 tomorrow.

I just gave her the full dose even though she is a little lower than I am normally comfortable with. I have the hypo kit ready and will be testing her at +2, +3 and beyond if necessary.
 
great April. well i'm here if u just want company. I just reduced Tibbs too but he is such a bouncy boy and he went sky high from his 44. ughhhh. hope Maddy stays flat for you and doesn't bounce too much. so frustrating sometimes isn't it ?
 
Thanks Nadine!

I guess I've been feeling unprepared. Maddy became diet controlled so easily in August that I didn't really have much time to think about tight regulation vs SLGS. And for the past month, I've just been focusing on the parts of those protocols that are about raising doses rather than reducing. When you get to the point where they start dropping it just feels like a whole different dance.

I'm happy that she's lower and I've definitely noticed improvements. She's grooming a lot more and playing more.

How is Tibbs doing tonight?
 
that's great that Maddy is feeling better. Tibbs had a giant bounce in response to his low 44 and i just gave him his pm shot and he was at 123 soooo i might be up with you tonight keeping an eye on him. I shot a little bit skinny on his 1.25 but i am going to monitor him. I'll do a +2 before i go to bed to see what he is doing. and i'll probably have to set my alarm since he is starting his cycle so low. so nerve wracking trying to keep them safe. Maddy had a low pmps too so we are both in exactly the same boat tonight. hopefully our babies won't drop too much. We can keep eachother company checking on them. :-D :-D :-D
 
Sounds like a plan.

I checked Maddy at +1 and she was at 135 - Definitely a food spike. If she looks good at +2 and +3, I'll probably put out her night time meal and then set an alarm for a +6 test.
 
Maddy's night went like this:

PMPS 115
+1 135
+2 138
+3 106

I'm heading to bed, but will set an alarm to get a +6.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top