Mary & Jude
Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-358-pmps-360-2-289-4-149-6-142-8-224.295935/
Have a great Sunday, everyone!
Have a great Sunday, everyone!
That’s ok if you can’t get BG exactly at +6 ever cycle, since not all cats nadir at +6 and nadirs can and do move around.
Per the link I sent about following TR and working full time, the goal really is to use the data you can get to your advantage, since we know, the preshot numbers don’t tell the story of how low a dose is taking the cat. Even a test at +8 or +10 or +11 helps as can +1 or +2 because the later cycle tests can indicate how much duration the cat is getting and provide valuable info especially if you are coming up on a lower than usual preshot. We’ve also found that in many cases, bounce breaking cycles can have later nadirs, so those late cycle tests do not go to waste. The earlier tests like +1 or +2 can help show food bumps and onsets.
Even with SLGS, all data is good data; extra tests and getting random spot checks during the week helps fill in the missing pieces. SLGS is an effective method to getting to regulation albeit is is less intensive, since doses are held for a week, and the goal with SLGS is to achieve nadirs between 90-149, and so under 90 earns a reduction. For caregivers who have difficulty testing their cat, and/or feed dry food SLGS is a better fit.
TR is more aggressive, where caregivers are seeking to have nadirs under 100 and dose reductions are taken if the cat goes under 50 for newly diagnosed cats (less than 1 year) or under 40 for long term diabetic cats, or if a cat regularly has lowest BG in the range of 50-80 while staying under 100 overall for a week.
There are a few other differences, but hopefully this gives you a general idea. Does this answer your questions?
You are very welcome, Mary, happy to help. Okay, you can always try TR later when you are more comfortable, and if you hide Jude’s YA LID. Depending on how the next several days go, you’d be good to increase by 0.25u after 7 days on this current dose if nadirs are consistently over 150. So that’s be around Nov 29th. Do you think you’d still be able to get some spot checks in this week?